Weekly Bishonen: Bleach 586-587, Naruto 682-683, One Piece 751-752

Credit for the title goes to Alex. It works quite well!

Anyway, sorry once more and sorry this has to be short and quick again. Work and stuff and all that. :/

Bleach

That's a...nice costume Orihime.

That’s a…nice costume Orihime. Chad’s is also nice.

Our Orange haired hero found out his good friend betrayed them. Our hero then proceeded to make a meek attempt at stopping his friend before questioning the “whys” of it all. He then had some sense knocked into him and realized that it is up to him to bring his friend back to the good side.

These two chapters continued the tried and true Bleach tradition of  the “Ichigo is so cool, but oh no, now he is confused and sad. Oh, he is back to being cool now.” cycle. I am glad Ichigo’s depression/surprise didn’t last for too long. I just kind of wish it had never happened.

I know that something like a betrayal by a friend is bound to be shocking and unbelievable, but this has happened so many times to Ichigo, he really shouldn’t be surprised anymore. Perhaps, more importantly, he should instantly understand that his friend likely had a good reason and Ichigo needs to find it out/help his friend out.

I do think it is kind of funny how a friend voluntarily joining the enemy is a common theme for every Bleach arc. First, it was Rukia and Orihime who both left Ichigo for his own good and now it is Ishida. Ishida’s reasons are less clear and likely less noble but he is still just an excuse to add drama and unnecessary tension to this arc.

Oh well. Let’s leave aside the fact that Urahara can so easily get access to the King’s domain and get “hyped” for the fights that are going to come soon.

Oh and I loved Renji’s conversation with the Mohawk dude.

Naruto

There was one memorable moment these past two chapters.

I like how even Sakura has a nose bleed.

I like how even Sakura has a nose bleed.

I really wish that had worked and the fight had ended right there. Partly because I just wanted it to end but also because it would have been very fitting. Had Naruto actually won because of that, it would have been a great way to wrap around this manga as that was a very Naruto thing to do and the notion of deception was also a very Ninja thing to do.

Anyway, it looks like Sasuke and Naruto got separated but we know that a dimension or two won’t stop true love.

I guess Obito is finally going to try and be useful but whatever. Obito’s “let me die”and Naruto’s “prepared to die” were probably not actually death flags but just the typical Shonen “willing to put our life on the line” thing.

It looks like the Hokages are going to do something. I hope they do it soon and this fight ends soon.

One Piece

One Piece Hankerchief

Sabo vs Fujitora was interesting to say the least, less so because of the fight itself and more so because of the banter between them. Fujitora is a very interesting character. He is quite funny.

On the Luffy end, I wasn’t too into the fight with Dofa. It was kind of neat how those two supposed weaklings beat shadow Dofa. The rest of the chapter(s) was mostly just some progress towards the end goal of meeting up and unlocking Law’s handcuffs.

It looks like we will get some more background information on Law next chapter. I am not too hyped for it, but knowing One Piece, it will probably end up surprising me very much.

Oh and I liked Don Flamingo’s face when he went into flashback mode. He does that sometimes. He adopts an almost caring look. As evil and vile as he is, I still think he has a soft spot for his allies and former allies like Law. I mean, he will discard them when necessary and kill them if they betray him…but I don’t know. I like this. He comes across as a much more multi-faceted villain than what one would expect.

One Piece Law

Oh and it looks like the side arc is going to be about Jinbei trying to meet up with the Straw Hats. I look forward to their reunion.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Alex on July 5, 2014 - 8:34 pm

    ^_^

  2. #2 by arriacross on July 5, 2014 - 9:11 pm

    I’m so excited about One Piece. Can’t wait for the current story arc to end so that I can read it in its entirety.

  3. #3 by Mushyrulez on July 7, 2014 - 5:04 pm

    Renji’s conversation was totally unexpected… I thought Bleach was totally angsty drama, but I guess it’s trying to be funny this last chapter :|

    Law’s scene with all the grenades reminds me of Mudazumo Naki Kaikaku… apparently, the new protagonist strapped himself with dynamite when he was a little boy and said that he’d kill himself if he lost at a mahjong match or something, it was pretty funny.

    I just finished reading Beelzebub! What did you think of that? I think it’s got to be my favourite manga of all time now :o

    • #4 by Reiseng on July 8, 2014 - 4:24 am

      Oh, a while back I finished Beelezbub as well! I thought it ended quite well and the funny parts were really funny. Good stuff.

      • #5 by mushyrlez on July 10, 2014 - 4:18 pm

        i read on various forums that people were pissed off at the ending cause it was so sudden, but the funny thing was i thought the suddenness and stupidity of it all was the funniest part… i didn’t even realize that it was unintentional until it actually ended. the last 20 or so chapters were definitely my favourites (just because they were so dumb)

      • #6 by mushyrlez on July 10, 2014 - 4:22 pm

        also ever since like, chapter 40ish, i was always hoping that that flower girl would get more lines. who could’ve expected her to become a sorta-main-character person?? since she’s my favourite character i’ve been counting all the frames where she appears and the further you go the more disproportionately she appears – even more than nene and chiaki, i think. it’s like the author understands me

    • #7 by Reiseng on July 13, 2014 - 2:55 am

      Yeah, the stupidity and over the top-ness of Beelzebub was one of its strengths in my opinion. Never was a super big fan of just fighting. I especially liked how Oga came back at the end with the tamed monster in tow.

      And yes, flower girl was great! I think I was shipping her with someone. Can’t even remember. :/

      • #8 by mushyrulez on July 16, 2014 - 6:48 pm

        kanzaki! i have no idea why but it just felt right…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

