12 Great moments in 2013

I may be done with the proper 12 Days thing, but that doesn’t mean I can’t milk this “12” blogging fad for more.

There were plenty of series that I didn’t finish or just didn’t include in my proper 12 days posts. Many of these series had great moments that for good or for bad deserve a mention here.

Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 27 Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 28

I guess I will assign a loose rank to these moments for the sake of this post.

General Honorable Mention

Gifuu Doudou!! Kanetsugu to Keiji Gifuu Doudou!! Kanetsugu to Keiji

Everything from the half of Gifuu Doudou!! Kanetsugu to Keiji that I got to watch. It was a show filled with righteousness and awesomeness. I also liked Majestic Prince and would have included it here if I remembered anything/finished watching it.

12. It’s a carnival! (Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio: Ars Nova)

Arpeggio of Blue Steel - Ars Nova 498

In episode 10, Maya loses her consciousness (or well kind of, technically, she never had it in the first place) and starts dancing on Kongou’s ship all the while endless chanting “It’s a carnival!”. It is a somewhat sad scene but it is also surreal and eerie.

Arpeggio of Blue Steel - Ars Nova 499 Arpeggio of Blue Steel - Ars Nova 500 Arpeggio of Blue Steel - Ars Nova 501 Arpeggio of Blue Steel - Ars Nova 502

This isn’t a scene I particularly enjoyed but it gave me the shivers and the way it zooms out is so very appropriate.

11. Hampnie Hambart becomes a zombie ( Sunday Without God )

Sunday Without God 6

In episode 3, Ai’s dad (Kizuna Astin) dies and becomes the very thing he hated the most (an undead).

Instead of being buried right away though, he spends one day with Ai as her dad.

I know the whole “abusive jerk is actually sweet dad” turn was a bit jarring but seeing the two say goodbye still made me a bit sad.

10. Get naked, Ryuko! (Kill la Kill)

Kill la Kill 7

I am sure Kill la Kill has better moments but I only watched until episode 3 so I am going to have throw this one in here. It was nice because apart from the funny nature of it all, it advocated being proud of your body…or something and well, it lead to a Ryuko jiggly boob transformation..

Kill la Kill 3

Great lesson.

boob jiggle~


9. Top-Less boys in the desert (Free!)

Free Ending Water

I know it is a bit of a cop-out when I pick the ending of an anime but it is so good! How could anyone not like that catchy music, the dancing, the great visuals and the short story being depicted here!

And well, to be honest, I don’t remember much else from Free!.

That said, more so than the anime itself, I am more fond of the fan reaction to this anime. There were so many images, gifs, comics and various other things posted on tumblr (and possibly other places) when this aired. I guess shows like this bring the fujoshi community together or something.

(I reblogged a few posts on my tumblr, some of which you can find here. Some of my favorites: 1, 2 ,3, 4, 5.)

Honorable Mention: 

Free_ 3

8. Bulletproof (INFERNO COP)

Inferno Cop Bullet 1

Inferno Cop Bullet 2

Inferno Cop Bullet 3

This entire post could have been about Inferno Cop (one for each episode), but let’s limit ourselves to just this one moment from episode 2.

7. Mao goes on a date with Chiho (Hataraku Maou-sama)

Hataraku Mao-sama date

In episode 3 of Maou-sama, Mao and Chiho go on a date. Chiho was absolutely adorable in her fawning over Maou but she was at her best when she and Emi were having an argument. Watching Chiho accuse Emi of being a Maou obsessed ex-girlfriend was hilarious.

Hataraku Mao-sama 74

Shortly after the fight, we got to see Maou transform into proper demon form for the first time. His appearance and the great background music made it quite a memorable scene.

Alternative, possibly better option: Every scene that involves Ashiya, especially the ones that involve him and his house-wife duties. I am not kidding. Those were hilarious.

That is a fierce demon general riding a bike to get medical supplies.

That is a fierce demon general riding a bike to get medical supplies.

Honorable Mention: Emi’s faces.

6. Aiura ends

Aiura Sunset

Aiura was a cute, heartwarming little thing. The way it concluded with the ending song playing in the background and the final shot of the stars was fantastic.

It was definitely one of the better final episodes this year and while I didn’t watch many shorts, it was probably one of the better shorts too.

Honorable Mention:

Aiura 7

5. Caught Sleeping with a Vibrator (Watamote)

WataMote 18 WataMote 20

I could have probably picked any moment in the 5 or so episodes of Watamote I watched for this list but well, I am rather fond of this one scene.

Tomoko falls asleep with her vibrator (or a massager or something) turned on with a Yaoi game playing on the TV.

Her dad opens the room door, stands silently for a good number of seconds before walking in, turning off the TV and the massager and carrying Tomoko to her bed.

Tomoko might have trouble making friends but she has a very caring family.

WataMote Tomoko Bed

4. Pink wears a kimono and becomes best girl (Ore no Kanojo)

OreShura Himeka Akishino

Episode 9 was fantastic. It featured Pink (whose name I can’t remember) confessing to our MC-kun. Not only was it a cute confession but her bluntness (both about her love and her past lies) was fantastic.

