The scariest part in Psychic Detective Yakumo.

I was watching the first episode of Det.Yakumo, and I happened to catch this screen:

A preview of my future, I'm afraid.



We just recently learnt about sinh(x) and cosh(x), we didn’t exactly cover their derivatives yet, but the derivative on the board matches wikipedia. I guess the derivative makes sense, at first I had thought that since it was e^x, the derivative would be the same, but the e^-x probably changes the sign, making the cosh(x) derivative the same as the sinh(x) one. So, I guess the scary part was that I just learnt/am learning this stuff in calculus right now. Anyways, it was an interesting observation, so I felt like making it. I have seen other scenes in anime’s that also had “real” math on the board. I don’t remember which anime, but I think I saw one in which they were doing quadratics in like grade 8 or 9, that somewhat made me realize how difficult school in japan is (we didn’t learn that until grade 10).

, , ,

  1. #1 by Hana on October 9, 2010 - 9:28 am

    I don’t know if I loled or shuddered more when I saw this (haaated maths in school, but was forced to continue studying it for A level, until everyone realised I was failing it and then I took up another Arts subject halfway through the course).

    On another note, I really enjoyed the first epi of this, so will defo (well, unless it very swiftly becomes a total trainwreck) be sticking with it.

    Good luck with calculus!

    • #2 by Reiseng on October 10, 2010 - 10:29 pm

      Haha, British school terminology. I have been out of the British education system for almost 5 years now, so I haven’t heard much of those funky terms.

      The manga only got better, so hopefully the anime will get better as well. I don’t know if my memory is shot or perhaps I didn’t read the whole manga, but I don’t remember their being a central villain like what the anime seems to suggest. Oh well, hopefully the anime will be fun.

  2. #3 by Valence on October 15, 2010 - 8:44 am

    Oh dear, I’m still struggling with memorizing all those special angles they make us remember. sin 30, 45, 60, cos 30 and so on. God.

    The show looks like great fun though.

    • #4 by Reiseng on October 15, 2010 - 8:44 pm

      Ahh yes, good old special angles. They might seem useless, but you have to use them a lot on tests/exams. Try and memorize them(if you have a good memory), or you can just use the special triangles and figure them out whenever you need them.
      I am sure your teachers already told you how to, but just in case here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_right_triangles
      Draw those two triangles 45-45-90 and 30-60-90. If you can draw those 2,then there is no need to memorize the angles themselves (and it’s easy, one is a right angled isosceles with a length/height of 1, and the other is Right-angled triangle of side 2.

      Oh,sorry for digressing, and yeah the show looks fun.😛

  3. #5 by faustusnotes on January 9, 2011 - 9:20 pm

    Calculus is the easiest part of maths – if your maths future is restricted to calculus, you’re very lucky!!!

    • #6 by Reiseng on January 16, 2011 - 11:52 am

      Sorry for the late response!
      Hmmm, I sure hope that what you say is correct. Having said that though, I also have a Discrete Math course coming up soon and a Linear Algebra course as well, so Calculus isn’t my only math,but it does make up a good portion of my studies.

  4. #7 by Mushyrulez on September 10, 2011 - 1:10 am

    Remember what Madoka had to go through in school?

    • #8 by Reiseng on September 11, 2011 - 6:28 am

      Oh yeah, I vaguely remember her suffering through some serious math, it probably had some deep meaning like everything else in that show…

Leave a Reply

