Bi-Weekly Shonen: Bleach 584-585, Naruto 680-681, One Piece 750

I am sorry I didn’t push a post out last weekend. There was no One Piece last weekend, so it is not like anything important was missed!

Also, I am not only sorry that this post is late but that it is a fair bit shorter than it should be. I have been quite low on time lately, but I figured I’d best push something out.

Ichigo Rocket

Ichigo Rocket

Bleach

Bleach 585 16-17

We had Ichigo just jumping around handling all of them bad folk with no worries but then the Mr.WannabeVillain’s plan got revealed. Apparently, Ichigo is wearing clothes made from the hair and bones of the Soul King’s domain residents.

Apparently, such strong clothes are enough to destroy the barriers separating the two dimensions and thus, the evil Quincy can go take over and stuff.

pfft

pfft

Leaving aside, the motivation/silliness of the plan itself, I am surprised this manga was able to flesh out a feasible evil scheme this late in the game. I guess Bleach still has some chops.

Unfortunately, I cannot ignore the motivation nor the silliness. I still feel nothing for our main bad guy. You could probably lay out all of his plans and motivations in shiny glitter and I still wouldn’t care. As far as I can tell, he is nothing more than a punching bag for Ichigo. Granted, he is a punching bag that will punch back, but that’s a minor detail.

We also saw Ishida again. I hope he defects back to the good guys with little to no hassle. I don’t want any melodrama here.

It was nice seeing all of those Soul Reapers try to help out Ichigo. I assume we will be getting many chapters chronicling each one of their respective fights. Or, they might just get combined/skipped over. Not sure which one I’d prefer.

Naruto

I kind of liked the comeback, but really that's all I liked and even then liked it only a bit.

I kind of liked the comeback, but really that’s all I liked and even then liked it only a bit.

I would talk about what happened in chapter 680, but not only did nothing important likely happen, there is no point in going back and checking. There is no point in reading anything that happened before chapter 681 because 681 invalidated almost everything.

I don’t, like UGHHH. I know, I have complained about the quality of Naruto’s twists but a literal rewrite of the presented history at this stage is basically the worst kind of twist.

That said, I will give the manga props for one thing. I actually liked the last page or so of the chapter. Naruto and Sasuke basically went “we don’t care if the history we were thought was a lie, you cannot invalidate the stories of all the ninja that have come. You absolutely cannot do that.” I think that is a pretty nice, human touch.

One Piece

One Piece 19-20

Fun things happened, but I can’t remember anything except for that last bit with Sabo. God damn, Sabo is such a badass. Back when Luffy had the flashbacks, I wasn’t too much of a Sabos fan. I liked Ace because I already knew him and he had a cool character, but Sabo was kind of meek on the excitement scale.

I wasn’t even that hyped up when they reintroduced him a few chapters back. But slowly, ever since then, he has become better and better. First, we learn he is second in command of the revolutionaries and now this. He is supposedly holding his own against 2 (I think) Vice Admirals, 1 Admiral and who knows, how many marines.

SO BADASS. He even looks the part now. I don’t know if Ace will ever be replaced in my eyes, but Sabo is a more than compelling enough character to stand on his own.

 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Alex on June 24, 2014 - 3:31 am

    I suggest you rename Bi-Weekly Shonen to Weekly Bishonen.

    • #2 by Reiseng on June 24, 2014 - 8:31 am

      Haha, that totally works. Nice.

  2. #3 by Mushyrulez on June 25, 2014 - 1:23 pm

    Dude holy crap I remember Sabo!!!! Is he actually a character now? Do I have to catch up to One Piece? :|

  1. Weekly Bishonen: Bleach 586-587, Naruto 682-683, One Piece 751-752 | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

