Tri-Weekly Shonen: Bleach 590-592, Naruto 686-688, One Piece 754-756

I am so sorry this ended up being a post of three, but in my defense, life has been very, very busy. In other news, Robin Williams passed away today. I wish I had seen more of his movies, but I liked what I saw and respected him. May he rest in peace.

Bleach Arrancar Pose

Bleach

Bleach CoverBleach Arrancar

I was quite fond of Mayuri bringing in zombie Arrancars. It is the Mayuri thing to do and it was a great little addition to the battle. Mayuri is one creative captain. It is easy (and perhaps normal) to be creeped out by him, but you have to admit, he makes his fights entertaining and different.

He was also surprisingly poignant here. If I understood him correctly, he said "There is no hope of saving them and since they pose a threat to the Gotei 13, they must be eliminated and since they are from the Gotei, they have the right to be killed here. Or something like that.

He was also surprisingly poignant here. If I understood him correctly, he said “There is no hope of saving them and since they pose a threat to the Gotei 13, they must be eliminated and since they are from the Gotei, they have the right to be killed here. Or something like that.

I was not expecting Hitsugaya to turn into Zombiegaya. That was a genuinely shocking twist. I was also quite surprised by how strong Zombiegaya was. In the manga’s defense, Hitsugaya has always had the ill luck of being paired up with unbelievably strong enemies.

Bleach Pain in the ass

It is like every arc, the manga goes “Oh hey, we need to demonstrate a bad guy’s power. Need someone to cut up. Oh, I know! Hitsugaya!”. In this particular Zombiegaya happened to face off against Ikkaku and Yumichika both of whom, while certainly being strong, are not quite up to Captain level.

That and well, Zombiegaya has no thoughts and is thus a lean, mean killing machine.

It is kind of sad really, that the total shot of Hitsugaya so badly deserved occured with him as a bad guy and a zombie. Well, tbh, he had some pretty cool moments right before Aizen defeated him for the first time in Soul Society. Hitsugaya’s fight with Gin’s is definitely one of my favorites.

Anyway, I think most likely Mayuri will find a way to revert Hitsugaya back to normal. As interesting as it would be for the manga to kill him off just like that, I don’t think it will happen. If it does happen, I hope Hitsugaya gets to say something or do something as himself before dying. It will be really, really cruel for him to die as a zombie.

Naruto

eh, I think we could jump straight to Naruto. Kinda sucks keeping someone that strong waiting, but I wouldn't mind this too much though we still have Tsunade you know...

eh, I think we could jump straight to Naruto. Kinda sucks keeping someone that strong waiting, but I wouldn’t mind this too much though we still have Tsunade you know…

I didn’t find Obito’s demise to be that terrible, but it was kinda dragged out and not terribly emotional. The whole thing with that dimension before death but after life was weird and well, kinda just there for no reason. Like was there a reason for Obito to go there, have a long conversation with Rin, only to leave there, give Kakashi the Sharingan (telpathically, I might add) and then return to Rin?

I have no idea what is going on in this manga anymore. I mean, I am sure it is not terribly complicated (likely just missing a whole bunch of details), but I can’t be bothered to try anyway. Sorry bout that.

Also, Kakashi made a comeback by saving Sakura. A useless character became useful by saving a useless character. Good stuff.

I will admit that the Kakashi prior to this fight and perhaps this arc was super cool.

I will admit that the Kakashi prior to this fight and perhaps this arc was super cool.

OnePiece

OnePieceCoverPage

They are taking their sweet time getting to the Dofa. I wish they’d hurry up a little. It feels like OnePiece has been setting up stuff for quite a while. I guess it is to be expected given just how many characters there are at the moment and how they are all (or were for the most part) separated geographically.

OnePiece Kanjurou

Kanjuro is hilarious. I love how bad his drawings are and how he messes up and makes a ladder for the enemies to follow. Funny guy.

I had forgotten about chapter 755.

OnePiece Unwanted Kiss

I was a little bit upset that Franky would kiss that lady like that BUT, BUUUUUUUUT, it was all worth it for this page:

OnePiece HeartBreakers

When I first read this, I laughed…a lot.

Princess Mansherry had a rather dissapointed introduction. Don’t get me wrong, she still has plenty of time to turn out awesome (and I really hope she does and ends up joining the StrawHats), but I had hoped for a better introduction than her crying in a cell.

I am a bit worried about Sugar waking up. I really hope she doesn’t do too much damage or if she does we get something cool out of it.

To be honest, I don’t care for Rebecca one bit. She is kind of boring though I will admit I like her braided hair and I liked that closing shot of her standing amongst those sunflowers. I wish she was a little more brave there, but w/e.

Going back a bit, there was one thing, one thing that was absolutely incredible in chapter 754.

OnePiece Zoro Badass

Jeebus. Holy crap. Zoro was so fucking badass here. Bartolomeo’s reaction mirrored mine.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by mushyrulez on August 12, 2014 - 12:15 pm

    I feel like at this point, cause it’s so close to the ending, the author might just decide to kill off anybody anyways, including Hitsuagya. I can totally imagine both Ikkaku and Yumichika dying right now, maybe after some climactic sacrifice that lets them kill Zombiegaya for good.
    I really don’t like One Piece’s insanely drawn-out setup either, especially the way it flashes between so many battles at once. I swear, every single chapter has like two pages devoted to each different battle scene and I have to reread like three of the previous chapters to even understand what’s happening…
    Also how is being fat and holding a big vacuum a scary skill

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 12, 2014 - 7:53 pm

      eh, that’s true. They could quite feasibly die at this point.

      Yeah, One Piece is very confusing. There is so much stuff happening, it is hard to keep track and there is not much incentive to do so either.

      Hadn’t thought of how being fat and having a vacuum is scary. That’s a good point. There have been so many characters introduced in this arc, I guess the author is really pushing the limits of his creativity.

      • #3 by mushyrulez on August 15, 2014 - 2:51 am

        Then again, he’s been pushing those limits for the past ten million or so arcs, haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

