A list of toxic Shoujo (manga)

Ok, so this is a list. A list of some brilliant shoujo’s that I have read over the years. It’s a long list, but even then, it is incomplete. To be perfectly honest, if you just wanted a good shoujo, you could just go to Baka-Updates, and find one there. I am going to use this list as more of a guide for you the readers, and for my self. Should I get out of my lazy habit, I will do reviews/posts about most of, if not all the manga here.
So, without further ado, here’s the list:

Dengeki Daisy
Skip Beat
Love So Life
Cat Street
1/2 Prince (Manhua-Chinese manga)
Oresama Teacher
Kimi ni Todoke
Kaichou wa Maid sama
Ouran Host Club
Fruits Basket
Lovely Complex
Kamisama Hajimemashita
Meteor Methuselah
Lovely Complex
Penguin Kakumei
Beauty Pop
Red River
Shiawase Kissa Sanchoume
Akagami no Shirayukihime
Kyou mo Ashita mo
Mekakushi no Kuni
Boys over Flowers
Sekai de Ichiban Daikirai
Kanata Kara
Basara
Aishiteruze Baby
Pig Bride
Cardcaptor Sakura (Yes, I like it)
Hanatsukihime
Mix Vegetable
Akuma to Love Song
Oyayubi kara Romance
Miriam

Please note that there are many great Shoujo’s not on the list, it’s not that I do not recommend them, just that I have either forgotten about them, or I never read them. Nonetheless, if you haven’t read any of the above manga, and are a fan of Shoujo/good manga, then give that manga a read. There is a good chance, you will end up liking it 😛

Oh, and if you have any other suggestions, please do tell, I am always up for recommendations:P (I don’t know why, but for some reason, I love abusing the 😛 thingy)

  1. #1 by Hana on August 17, 2010 - 9:41 pm

    Glad to see you have most of my faves (albeit in a different order than I would’ve put ’em in, but meh). Plus you’ve given me a few more to search for 🙂

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 18, 2010 - 2:25 am

      They aren’t actually in any particular order (though Dengeki Daisy is my favorite shoujo). Most of the mangas on this list are just ripped off of Mangaupdates. Do a genre search on that site, and sort by rating and you get a list that is very similar to the one above. Of course, I only wrote down the manga’s that I had actually read, and considered to be worth my time. 😛

  2. #3 by heartofmanga on April 21, 2012 - 11:43 pm

    So I had to search your site when I saw your comment about Dengeki Daisy on the tourney site. It is my all time favorite right now. I’m also begging publishers to get a license for Love So Life in North America. Skip Beat is right up there with them as well. Looks like we have the same taste in shoujo. Let me know if you fall in love with any others, I’ll be sure to check them out!

  3. #4 by heartofmanga on April 21, 2012 - 11:46 pm

    So I had to search your site when I saw the comment about Dengeki Daisy on the tourney site. It’s my all time favorite right now. I’ve also written a post begging publishers to license Love So Life in North America. Skip Beat is right up there with them as well. Looks like we have the same taste in shoujo. If you fall in love with anything new, be sure to let me know. I’ll have to check it out!

    • #5 by Reiseng on April 22, 2012 - 2:26 am

      Darn, how did you find this super old post!

      I wish I could say this post is lacking some super awesome Shoujo I haven’t read between now and then, but unfortunately, I haven’t had much to read more Shoujo. 😦

      Love so Life is splendid! I need to catch up on LsL, Dengeki and Skip Beat. I am going to have a lot of fun doing that!

      I am super happy to see someone with similar tastes in Shoujo as myself. Should I discover something great that you haven’t tried, I will be sure to tell you!

      Thank you for the comment!

  4. #6 by heartofmanga on April 21, 2012 - 11:48 pm

    Well, feel free to delete this comment and one of the others above. I’ve been having issues with my gravatar account. Sorry ’bout that.

    • #7 by Reiseng on April 22, 2012 - 2:21 am

      Oh no worries. I would have deleted one, but the comments were slightly different, and my hoarding personality got in the way. Oops. 😛

  5. #8 by azulazure on October 10, 2012 - 9:08 pm

    Now that I’m interested in Shoujo I’m gonna take a look on some of the mangas above, by the way have you read Bokura ga Ita??
    I’m reading it now and think it’s pretty good, especially the way the Obata Yuuki deals with the emotional growth of the characters, but I like to know if you have any comment… 🙂

    • #9 by Reiseng on October 12, 2012 - 12:00 am

      I think I tried Bokura ga Ita a long time back. I don’t remember anything, but I stopped reading it for some reason, maybe I just ran out of chapters or something else. I will check it out again when I get the chance.

      By the way, if you are curious, this is how I search for manga:

      1)- Go here

      2)Select the genres you like/dislike.

      3)Click the search button.

      4)Then sort them by rating.

      Ratings aren’t the best way to do things, but it at least guarantees a somewhat reasonable manga.

  1. The Good Muffin, Bad Muffin routine. « Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

