Anime North 14 Day 2-3: I met Takane, bought more stuff and did nothing important.

Hello,

I am sorry I had to combine posts 2 and 3 together. I was so tired on Saturday when I got home (even though I got home quite early), nothing got done. I am also sorry this post is a week late.

I am also sorry for making a post that reads a lot like diary entries. I guess this is my own way of keeping a diary of sorts for what happened. (Spoiler: The diary entries are quite boring.)

Toronto Congress Centre

May 24th – Saturday

DSC_6829

I got a ride from my parents who were commuting to work, so I ended up at AN quite early. I walked around a bit taking pictures and what not. I ended up wasting some time watching the first little bit of the One Piece Strong World movie for like half an hour (hadn’t seen it before but I watched it in its entirety at home a few days later).

DSC_6767

At 11, some Anitwitter folk had wanted to meet up. We ended up meeting up at 11:30 AM or so for lunch at Harvey’s. Right after, me and Yerocha tried to attend a One Piece panel but it was full and while we could enter the reserve line (if enough folk left, they’d let us in), we decided to go to a game show thing instead.

Anime Question Countdown 12 pm – 1 pm

The format of the game show was simple enough. People who wanted to participate gave their names to the organizer who would randomly pick a panel of contestants. He would then ask them to identify an anime with some number of clues. e.g. If you were able to guess the anime with just 1 clue you got 4 points, 2 clues – 3 points and so on.

If they weren’t able to guess it in the allotted number of clues, the audience would be given a shot.

I didn’t enter the contest, mostly because I was shy and didn’t want to get embarrassed on stage though Yerocha signed up for it. In retrospect, if I had been picked, I probably would not have gotten that embarrassed because the first bunch of contestants were kind of uhh, not good.

Whereas most of the audience knew the answer in 2 or so clues, the contestants kind of took all 4 to get anywhere.

It is probably a good thing I didn’t sign up though because I had to leave halfway through (when they were drawing the next batch of panelists) in order to line up for a Yumi Hara Q&A (best known for Takane from idolm@ster).

As a related aside, if anyone is interested in hearing me on an anime related game show, please give this MetaVerse a listen.

Yumi Hara Q&A 1 pm – 2 pm

Note: They didn’t let us take pictures.

This is probably the only event that readers of this post are interested in. Unfortunately, I don’t quite remember most of her answers (though I am sure some of the “P”s took diligent notes).

I remember her being asked “Which character that you have voiced do you relate to best” (twice actually) and she answered Mari from Log Horizon because both Yumi and Mari are upbeat and positive.

Most of the questions seem to have revolved around the idolm@ster franchise, a lot of which went over my head because I haven’t played the games. Apparently, Yumi Hara has played like 3 im@s games (im@s 2, SP and one more I think). She once got to the Bad End of a game, but didn’t realize it because she thought it was a nice emotional song they were playing in the rain in a park.

During the Q&A, she once messed up and called one of her senpais “chan”. Everyone laughed.

Other than that, she finds Canadian water to be much harder than her native Japan (a complaint I have heard quite often and likely agree with since our water is pretty hard).

I was tempted to ask her if she watched any idol related shows other than idolm@ster, but I ended up not doing so. I might have have faced some serious anger from the neighboring idolm@ster fans. :P

After the Q&A, I walked around a bit more taking pictures and browsing the dealer room (I think). Then I went to line up for the Yumi Hara autograph session which started at 4 PM.

Yumi Hara Autograph session 4 pm – 5 pm

We were in the reserve line. That long line you see in the background is for the autograph session.

We were in the reserve line. That long line you see in the background is for the autograph session.

Note: At the same time, there were autograph sessions being held for Hidekatsu Shibata, Mai Goto and Misako Aoki, but I didn’t have the time to go to any of them.

I lined up for the autograph session at around 2.35 or so. (Well, more than lined up, I kind of butted in and stood next to Bob and his friends. That was terrible of me.) As it turns out, lining up almost an hour and a half early was a pretty risky move.

We were put in the reserve line. Yes. We lined up 1.5 hours early and were designated in the “if we have time, we will let you get an autograph” line. That should give you an idea of how early people actually lined up (a good number lined up right after the Q&A session with her).

Fortunately, after waiting for a good amount of time, the organizers decided that there would be enough space for at least some of us, so a good portion of our line (including myself) was allowed to merge in with the main line.

That doesn’t change the fact that we were in line for nearly 2.5 hours before we got our things signed, but oh well. It wasn’t that bad because I had people to talk to and Love Live friend codes to share.

Since I hadn’t bought any im@s related stuff, I got her signature on my notebook which also contained the signatures of Eriko Nakamura (Haruka from idolm@ster) and Yuu Asakawa (Itoko from School Rumble). I also got her signature on this idolm@ster picture that I mysteriously had in my camera bag (it was handed out by the Producer’s at AN 2013 in Eriko’s autograph lineup).

So, I got my stuff signed, my picture taken (one of her signing it and one of the two of us together). What’s that you want pictorial proof? Well, I can’t actually show a picture of the autograph here since it is signed to my real name, but here:

Yes, I am muffin irl.

Yes, I am muffin irl.

I eventually found myself back in the dealers room where I proceeded to buy 7 volumes (+1 free) of manga. It cost me a fair bit (US cover price) despite a slight logistic screw up on their part (if you pay with credit card, they charge you tax but due to a communication error, they failed to do so for me, so yay!).

Since carrying 8 books in my hand was really difficult, I ended up buying an Attack on Titan messenger bag (quite pricy at $35) to hold them in.

