Weekly Shonen: Bleach 443, Naruto 534, One Piece 620

I changed the theme, because I was getting bored of the old one, and it it just didn’t feel right, hopefully this one is better, if you think of a better theme, then please do let me know. I would make my own theme, but not only do I suck at CSS, but WordPress doesn’t let you use CSS unless you pay extra, so meh.

No need to think so hard.


Bleach 443

I enjoyed this chapter, the beginning felt a bit slow and it was also a bit confusing, but it got better towards the end.
What’s that? You read the chapter days ago, and now demand a summary? Hhmp, fine!
Ugly girl fights Ichigo, she tries to hit him, he dodges, she tries to hit, she hits, then they repeat this a few times, throw in some idle chatter about Ichigo’s “lax” attitude, ,some ugly poses, and the occasional hint at fanservice that could have been have.

This could have been fan service, but do we really want that?

And then out of the blue:

I like that face.

And that face is just pure evil, in a good way.

Oh, and lest I forget, Chad did the right thing by running straight up to Ginjou or whatever his name is and inquiring about Tsu-kun. Go Chad, do the sensible thing, because no one else wants to.

Now, about the ending:

The voice is either Chad, Rukia, Ginjou, or Zangetsu, I don’t feel like guessing.

Naruto 534

This chapter was significantly better than last time, if only because stuff actually happened this time. I was getting tired of seeing Chouji cry, even if it wasn’t the greatest fight in Naruto, actually it was just a physicial pounding, nothing more, nothing less, it was still a fight and that beats a crying fat kid any day, well in Naruto anyway.

This pun alone shall ensure Asuma is forever remembered.


Awww, ain't that so sad.


Reminds me of a certain Red Haired Pirate, but no where near as badass.

Other than the above average ending to a fight, there was trouble with our Orange Clad Hero. He just can’t sit still, can he, well neither can I, so meh. It looks like Iruka will stop Naruto, hmm, I guess Tsunade eventually figured out Naruto’s simplistic nature, and planned ahead, can’t say I blame her, the kid is trouble, I tell ya!

One Piece 620

One Piece just keeps on getting more and more serious, this arc which was initially thought to be nothing more than the last pit stop on the way to the New World has now opened up a deep and insightful look into racism, or well discrimination might be a better term here.
You can’t blame the Fismen for hating the humans, it is because the humans hated the fishmen, but the question lingers, who started hating who?
Who was it that first said, “dude, you smell, I don’t like you”.
It was probably the humans, those royals are absolutely horrible. This now brings in the whole dynamic of how when people get power, they almost always get corrupt. But is it really corruption if you have been brought up that way, because you think that you are doing what you are meant to be doing? Those young “nobels” are only acting like that, because that is what their parents thought them, and their grandparents thought their parents, and so on and so on.. The World Government is likely only hunting down pirates because they want to prevent the big event that Whitebeard spoke of, everyone is doing the right thing from their own perspective.
I think there is one major idea in One Piece, the idea that freedom only exists for those who are willing to leave everything behind, and live according to their own will, restricted only by the sway of the ocean.
I mean look at the former Queen, you’d think that someone like her would have been loved by everyone, but she wasn’t, not according to Jinbei anyway, she was disliked by the people who had been captured, the people who had loved ones who had been captured. Then you had Tiger, loved by the Fishmen for freeing them, but hated by the humans (especially the well of ones) because he no doubt hurt a few.

If you try to do good, if you try to make a difference, then you run into a conundrum, what does it mean to do the right thing, and more importantly will everyone be happy if you do the “right” thing?

The above is why being a free pirate is such a great thing, why Ace made Luffy promise to always live as free men, you aren’t bound to do the people’s will, and when you aren’t bound, you don’t worry about who you upset. Having said that, Tiger was a pirate, but he was probably just a pirate by definition, he was (at least in his head) still bound to do his best for the Fishmen and well, pirates seem to have done the most damage to the fishmen as well, so, I don’t know if my point still stands….
This is why I love One Piece, on the surface it is just a regular Shonen, but it can be deep, very deep at times, I don’t think my little spcheel above did it any justice though.
Anyways, this was a great chapter, looks like there will be flashbacks next chapter, a good deal of people dislike flashbacks, but I am not one of them. I am really looking forward to reading the history of this world, it looks really interesting, and even more interesting, because unlike other Shonens, there is no central enemy, you could blame the world government, but they aren’t bad as much as they are the antagonists to our protagonists.
The fishmen pirates were being really cruel to their own people, making them step on a portrait of their Queen is well, really sad, I wonder how they’d feel if someone wanted the pirates to step on a picture of Tiger? I guess this cruelty just shows how much they really hate the humans. This arc is really not about physical power, is it? It is all about discrimination, this deep rooted hatred that we have seen glimpses of since the Nami arc, Damn, that is a long time, I wonder if this arc is the last time we see the hatred, will this stop? Is this Oda’s way of finally closing the first half of One Piece? I do not know.

Caribou or whatever his name is, was pure evil as always, I’d rather not see time wasted on beating him, he should be disposed of courtesy of an accident or a singly kick by Sanji.
Speaking of Sanji, Sanji was absolutely fantastic this chapter, sure, he was just being a white Knight for Nami, but he was still really cool to behold, and Luffy with his teacup was also interesting to look at. People on forums have pointed out that, Luffy thinks about such complicated issues with such a simple face. When you think about it, he actually does listen to these issues, and doesn’t just scream in fits of righteous rage. Nami’s flashbacks were sad as usual, and it seems that they only get sadder with the passage of time. The Arlong Park similarity thing was cool, it shows that Oda had this far ahead at the time of the Marineford Arc, which isn’t anywhere near as far as Laboon, but still better than other writers. The start of the flashback was awesome as well, we are in for a treat next chapter.
Oh, and the cover was cute, Gaimon landed himself a nice lass, good job.😛

Why Sanji, that's quite a big teacup you have there.

hmm

.....!

I need next week's chapter now!

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by paper on April 13, 2011 - 7:18 pm

    I was waiting for this change in Chouji. He’s just completely different now and the way I see him has changed a bit. Before, I thought of him as one of those unnecessary supporting/side characters but after this chapter, he’s becoming more important to the development of the series.

    • #2 by Reiseng on April 18, 2011 - 12:35 am

      Sorry for the late reply.
      Chouji underwent massive change during the Chunin arc, the feeling was similar back then to.
      I agree that the Ino-Shika-Chou team is arguably one the most important side teams in this manga, and now that Chouji has manned up, they should be ready to play their role.

      • #3 by paper on April 21, 2011 - 6:20 pm

        I wonder if the other teams will get their chance to shine like their team did. I feel like it wouldn’t be right if the series only focused on the Ino-Shika-Chou team. Even though I’m not too fond of Lee, I would want to see some development with his team.

      • #4 by Reiseng on April 21, 2011 - 10:52 pm

        I agree, I actually Lee and his team, so I wouldn’t mind some light on them.
        I have never been the biggest fan of Ino-Chika-Chou, I have always liked Shikamaru but that was back when he was smart and lazy, now he is just cheesy.

Leave a Reply