I made a post about this here. I won’t bother restating everything but to quote myself:

I really liked how despite trying so hard to hide her feelings a few episodes ago, Ai summed up her courage and confessed. It was a most excellent confession. Even more so because when Eita confronted her about her ‘boyfriend’, she didn’t get embarrassed, but nonchalantly admitted the truth and then proceeded to lecture Eita on how all girls lie.

I should finish OreShura someday though I know the harem won’t get resolved…(Pink or Silver need to win!).

Honorable Mention: All OreShura JoJo poses/references.

The JoJo pose made this a mandatory inclusion.

3. Rika becomes a villain (Boku wa Tomodachi)

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sakunai Rika flags

What an incredible line.

What an incredible line.

Once more, I talked about this here, but the Rika on a rooftop scene in the final episode of Haganai season 2 was incredible.

It was a great way to bring Kodaka back to his senses and a fitting demonstration of the strong friendship between Rika and Kodaka.

Honorable Mention: Sena’s confession. It was short, sweet and classy as hell.

Boku wa Tomodachi Ga Sakunai Sena confession 1 Boku wa Tomodachi Sena Confession 2

2. Taking down the Maus (Girls und Panzer)

Girls und Panzer

In the final fight of the tournament, the girls are up against a monster of a tank (the Maus). How do they take it down? By trapping it of course.

One tank goes in the front and gets jammed in the tracks (and in the process gets crushed under the tracks). Then they distract the tank so the turret moves. Now that there  is space on the roof, another tank uses the first tank as a ramp to jump on top to block the turret.

Girls und Panzer 10Girls und Panzer 19 Girls und Panzer 20 Girls und Panzer 11

Think about that for a second. That second tank used its teammate’s tank as a freaking ramp. How awesome is that?

Then a third tank comes and fires at the now vulnerable beast.

It was an ingenious, incredibly risky, ballsy plan. The fact that the two trappers were willing to go with it demonstrated just how much trust they had in their commander.

It was a great moment and representative of everything that made this anime so great.

1. Ilya vs Saber (Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya)

Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 6

A good, flashy, high octane action scene is always its own reward. I may not have watched Fate Kaleid past episode 7 but episode 6 was one of my favorite episodes this year and it was all because of the fight between dark Saber and Illya.

Up until this fight, the fights in this anime had always been magic girl style fights (because it is a magical girl anime…) but this fight was different.

It was a fight straight from the heart of the Fate franchise. It was proof that Fate Kaleid wasn’t just an anime with the Fate name but an actual Fate anime.

And, what a fight it was.

Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 10

It featured explosions, swordplay, lightsaber duels, acrobatics, great background music and fantastic choreography. It was even cooler because it featured no dialogue between Saber and Illya (I found the comments by the other characters to be kind of distracting actually).

Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 16Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 17

I have rewatched this fight many times and every time I did, I still ended up impressed with the footwork and swordplay. It is definitely one of my favorite fights from 2013 and perhaps even from anime in general.

Honorable Mention: Miyu becomes Iilya’s maid.

Fate kaleid liner Prisma Illya 32

Note: I didn’t watch too much anime this year and even less this season so I am sure there were probably better moments I should have made note of.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Mouse on December 31, 2013 - 10:20 am

    Good Post.

    Remembered and laughed at some of the moments mentioned above :D
    It was a good year with some fun anime’s looking forward to another good year of anime :D

    Happy New Year :D

    • #2 by Reiseng on December 31, 2013 - 11:47 am

      Thank you!

      Happy New Year to you as well. May you have a good one. :)

  2. #3 by Highway on December 31, 2013 - 6:35 pm

    Pretty good post, but I’d have had some other things from this last season’s shows. A couple others from Arpeggio of Blue Steel (Takao embracing Gunzou’s life casket with the evocative Silver Sky playing http://static.metanorn.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Beautiful-Takao.jpg and that moment when Kirishima and Haruna realized they’d lost against Iona) and also from Golden Time’s latest episode, with Kouko pouring out her whole heart in front of Banri. I was quite honestly shaking from that scene.

    I definitely agree with taking down the Maus, but considering that I was super disappointed in OreShura *and* didn’t like pink-haired whatsername, that one’s right out. ;)

    • #4 by Reiseng on January 1, 2014 - 1:11 am

      I actually forgot about the Takao embrace. I will have to look at it again I guess though I did think it was all a bit over dramatic. :P (And yeah, the scene composition is quite great in that picture)

      I don’t quite remember the Kirishima and Haruna defeat but I do remember being impressed with Kirishima’s desire to protect her friend.

      As for Golden Time, well, I might have included it but I forgot to watch the show past episode 1….

      Haha on OreShura. There was a surprising number of variety in folk’s rankings for girls in that show.

  3. #5 by torisunanohokori on January 1, 2014 - 5:44 am

    Wait a second, that Girls und Panzer thing was a thing that they did? It probably belongs on my list, doesn’t it?

    • #6 by Reiseng on January 1, 2014 - 7:48 pm

      Yup, it totally was a thing they did (episode 12) and yeah it should belong on your list!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

