The idolM@ster: End of Season Thoughts

This is a short post(in terms of text and content, or rather there is no content, just fluff) because I don’t have time; I should be packing as I am moving out tomorrow. But, I also wrote 2 previous posts on idolM@ster, so the shortness should be forgiveable. I hope.

It's done

The idolM@ster is now over. It was a most excellent anime, far exceeding the expectations of most people. Heck, it exceeded my expectations quite splendidly to. READ MY CHRISTMAS-Y POST ON IT!

First, let us talk about the final episode.

Not Really

On the 28th of December 2011, I embarrassed myself defending the final episode on Twitter, when I probably shouldn’t have. I was on bit of a “good anime ended” high you see. Now, the final episode was nothing special. Nothing much happened. I will admit to that at least, but what it was, was pure fan service. Not the ecchi kind mind you(though some of the costumes were kinda cool). For fans, I guess it was sort of special to see those songs performed, especially “My Lady”.

It was a good performance

As for me, well, I knew what to expect, so, I just leaned back in my chair, and tried to enjoy it. I knew there would be nothing substantial (everything had gotten resolved), so, I was quite happy to see the idols back in top form being themselves and making people happy.

Haruka is sly, she should have given us more of an episode...

Still, I can sympathize with people who wanted more.

Anyway, the last episode’s mixed (generally negative) reception aside, let us now talk about the show as a whole.

The Good Stuff:

Consistency

The idolM@ster was a very consistent show. Like I mentioned before in some other post, it might not have been the greatest anime this year(err, last year, sorry!), but it was damn consistent. Maybe, it only felt consistent because there was no over arching plot line, but in the end, most of the episodes, and most of the scenes were fun to watch, and that’s all that counts.

No boob jokes

This might seem like a small thing, but it’s not! There were so many opportunities where idolM@ster could have resorted to generic “Oh, so flat”, or “Oh, so big” boob jokes, but it did not. For, not resorting to such crass humor, despite having the perfect set up with 1 Broducer and 12 girls,  idolm@ster deserves the “classiest” anime of 2011 award.

No producer falling on boob jokes

See above. I found it really cool how the producer was able to maintain a professional (BY ANIME STANDARDS) relationship with the girls.

So, far, I have only complimented idolM@ster for common anime tropes that it did not fall into, but there are other reasons why it was a good anime.

Great cast

idolM@ster had a stellar cast. I do not think I hated any of the characters per say, but you don’t need to take my word for it. Just take a quick peek everyone else. People bickered over their favorite idols on Twitter, and in the comfort of their blogs, they decided to play matchmaker (go lookup Krizzly and Master 2DT’s posts).

Let's all argue about who she is blowing the kiss at.

Sure, the Bro-Ducer was nothing special (although his endearing personality was pretty nice), but there was something to be liked about all the idols.

My personal favourites?  Haruka, Miki, Yayoi and Iori.

I already covered why I like Haruka, as for the others, well:

You always were Miki, you always were.

Everyone likes Miki. Miki is as perfect. Her determination is as unstoppable as her resolve is unmovable. There was a time when I did not like Miki for a short little bit, when she was hurting Haruka with her idolness, my heart hurt a bit, BUT THEN, things got better! While watching the last two episodes, I constantly thought: “Oh, Miki, you make it really hard for me to hate you. I just can’t hate you.” Call me weak if you will, but I’d like to think that Miki is just not hatable, unless of course, the hater is a super cynical nubcake.

Unfortunately, Miki only likes one person.

Yayoi is just too sweet and cute to not like. Her cheerfulness, endearing attitude, love of her family and just general adorableness makes her super adorable. You don’t have to like Yayoi, but if you hate her, then you are a bad, bad person!

DAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW If you hate this, then you are a bad, bad, bad person!

Yayoi and Iori? Nice

Iori is well, a tsundere, and uhh…I just like her okay…..

Dawwwww

The Bad Things:

  • The “Let’s all get together and work together” idea occasionally felt too strong, or it was enforced too often. Basically, the show was occasionally a bit too cheesy.
  • Not enough Miki (in the last episodes especially).
  • Not enough Yayoi (in the last episodes especially).
  • Not enough Iori (in the last episodes especially).

Nice of you to say that Iori, but we probably won't see you again. At least not anytime soon.

Goodbye

, ,

  1. #1 by Kai on January 2, 2012 - 1:04 am

    Idolm@ster does look pretty fine as a whole. I really need to watch this soon enough..

    • #2 by Reiseng on January 2, 2012 - 1:17 am

      Yup, The idolM@ster is a great anime, but be warned: Not everyone will like it. Fortunately though, you will know soon enough if you like it or not.😛

  2. #3 by foshizzel on January 6, 2012 - 1:22 am

    I loved this series! From start to finish it had some great moments, yeah they needed more Miki! I loved the first opening a lot compared to the second which took a while but became my other favorite.

    So what next for the idolmaster?! Season two? OVAS? Or maybe a movie? Either way it was fun I would love to see more.

    • #4 by Reiseng on January 7, 2012 - 12:46 am

      Yup! idolm@ster had some great moments, and I would love to see more. Unfortunately, I don’t know if it would be good to see more. I mean, the best parts of the show happened when the idols were just being themselves, but by the end of the anime, they were now superstars. So, what would a sequel be about anyway.😦 Maybe a friendly competition with some other rival?

      Oh, and thanks for taking the time to comment.😛

Leave a Reply

