Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi! Episode 7

Well this is my first anime related post. In theory I should go and do the previous 6 episodes, but I am too lazy. Hopefully I will continue doing episodic reviews on Ookami-san and I might throw in other decent (not brilliant, just decent) anime into the mix as well.

No caption necessary.


Plot Summary
We start off with our Morino kun running to meet up for a date with his beloved Tsun Tsun Ryouko. Upon meeting her, Morino is greeted with the sight of her wearing some nice frills. What? These two are going on a date without a proper TsunTsun confession? No, it’s just a request for the committee. A baseball player by the name of Hanasaki senpai had noticed that someone was breaking into his house, and doing his chores along with making his food. Shockingly enough the culprit is someone named Jizou senpai who has been carrying out various feats because of love. Unfortunately for Jizou, Hanasaki does not reciprocate her feelings, but he wants to return the favor. So, Ringo suggests a date, and since Jizou is a nervous little thing, she bumps it up to a double date with Morino and Ryouko. I am sure the double date had nothing to do with Ringo and her Trollific skills. So, they go on a double date, but after a while, Ryouko, being the lover of cute things that she is, tries to rescue a cat from a tree. She falls into the pond, and her brave knight in school clothing follows. Unfortunately Ryouko has hit her head and suffered a form of Amnesia that transforms her back into a thirteen year old. From there hilarity and much child love ensues as Morino realizes the 13 year old Ryouko is more lovable than the 16 year old one. On their trip to the hospital they sidetrack and have a “proper” date before meeting up with Ringo. Ryouko then runs away, acting immaturely for a mature reason, which is something most thirteen year olds are guilty of. She meets up with Mr.Demonhead, who scares her. Morino kun arrives to save her, his manliness is questioned, his defense of Ryouko tested, and his attempt to attack shut down. Mr.Demonhead then leaves, and soon after Ryouko recovers her memory

Opinions/Pictures

I think my opinions about this episode are best shown through a collection of screenshots (aren’t all opinions?).

Not enough frills.

The whole Ryouko is cute  when she wants to be/is forced to be seems to be a bit of a running gag in this show. In other shows tsundere’s are obviously cute sometimes, but it isn’t really used as a gag.

Falcon Punch


Awesome confession followed by an equally awesome rejection.

Yes, you should definitely use adult magazines as inspiration.

If only you could get a girl/maid just by giving away an umbrella.


The classic Tsundere excuse for holding hands.


Real men fly.


Damn, I found this screenshot hilarious. Morino kun’s switching between manly and non-manly is quite commendable and also quite amusing. The switch between manly and non-manly was a running gag this episode and it’s becoming somewhat of a running gag in the overall anime as well.

I guess younger is better, at least in Morino kun's opinion.


Morino kun wants to enact an incestuous fantasy.

Ahh, I loved Morino’s reactions to being called Oni-San, poor guy gets no respect from the ordinary Ryouko.

This shouldn't be nearly as dirty as the narrator made it seem to be.

Obligatory gag

1 Morino, 3 roles.

Attack failed, demon president is immune.


Badass mode, the evolution of manly mode.


Poor Morino kun. Sometimes, I really feel sorry for him.


He earned two looks of disapproval that day.


Bliss

Overall, I liked this episode. Sure, most of the gags are quite cliche, but they are well presented and just really fun. The Hanasaki and Jizou couple had some hilarious moments, and some of the moments between Morino and Ryouko were quite funny too. Ringo had many awesome faces, I should do a feature with just her various faces.

,

  1. #1 by Valence on August 15, 2010 - 4:29 am

    Yeah, it used to be really cliche the first half, but now it looks to be less and less cliche, with some faith of course.

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 15, 2010 - 10:15 pm

      Yeah, the show seems to be heading in a good direction, I doubt it will ever be anything substantial but hey at least it provides some good entertainment value, and sometimes that is enough.

      Oh, and you are the first to comment on this site, so thank you.😛

      • #3 by Valence on August 15, 2010 - 10:42 pm

        Lol, I see😀 No problem.

        But I do hope that the series ends nicely.

  2. #4 by Reiseng on August 15, 2010 - 11:24 pm

    Valence :

    Lol, I see :D No problem.

    But I do hope that the series ends nicely.

    Yeah, even the greatest of series can be ruined by a bad ending.
    You seem to be an interesting fellow (judging from your blog), so, if it’s okay with you, I will be adding you to my blogroll. Oh, and even though I live in Canada we are both 18 year old idiots, so feel free to talk to me about stuff.😛

    • #5 by Valence on August 15, 2010 - 11:42 pm

      I’m 15 lol ._. 18+12 /2 = 15 ? Lol, I see.

      Okay, I’ll add you too😀

      Keep in touch man!

      • #6 by Reiseng on August 15, 2010 - 11:58 pm

        Damn, I skimmed through your about page, and misread it, lol, I fail.
        But, it’s cool, this way I can keep in touch with the younger generation, and still be hip and cool. You said you are big for your age, well I am exceptionally small for my age, so it balances out!
        Anyways, yeah keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

