Bloody kiss toxicology report

The girl is cute, and the guy is hot, what more could you want?

If you take a look at my mega list of recommended shoujo, you will notice that this manga is not on the list. When I was making the list, I actually forgot about this manga, but regardless, I don’t recommend this as a must read shoujo, for that would be implying an exceptionally original story line or perhaps previously unheard of characters. This manga has a simple plot, and relatively ordinary characters, but despite that this manga is still a lot of fun to read.

Mr. Hot Vampire is Mr. popular.

Plot
A very poor, parentless girl inherits a mansion from her grandmother, and moves in. She happens to find two surprises in the form of two bishonen vampires. Well, being the naive innocent girl she is, she moves in anyways and starts living with the two vampires. The manga is only 6 chapters long (but each chapter is close to 50 pages), so I have little to say about it. The manga follows the “ordinary” life of Kia and her two vampire goons, and it pays special attention to her relationship with Kobo as his “bride” , bride as in , “I’m your portable, latest state of the art, blood storing refrigerator bride”.

Opinion
Ok, there isn’t too much plot wise. In terms of characters Kobo is your everyday taunting bishonen, his servant Alsh is far more interesting. Alsh is mean to his master and just all around silly and fun. Kia the female lead is pretty strong as far as female leads go, she beats up quite a few people, and in general she has a very likable personality. But, like most female leads she is shy/tsun tsun about her love for Mr. Hot vampire.

Mr. Hot Vampire is hot.

So, why did I tell you to read this manga? Well, I didn’t, but read it anyways. Sure, on paper the only thing that seems special is the relatively strong female character, and a mischievous servant, but you underestimate this manga’s cuteness factor. I originally read this manga many months, maybe even years back, but after seeing it  once more on One Manga, I quickly reread it to remind me of my old romance manga days on that site. Looking back on it, I think this was one of the first romances I read on One Manga (or even one of the first romance manga’s I have ever read), damn my eyes are tearing up. I am still so sad about One Manga’s demise. I’m sorry, I’m a man with a soft heart, get over it! Anyways, back to the manga, it’s very cute. It’s full of shoujo fluff, and cuteness.

Ahhh Alsh, we love you.

Some more love for the great Alsh!

Spoilers- kinda, sort of, but not really.
My biggest gripe with this manga is the lack of a sex scene. I mean come on, the art reeks of smut, but we don’t have a single sex scene, the vampire bite scenes are quite sensualistic, but they never progress into erotica land. Oh, and did I mention the girl has boobs. Yes, ladies and gentleman we finally have a shoujo lead with decent sized boobs, but still no sex scene! WTF!

Mr. Vampire, has respectable arm placement.

Boobs-check, Revealing clothing revealing previously mentioned boobs-check, Hot guy holding up clothing revealing boobs-check.

Setting aside my own pervasion, a manga with a chapter cover like that, NEEDS a sex scene.

Other than that, this is a fun manga, that will lighten up your heart, so, be sure to give it a read when you need something shallow and cute.

, ,

  1. #1 by Hana on August 17, 2010 - 9:38 pm

    I agree that this was fun, albeit in a forgettable kind of way. Like the shoujo manga equivalent of having a cup of hot chocolate, with lots of marshmallows; short but sweet, but will leave you with an empty cup.

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 18, 2010 - 2:22 am

      Wow, lol, I didn’t think I would find someone who had actually read this manga. I love the cup analogy, it’s a perfect analogy for this manga, and a good deal of other Shoujo mangas.

Leave a Reply

