Cool Winter 14 Anime: Oda Nobunaga is now a girl that drools.

Nobunagun 20
In continuing with anime tradition, Oda Nobunaga is a girl in modern day Japan.

Well, kind of. It is more like Oda’s mighty spirit is now infused with the poor girl’s. Or something like that.

Anyway, the details don’t matter because this anime is cool.

And here are three reasons why that is the case.

Fantastic Visual Design

Nobunagun 18

This is arguably the greatest thing about this show. I love what this anime does with colors and visual effects.

Nobunagun’s use of visuals is often less about painting a scene and more about showing it through a lens. The anime plays like any other anime would, but in between you and the anime, someone smart put a lens and you see everything through that lens.

Nobunagun 33

Sometimes, characters are alone because the lens is blocking everything else; sometimes, the characters are covered in a a flowery pattern; sometimes, the screen is colored red, green, blue or some other color and sometimes, captions/descriptions are added on to the screen.

Nobunagun 35

Note the yellow smoke.

The visuals act more like commentary and less like they are part of the anime. It is like you are being told “this isn’t what the characters are seeing, but this is how you should be seeing them”. It is an interesting artistic choice and I like this choice a good amount.

The “commentary” provided by the lens is quite interesting as well. I like how it depicts the war scenes in various different shades depending on the current situation and I am especially fond of the patterns that flow over the characters.

In episode 1, there is a scene where Shio is running around on her own, obsessed with military things, like usual and is thus, aptly covered in a military pattern while all the other girls are covered in Flowers.

Nobunagun 10

I thought it was a rather sweet touch and it did a good job of pointing out that Shio is rather isolated and unique. Which is why it is a bit of a shame that the friendship scenes between Shio and Asao showed them both covered in flowers. I wanted Shio to retain her much, cooler, far less girly, military pattern. :(

Great Style

Nobunagun 5

This is related to the previous cool thing about this anime. This anime oozes style.

The characters battle movements, the over exaggerated battle scenes, the laughing faces of our main characters as they ploy down the bad guys and some other things make this a pretty stylish show. We all know that stylish things are cool, right?

Cool Main Character

This is such a well animated facial expression. It is great on its own, but the fact that the “star like” shape in her eyes (that is normally used to denote excitement) is the fighter jet takes this to a whole other level.

Shio is a significant step up above most Oda Nobunaga based characters. I haven’t actually seen too many “Oda is now a cute girl” shows, but I think most of them either depict her as a clutz or an overly serious tsundere of some sort.

It is a bit unfair to compare Shio to other Oda characters though because she isn’t Oda Nobunaga per say, just a reincarnation of him, or something. Regardless, Shio Ogura is a great, fun character.

I love how obsessed she is with guns and other military things. Sure, being obsessed with things made for killing people might not necessarily be commendable but at the very least, it is very different and quite frankly, her enthusiasm is quite infectious.

Nobunagun 9

I think someone in a CrunchyRoll comment I read described her as a female Sagara Sousuke (MC of Full Metal Panic) and I think that is a rather accurate description (well, she isn’t as dense as him though).

She is quite genki, but not annoyingly so. Her social awkwardness feels quite authentic and it doesn’t feel overdone either.

I also love how blood thirsty and crazy she gets at times when she is wielding that big gun.

Nobunagun 3

Slightly less cool thing

Nobunagun 16

Nobunagun is cool, but for some reason, I don’t find myself totally won over. There is something or somethings that are holding it back just a little. Unfortunately, I can’t quite pin my nitpicks but I think it is the pacing.

The pacing feels a bit slow at times. This is a bit of a problem because the show is built on top of stylized, high octane action.

The backstory with the whole gene thing is quite interesting. I am looking forward to meeting the other members of the group, but to be honest, I can’t find myself caring for the troubles that mankind faces in this anime.

“Everyone is being killed by aliens!”, “I see, sucks to be them.”

Anyway, this is a pretty interesting, cool anime and I will probably continue to watch it.

p.s. Kaoru has an awesome accent and I like her personality + character design as well.

p.p.s. Sorry, I haven’t posted in 17 days or so. I took some time off of blogging after the hectic month of December and after that, I got really busy. Unfortunately, I am probably only going to get busier from here on. -_-’

, , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on January 17, 2014 - 10:12 pm

    I actually liked Nobunagun a lot. Far more than the (at least to me) terrible Nobunaga the Fool… or ‘Zaafuuul!’

    I enjoy Ogura’s character, and I do like the visual style. I actually liked when her overlay changed to flowers, because it had meaning: she was getting closer to Asao, and it was Ogura moving closer to Asao, not Asao moving closer to Ogura’s thinking.

    But more than that, I actually liked the fighting in this show. I’m not a huge fan of fighting shows. I liked Medaka Box… until it turned into Next Strongest Opponent of the Week. I disliked Nisemonogatari, because it was mostly just Koyomi fighitng someone else. I don’t like Hamatora this season, more fighting. But Nobunagun’s fighting is different. It’s not superpowers, it’s a power, and not necessarily a greatly useful one… until someone uses it the right way. Have a giant gun with more kick than a GAU-8? Then use Newton’s power to step on things harder to suppress the recoil! Brilliant!

    You’re right, the show just oozes style. I hope it keeps up as good as it is. Even the worry that Ogura had about her own life, and what she should do, was very well done (as well as the craven people they had talking about “of course she should risk her life to protect me!”).

    • #2 by Reiseng on January 21, 2014 - 1:11 pm

      Sorry for the late response.

      I totally agree. Their abilities don’t feel totally overpowered. This becomes even more apparent in episode 3 with the training and all that.

      Yeah, the commentary by people was interesting. As much as I hate to admit it, I would have probably said something similar.

      I actually like Hamatora quite a bit, but I am a fan of super powers so there you go. :)

      • #3 by Highway on January 21, 2014 - 5:00 pm

        I liked episode three… except I don’t like the way they ended the episode. I just personally don’t think that’s really necessary for an effective show, and almost just feels like lazy writing. It didn’t have any shock value or emotional value to the audience, and just feels like needlessly torturing the main character.

    • #4 by Reiseng on January 25, 2014 - 8:13 pm

      Yeah, the ending of episode 3 left a bad taste in my mouth. I don’t like how they introduced cool friends just to kill them.

      They probably killed them for the sake of demonstrating her powered up powers or just to try and elicit tears from us. I don’t really approve either of those reasons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

