Weekly Shonen: Bleach 433, Naruto 523 and One Piece 610. -Lord Reiseng approves of the new tsundere.

Sorry, I am a bit late. I thought that once my job started, I would have more time to blog, but NOOOOO, pretending to work is more important than blogging. Grumble, grumble, grumble. I also want to apologize for the weird picture quality. For some reason (Not sure, but I think it has to do with wordpress compression), the images look bad in the post, they look fine when you click on them, but bad in post. I am sorry, I will look into it.

Yes, yes I am.

Naruto 523

Kakashi could teach Rukia a thing or two.

I think there is something wrong with me. The internet seems to have enjoyed this chapter, and while I enjoyed it, I didn’t find it to be anything special. I think, I have become disconnected from the Naruto universe. I am not quite sure why. It is almost like, I just don’t care about these side characters anymore. I hate to sound like an old fag (which, I am to some degree), but I used to care quite a bit about the side characters. I mean, my main love was always reserved for Naruto, Sasuke, Kakashi, Jiraiya and Itachi, but I did share quite a bit of my love with the side characters as well. Wait…. did I just list a good deal of side characters? See, what I mean. I used to care about more than just Naruto. I don’t know what went wrong, maybe Kishi messed up somewhere, maybe I grew up (I most certainly hope not), or I got hit by a rock, and lost most of my petite wisdom. I do not know. But, what I do know, is that currently, I am not enjoying Naruto as much as I should. That is a shame, the swords and the back story of the swordsmen are very interesting. Maybe, I would be more interested if they weren’t all dead, and you know, if they weren’t all being mind controlled or something like that.

Speaking of mind control, why is it always the snake who is the bad guy? It is not just Naruto, but in many stories written by a variety of cultures, snakes are portrayed as mysterious, and often evil beings. Maybe, it is because snakes are so alien, but for whatever reason, they have always frightened the human mind. Given that Kishi used snakes to represent Orochimaru, one must question why did he choose frogs and slugs for the other two.

Well, if you must know, then a quick wikipedia search turns up the answer.

Jiraiya (児雷也 – literally “Young Thunder”), the title character of the Japanese folktale Jiraiya Gōketsu Monogatari (児雷也豪傑物語, “The Tale of the Gallant Jiraiya”), is a ninja who uses shapeshifting magic to morph into a gigantic toad. The heir of a powerful clan in Kyūshū of the same name, Jiraiya fell in love with Tsunade, a beautiful young princess who masters snail magic. His arch-enemy was his one-time follower,Orochimaru, who mastered snake magic.

Huh, well now you know why Kishi choose a toad and a slug for Jiraiya/Tsunade, well he should have chosen a snail, but close enough! Anyways, back to the chapter. It was ugh, interesting I guess, it was nice to know about that guy’s ambitions for the swordsmen, and his overpowered older brother. I guess he had a proper goal all along, and wasn’t just a fighting fanatic like I had initially surmised.

Oh, and Kakashi is good at making plans, and Kabuto is evil for the whole Haku thing but we already knew that, didn’t we? I wonder if Zabuza will somehow regain some of his soul, and not cut through Haku this time. How will Kakashi live this time? Hmmm.

I haven't seen the human centipede yet, and frankly, I don't want to.

Bleach 433

What happened to the calm stoic Ichigo we saw fighting Aizen?

Calm the fuck down, the internet is still here.

I like the tsundere. There, it is official, Lord Reiseng has approved of the new addition to Ichigo’s already blossoming harem. Oh sigh, jeez Ichigo, I wish I could have a harem like that, but my exceptionally good looks keep girls away, they are just too shy to get near me. Oh wait, you want to go back to the chapter? Can’t we spend more time talking about the hot goth tsundere person, whose name I can’t bother to remember? No, fine!
In my opinion, the chapter was pretty good. It could have incorporated a bit more, but I am not complaining too much. The story behind these guys was quite interesting as well. So, basically if a hollow attacks a woman, and she survives, then her kids will conjugate in some shady bar and stalk some guy with orange hair? It all makes sense now!
I am still not trusting Mr.Mihawk just yet. When he first showed up, I had the notion that he wasn’t a bad guy, but I am not too sure right now. Something seems of, and it seems that he is the one that is giving me the bad feeling right now. I think Mr.Mihawk (or Aizen wannabe, as some would say), is controlling everyone, including the other members. If they are all in cahoots, then Chad and Ichigo are being controlled. I don’t think it is as simple as him wanting to get rid of his powers, something else is up.

Chad touched me this chapter. I always loved the bond between him and Ichigo, it is awesome. A few weeks back, my brother was re-watching the soul society arc, and Chad’s flashbacks to his meeting with Ichigo still touched my heart. I don’t think Chad signed up to lose his powers as well. he wants to protect Ichigo’s back, I doubt he could do that with no powers.

Anyways, a great chapter overall, and we shall see where we go from here, oh and lest I forget, it would seem that Ichigo’s mother was just a human after all, I was under the impression that she was a member of nobelty or something. Unless of course, Mr.Mihawk was wrong/lying, which wouldn’t be too much of a surprise given that this is Bleach after all.

Tsun tsun inspecter, will tsun tsun inspect you!

One Piece 610

Poor Sanji, he will have to live with the idea of transvestites until his blood marrow totally replaces the old blood.

I was not expecting a One Piece chapter this week, but well I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting them to run around and spend quite some time looking for a donor, but Sanji had already recovered by the beginning of the chapter. I LOLED, so hard when Sanji discovered his donors. To anyone put off by my use of internet terminology, I would like to point out that I normally don’t use things like lol, but the golden comedy could only be expressed through use of a Caps Lock loled.
Staying on the topic of comedy, I also found Brook’s “I am boned joke” to be absolutely hilarious. I seriously hope that was on purpose Oda, please let it be on purpose!

My apologies, in a different scanlation, Brook said "I feel boned". That was funnier.

A while back, Rayleigh made a statement of fate, and shortly prior to that Zoro made a comment about fate and demons or something. Some of the fans were upset about Rayleigh’s fate statement, and the fact that now it seemed that Luffy would become pirate king just because it was fated that he would. Hopefully, that isn’t the case, and if anything, this newest arc will probably/hopefully parody if not destroy the idea of fate. The fortune tellers appearance made me slightly fidgety. In my opinion fortune tellers/oracles should only be used in creative media when the main hero does not know where to go. In our case, Luffy knows what he wants, and there is no need to tell him his destiny. I wasn’t expecting the ending though, and that made me somewhat happy.
I have no doubt that this fortune will not come true, at least not in the context, the lady expects it to. The Van Der fellow was also wearing a straw hat, so he might be the one to destroy the island, Oda probably showed his bounty poster just to get that idea planted into the readers head. If Luffy destroys the island, then he will most likely do it as an accident, maybe while fighting them scary pirate fellows. My prediction is that Van Der will try to destroy the island, and Luffy will stop him, in other words showing that Luffy is above fate, and that Luffy(and anyone with the right will) can shape their own destiny.
I think the mention of the empress was also key. Some speculate that Luffy will take the island under his own wing, and offer it protection when something related to the empress goes wrong. I am not sure if I agree with that, but it is certainly possible, though it would be more effecting if Luffy was a bit more feared.
Oh, and the pirate assassin with the octopus legs, yeah he is so fighting Zoro.
In short, this was another great One Piece chapter.

Don't make his stay any harder than it has to be (and it already is really hard!).

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

