Weekly Shonen: Bleach 463, Naruto 554, One Piece 638 and a quick Reborn! update.

I should have started writing this post earlier, but I was too busy these past two days watching Steins;Gate, Mawaru Penguindrum, Usagi Drop, Dantalian, Hanasaku Iroha and IdolM@ster. Have I ever mentioned how much I love this season? Given my love for anime this past few days, and given the lack of happenings this week, this post will be short.

...I know how you feel...


Quick Hitman update!

No, I don’t think I will make Hitman a regular addition to my exceptionally great Weekly Shonen posts, but the last few chapters have been so interesting, I’d feel really bad if I didn’t at least write a sentence or two down. I apologise for the fanboyism, but you should be used to it by now…

I really like Reborn, like really like him, I always have, and hopefully always will. This Arcobaleno arc is really interesting, and moving really fast, I wonder who Mukorou got hired by, the same for Enma, but I think Enma got hired by Viper, it seems like a Viper thing.

There are so many questions to answer, who is the guy with the funky hat, does he have any relation with the arcobaleno in the Simon flashbacks? Where is the Sky arcobaleno (Yui’s grandmother or whatever), why is only one Arcobaleno being freed? Why now? So much stuff to ponder! It’s awesome.

I am beginning to like hat man’s personality, he is just the right sort of asshole I like to see in my manga.
When the arcobaleno agreed to the hat man’s demands, I found their response quite fascinating. Them all know that this is probably another stupid trick like last time, that this time to, they will probably end up worse off, but as Colonello put it, they will let themselves be tricked once more, that’s how desperate they are, I guess being a baby has its disadvantages.

All of the arcobaleno are most likely fully grown adults, and yet the hat man treats them like children. I mean, I can understand other people treating them as such (though no one does because of their infammy), but for the guy who turned them into children in the first place to think of them as such is most interesting. It either shows something about the arrogance of hat man, or perhaps, it shows that hat man is actually really old.

I am looking forward to Tsuna and Dino working together, the two always did along really well, and to see Reborns students working together is something I have wanted for some time. Having said that, I hope the fights are not too serious, I do not want Tsuna to fight Enma or Mukorou or his own dad for that matter. Most likely, the fights will be challenges, and hopefully we will get to see the comedy that this manga used to be so good at.

I love how both Dino and Tsuna accepted Reborn’s quest, and how happy he was that they did, it really is rare for Reborn to ask for a favour, normally he just issues out point blank orders.

Oh, and I found it funny how pretty much anyone reading this manga had guessed that the baby wasn’t Reborn’s true form, and yet Tsuna and Dino his beloved pupils had no idea.

This page is absolutely awesome.

The above image was an awesome scene, mostly because of Reborn’s really cool line ( I prefer the other translation where Reborn said “the real me..is really, really cool”, but in general the art is also really nice. Notice how both Tsuna and Dino have a different background. The two are either perceiving Reborn differently, or the author is showing us a closeup of Reborn in one panel, and then a more distant shot in the next. Very cool!

Bleach

I felt the same way...

This chapter felt really boring when I first read it, my opinion slightly changed after seeing the reactions of others, but I still think it was overall quite boring.
I mean, come on Kubo, you take a character with one of the more interesting powers in this manga, and reduce him to a old man version of the Hulk? Jeez! I know, Kubo wants to end this arc fast, but you could have just you know, knocked out all of the fullbringers except Chad and then claimed that the Soul Society bunch had fumigated the entire area with a mysterious “kill all fullbringers except Chad” toxic gas made with chest hair collected from each of the captains. Yeah, that includes the female ones (except Unohana of course). Had you followed my proposed solution, this arc could have ended much sooner, and the BS level wouldn’t have been much higher, but no, the Fullbringers got arbitary powerups, and now are matched up and set to stall the oncoming next arc by another 2 months or so.
The only slightly interesting things this chapter were:

a)Ichigo retaining his calm despite the kids gaming tactics or something.
I liked this, it was nice to see Ichigo not scream like a girl, but then again, this is all a repeat of the infamous Bleach cycle.
b)Ikaku so casually stabbing the brat, yeah, it was nice to see…does that make me a bad person?
c)The comment about the delinquent kid, my guess is that he will end up being a companion to the main characters soon enough.

I am still not sure if the Fullbringers are back to being themselves or are they being manipulated, but it looks they are back to being their real selves, silly Kubo, not making things clear.

Naruto

Naruto is the bomb.......ughhh, sorry, it had to be said....

A decent enough chapter, but not much to say, I suppose. I guess the third really was super strong, stronger than the 4th Raikage or so it seems, but this kinda goes up in the face of all the “the new generation is stronger than the previous one” theme this manga had been laying on thick for a while. Oh well, that theme will no doubt once more be verified when Naruto destroys the old bugger next chapter. I mean that’s all these zombies are, right? Zombies resurrected to showcase the power-ups and growth of our beloved teenage super hero main character. Sigh, sometimes I really dislike Shonen, but for some reason, I can’t stop reading it every week.

In other news, it looks like Naruto can probably do the Bijou bomb thing, it is nice to see more stuff added to his jutsu repository, but it’s still kinda similar to a rasengan.

One Piece

MURDER! It's an underwater murder, so does it count as a closed room murder?

Not a bad chapter per se, but compared to Oda’s usual offering, not much happened, but that’s okay as it was more of a transitional chapter. (The only important thing of note is that Hodi stabbed Decken, now, I guess the ship will fall, and the city will be in trouble, I wonder how Luffy is going to protect the city. I also didn’t hate the semi-sentimental public pulling chains of ship scene as much as other people seemed to have done. It was kinda sentimental, and made a bit sadder when Hodi killed the villagers good will.
Oh, and I actually liked how casually Oda threw in the word murder, I don’t know why, but it cracks me up.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mushyrulez on September 24, 2011 - 12:28 pm

    The hat man does seem really old in Reborn, though it was pretty obvious from the very beginning and all of those flashbacks that I don’t know what the author was trying to pull. The next chapter where everyone imagines Reborn is hilarious, though.

    Uhh, I doubt the old man will just die – maybe that’s part of his super ability? To be honest, I really hate it when people use loopholes to make their abilities stronger, like that one guy’s ability to turn everything into a game. The wording of your ability shouldn’t change it…

    Finally, van der Decken is stupid and he should die like a person who should die should die

    • #2 by Reiseng on September 24, 2011 - 1:03 pm

      I agree, the Reborn fantasies were really funny, I laughed pretty hard especially at Yamamoto’s and Tsuna’s.

      By old man, you mean the Tsuchikage? Yeah, he might not die, Naruto hasn’t had any semi-important deaths for a while, and if he does die, it will probably be after some super technique or something.
      And yeah, I dislike the use of loopholes, it might not always be the case, but more often than not, it feels like the author is just trying to find a cheap way for the plot/something to make sense.

      I don’t particularly like Van der Decken either, but I like him more than Hodi, Stupidity >> Retarded Crazy.

      • #3 by Mushyrulez on September 25, 2011 - 1:43 am

        By old man, I mean in Reborn. I don’t follow Naruto :((

      • #4 by Reiseng on September 25, 2011 - 12:16 pm

        Oh I see, woops, yeah there are way too many old men crawling around these days. Reborn’s old man kinda gives you the impression he is immortal eh, Maybe by turning adults into babies, he gets some life energy or something (though normally, this works in reverse), who knows.

        We actually don’t even know how old Reborn is, nor do we know how long he has been cursed.

Leave a Reply

