12 Days of Christmas #8: Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

WAIT!

STOP! STOP!

STOP, RIGHT THERE!

DON’T GO!

DON’T HATE ME!

STOP, STOP, DON’T LEAVE ME!

I CAN EXPLAIN EVERYTHING!

Okay, hopefully, if you made it this far, you are reserving judgement until the end, or, you have already judged me, but have decided to give me a second chance, OR, you have judged me, decided not to give me a second chance and simply wish to better mock this pitiful collection of paragraphs.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (I Don’t Have Many Friends), also known as Haganai(No idea what that means) is an anime about a club that is formed to make friends, or you know, get into perverted situations and stuff. The reaction to Haganai has for the most part been negative, but those who like it, like it a lot. So, yeah, it’s kind of strange.

So, what does the community have to say about this anime? Well, I’d say that the opinions of the masses can be categorized as follows:

  1. I don’t like this anime. It has nothing substantial about it, it’s not to my taste.
  2. THIS IS A SHITTY OTAKU PANDERING ANIME. If you like this anime, then you should go kill yourself, and donate your body to science. Maybe they will find a cure for stupidity.
  3.  The anime adaptation is horrible, it doesn’t compare to the manga. What a horrible adaptation. The creators should be ashamed. If you dislike the anime, you should read the manga. If you like the anime, you should read the manga, you won’t like the anime after reading the manga.
  4. I like this anime, it can be funny at times.

It would be quite normal[-English question, is there a word better than normal for this sentence?] to assume that the intelligence of an anime viewer correlates directly with that list. So, number 1 is the smartest, while number 4 is the dumbest. Now, as I said that would be the normal assumption, but I don’t know if that’s true. I mean, even Master 2DT liked Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sakunai.

Now, normally when a popular manga gets animated, I am usually one of the first on the manga-fag train. Just go read some of comments on season previews, you will see what I mean….Anywho, unfortunately, that is not the case this time.

I find myself stranded in the fourth category this time around.

STOP!

DON’T LEAVE!

Like I said smart people like this anime to, so, so, I can’t be a total failure, right, RIGHT????

Blegh, let’s just move on the memorable moments, shall we?

MOST MEMORABLE MOMENT

THE OVA

I am still surprised that a good deal of people did not like the OVA. The OVA was awesome, I cannot understand why it got so much hate. Let me show you why it was awesome. Let me walk you through my thought process this episode.

Hoh, he looks pretty cool.

It's probably a dream...

It has to be a dream!

It's gone on for such a long....is it really a dream?

YES, I WAS RIGHT! IT WAS A DREAM!

This looks like it will be fun!

Wait, did they just vomit? DID THEY JUST SHOW YOUNG GIRLS VOMITING!? AWESOME!

DID YOU SEE THAT????

Okay, think about it for a second. When was the last time you saw an anime girl do something disgusting? Girls in anime are perfect, they don’t need to poop (well, real girls don’t either) and they most certainly don’t vomit, unless it’s an angsty anime about teenage pregnancy.

So, not only was this ova amusing, but they pretty much went ahead and broke a cardinal rule about anime girls.

This episode also had some other interesting things about it, like the fact that they were making references to the hot-pot the whole time with cameos of food.

Food

I found that to be a nice touch.

Other Memorable Moments

EROTIC GUNDAM–Episode 4

No, I don't mean this kind of ero, I mean, you know, the gundam kind...(No Picture on hand, sorry!)

YOU KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. I really like Rika, she is really funny with her various erotic antics.

UNIVERSE–Episode 9

UNIVERSE!

Actually, scratch that, the entire episode from UNIVERSE, to PEGASUS, TO FREAKING STELLA was awesome. Nothing more needs to be said.

Pegasus!

As an aside, I would like to point out that Kodaka is also a pretty cool male lead. For one thing, he doesn’t blush when his naked sister hugs him. Now, that might be a totally normal thing, normally (for real life Japanese people), but it so not normal in anime. Have you seen OreImo? (Well, I have only seen a few episodes, but yeah…). In general Kodaka is pretty calm, not really perverted, and a far better male lead than well pretty much any generic male lead.

He is a pretty smart fellow!

Anyway, I hope no one hates me, but I like Haganai. Who knows, maybe someday, I will read the manga, because it seems to be up my alley, though I will make note that it feels like the series will get worse as the plot develops. I say that because so far the enjoyable moments haven’t been really plot related, but more goofing of.

Sorry, sweetie, I can't help it. I like how she said poop.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mushyrulez on December 24, 2011 - 12:42 am

    OH GOD REISENG WHAT ARE YOU DOING I HATE YOU FOREVER DIE DIE DIE DIE DIE

    P.S. the anime was worse than the manga even though I didn’t watch this

    DON’T ASK ME HOW I KNOW THIS

    I JUST DO

    • #2 by Reiseng on December 24, 2011 - 1:39 am

      LIAR, YOU WATCHED THIS! I don’t want to be hated. Well, I will die someday, but not until Haganai is done! MUHAHAHAHA, oh wait…that’s pretty soon😦

      • #3 by Mushyrulez on December 24, 2011 - 1:55 pm

        n-no i didn’t what are you t-talking about >//<

  1. The AniBlog Tourney: Why you should vote for me. « Toxic Muffin
  2. Ranking 10 shows from 2013 | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