Then I went home at like 6 or so since I was getting a ride back and that time was most convenient for my parents.

Saturday SWAG

DSC_6919

I bought more artwork, 7 (+1 free) manga volumes and an Attack on Titan bag. I also got some buttons that I mounted on the aforementioned bag.

2014-06-01 13.45.37

Note: The Big Hetalia button was a $1 buy from the flea market on Friday. I forgot to include it in the previous post. Actually I might have bought the buttons on Sunday. I can’t remember.

May 25th – Sunday

DSC_6940

I showed up nice and late on Sunday. The others were going to have lunch at Sushi-ya and I was going to join them but Asd locked himself out so I lent him my phone and I hung out with him for a bit instead. After bidding farewell to poor Asd (he had to call someone to lockpick his car) , I met up with the others as they were leaving the restaurant.

After meeting up with them, me, Bob and a friend went shopping around the artists alley. I was looking for Kancolle art to buy for a friend, but the only two pictures we found were kind of badly drawn, so I didn’t buy them. I ended up buying some other cute prints though.

Then I guess I kind of just got separated and went around taking pictures/sifting through the dealers room. I was scrambling around the dealers room until it closed, looking for final stuff to buy, but in the end, I didn’t get anything else.

I didn’t bother going to any panels or autograph sessions. Well, kind of. I ended up meeting Bob again and we visited the 5 year milestones panel (a talk was being given by Anime North veterans on how stuff has changed over the years). I left that early because of a phone call and then when I came back, Bob decided to go to the closing ceremonies.

Closing Ceremonies 6 pm – 7 pm

The 404s had some sappy goodbye thing going on.

The 404s had some sappy goodbye thing going on.

Just before the ceremonies, we sat around outside talking and eating exotic Asian snacks (courtesy of Orange and Bob) and when we went in, we got to see the end of the improve group called the 404s (apparently, one of their members was retiring or something, so he gave the whole emotional spheel). What little I saw of them this year and what I saw of them last year was pretty funny improv.

The closing ceremonies themselves began with a cheesy anime video which I thought was boring, but they ended with a nice “closing amv” that was basically a collection of goodbye scenes. That was kind of nice. (I tried to find it online, but couldn’t. Sorry.)

DSC_7023

I would talk about the stuff they talked about during the closing ceremony, but it was mostly just thanking the staff and what not. That, and I was very busy using Streetpass on my 3DS in a last second attempt to increase my mii plaza count. I probably got around 150 people this convention.

After the ceremonies, I went home and suffered from post con depression as did everyone else of course. It was fun.

DSC_7026

Sunday Swag

Just three prints.

DSC_7031

DSC_7032

DSC_7033

People met

I am not going to bother listing the folk I met because they are just a subset of everyone I met last time.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but apparently, Omo was here as well. I think I was even sitting really close to him at the Q&A but I never said hi (well, he doesn’t actually know me so…).

7th was here as well, but I didn’t get to say hi to him either. Woops.

Cosplayers

I, unfortunately, didn’t get to take as many pictures as I wanted. It is a bit of an unfortunate side-effect of actually going to events and meeting people. I still got a fair few though.

I don’t really like posting pictures until I have had the chance to edit them and make them look a bit better. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to do that and I don’t know when I will. Since I can’t delay this post any longer, I am going to post just a few images (that I thought came out looking okay).

Sorry about that. I will tweet a link to a flickr album or something if I ever do end up editing them properly.

DSC_6760 DSC_6761 DSC_6790 DSC_6819 DSC_6820 DSC_6847 DSC_6892 DSC_6927 DSC_6936 DSC_6947 DSC_6954 DSC_6972

Future Goals

    • Workout, become muscular and cosplay as a JoJo character.
    • Become a cute magical girl.
    • Attend more events.
    • Host a panel (on what is still a mystery though)
    • Take more pictures.

Yes, not all of the above can be accomplished without compromise.

As an aside, I will attend Anime North 2015 IF I am in the region. I am not actually sure where I will be next summer, so I can’t guarantee attendance (if I do go, I should totally try and get a press pass).

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Justin on June 2, 2014 - 10:41 pm

    Sure you didn’t do anything important. Sureee….

    Also, +1 for getting 20th Century Boys. Though you still have some collecting to do!

    • #2 by Reiseng on June 3, 2014 - 12:06 am

      pfft

      Yeah, I’d heard good things about 20th Century Boys so I picked up two volumes to try it out. I should probably just buy the whole thing if I end up liking it… (I really need to buy more manga).

  2. #3 by TKWizard on June 2, 2014 - 11:15 pm

    You play Love Live! SIF? EN or JP? I just hit rank 50 on EN so I have space for one person. However, I’m at a relatively high rank 126 on the JP version of the game (Highest rank in JP is 620)

    Just to let you know that I actually got into the line. I was the one wearing the Nico Shirt. The reason I wasn’t ‘beat up’ was because I told them that I was also an im@s fan and I held an iM@S mat and WS cards (so technically I’m a DD [誰だも大好き]). Also one my friends next to me had blatant LL merch and was not beat up because of the Takane Plane that he had signed on Friday.

    • #4 by Reiseng on June 3, 2014 - 12:29 am

      Hahahahaha, that’s great. Glad to hear you didn’t get beat up!

      I, unfortunately have a very bad memory of people I didn’t talk to, so even if I saw you, I can’t remember. :/ We should definitely say hi to one another if we are both at AN next year.

      And yeah, I play the EN version (I majorly suck at it though). I would add you, but I don’t actually have a space in my list. Maybe if I get another space sometime (I am only rank 29 though).

      Thanks for the comment. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

