The AniBlog Tourney: Why you should vote for me.

The Tourney has begun.

Disclaimer: Unlike my usual humble (read as low in self-esteem, occasionally self-loathing) self, I have attempted to inject myself with fake confidence for the sake of this post. So, yeah, hopefully, I won’t come across as arrogant or something.

LINK TO ANIME TOURNEY SITE. IN CAPS BECAUSE IT IS IMPORTANT AND STUFF.

Hello everyone. This post exists for one purpose and one purpose only. Yes, you should have guessed it by the title, this post exists to make this blog (i.e. Toxic Muffin) and by extension, myself, look awesome.

Wait, wasn’t this post created to awareness about the aniblog tourney and engender a sense of community and belonging? No, it exists to make me look awesome so you will vote for me in the tourney.

Wait, I just came across this post because of the tourney, who is “me”? Is this not a team blog like all other blogs these days? And who the hell are you anyway?

Patience, my friend! I shall answer all of your questions especially the ones that you most likely did not think of.

Who are you?

You could just check out the about page, but if you are too lazy, then just know that my name is Reiseng, you can find me on twitter, and that this is a solo blog run by me. So, in other words, the awesomeness rating of this blog and me as a person are most likely very closely linked together (it’s one of the interesting properties of individual blogs).

Why have I not heard of you?

I don’t know, but now you have, and that is all that matters.

Ok, now no doubt you have other questions and I had written almost 300 words just talking about one of those questions, but I have chosen to discard it because it sounded silly. Yeah, see, I don’t write the greatest of posts, I don’t write frequent posts, nor do I write posts about various topics, but at the least, I do try make my posts at least somewhat good. I do put some effort into my posts. Most of my posts are long and required a good deal of time to write even if they do not necessarily read that way. If you still want to know something, feel free to leave a comment, or tweet me.

So, skipping to the good part, I will now boast about what I feel are my best posts.

Post Name/Link Why it is awesome sauce.
Toxic Report: Tsunderes It’s a pity really. Had I spent several days on this post, drawn graphs, researched statistics, and other stuff, this post could have probably been one of the best animanga posts of all time. Oh well, as it stands, I still spent an entire day writing up this post with its 2700+ word count. It may not be the best there is, but it is one of the best this blog has to offer, and a decent post by all means.
Quick Impression: Mysterious Girlfriend X Throwing this in there because it is a recent post on a recent anime. I figured interest in such things would be high.
Quick Impression: Medaka Box Same sort of idea as the first one. And in case, you are wondering why I did not write other quick impressions for this season, yet, it’s because I am in the middle of exams. In fact, as we speak, I should be studying for exams, but noooo, instead I am putting my education and life on the line for you guys. I am so nice.
Nichijou: End of Season Thoughts In my honest opinion, this post is the definitive post on Nichijou. Sorry, if that sounds arrogant (it is quite arrogant of me to claim that), but I spent days writing this post. Over 4000 words and 30 screencaps went into this post, so, I’d rather think it was good and worth something.
Guilty Crown: Episode 4 The last post I wrote on Guilty Crown. 3.5 people or so told me it was good. So, I put it here.
12 Day Posts

For 12 Days straight, I posted 12 posts. A few of these pushed themselves into the late hours of the night (like 4 AM), so, please do forgive the abundant typos in or two of them, but for the most part, I am very happy with these posts. These guys sort of made me proud of my blog if that makes any sense.
The importance of Amami Haruka I liked Haruka, so, I wrote a post on her. I feel that even though the post is not that great, it did not generate enough hate towards me, so, I have put it on this list. Because I want you to hate me…and vote for my despite hating me.
Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi 9 For some reason, I still get hits for Ookami-San. I don’t particularly know why either. Do people still like/watch it? Anyway, out of the few Ookami-san posts I wrote, this one is probably my favorite. It is a throwback to the olden days of Reiseng’s blogging. I did my best to emulate the Yuri filter used by Lord Commander Crusader and Master ExecutiveOtaku. The Yuri filter is a tool all bloggers need to posses even if they don’t use it. I have yet to master it, but maybe someday…

In addition to the above, I have covered more than a year and a half of Bleach, Naruto and One Piece. In case you are wondering why I haven’t covered the last 3 weeks, it’s because the doom and gloom of exams has been hanging over my head, so, I haven’t even read my weekly manga. No, it’s not because of a lack of time (I have watched a good deal of anime), but because the thought of exams contaminates my weekly reading. I don’t know if it’s OCD, paranoia, or some other anoia, but that anoia is a me-anoia, so it can’t be helped.  I have also written a decent post or two on Katekyou Hitman Reborn (especially, this one). There are a few other decent posts lying around, but I think that should be enough boasting by yours truly.

So, yeah, if you are just checking out this site for the first time, I hope I have convinced you to vote for me, if not, or if because you like 8thsin’s blog more than this one, then that is fine to.

On that same note, I am more than willing to accept any criticism you may or may not have for me. I have a good notion of what needs to be improved (more posts and more timely posts for the most part), but if you have any other suggestions or if you think I am suited to blogging x-thing, then let me know! If you are too shy to comment, but not too shy for Twitter, then Tweet me or email me (reisingrath at gmail) if that’s your thing.

Thanks for reading.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gooney on April 15, 2012 - 11:57 am

    LOL! This blog is stoopid and gay, it not get my vote for all the day!
    Obviously kidding, I like your blog, I was always going to vote for you, even without this post. Good luck in the tourney!

    • #2 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 12:13 pm

      ❤ You are an awesome person, Gooney. You are also a great blogger!

  2. #3 by Emperor J on April 15, 2012 - 12:10 pm

    The Crawling Chaos in the opening of the post. Please take all my votes.

    • #4 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 12:13 pm

      Yes! My plan succeeded!

  3. #5 by Justin on April 15, 2012 - 2:40 pm

    YOU’RE CLEARLY TOO ARROGANT, I REFUSE TO VOTE FOR– Wait, sorry, wrong blog (I think :D) Good luck in the tourney!

    • #6 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 4:58 pm

      Thank you! I wish you luck to. 😛

  4. #7 by glothelegend on April 15, 2012 - 4:04 pm

    Posts like these are what gain my vote! Eye voted for you without hesitation!

    • #8 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 4:59 pm

      Both of my eyes love you, so eye I love you to!

  5. #9 by lostty on April 15, 2012 - 4:39 pm

    Love the post! Good luck in the tourney! You have my vote! ^_^

    • #10 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 4:59 pm

      Yay! Thanks for the comment, it means a lot. 😛

  6. #11 by Marow on April 15, 2012 - 5:51 pm

    You win a cookie

  7. #13 by Cely_belly on April 15, 2012 - 6:26 pm

    You’re funny 🙂 Got my vote!!

  8. #15 by pendevin on April 15, 2012 - 6:36 pm

    I’m voting for 8ths.in, but I’m totally subscribing to your blog.

    Success? Who’s to say?

    • #16 by Reiseng on April 15, 2012 - 7:48 pm

      Yes, that is a success in my book. Thank you!

  9. #17 by Jay on April 15, 2012 - 7:22 pm

    Voted!

  10. #19 by predederva on April 15, 2012 - 10:50 pm

    I voted for you!! GOOD LUCK

  11. #21 by NotSPIRAL (@AvuKamu) on April 16, 2012 - 12:49 am

    Sitewise, it’s a little too blank. There’s a difference between simplicity and under-developed. However, the articles were fun to read. It’s a time thing as well. Other than that, it should all work out in the end 😉

    • #22 by Reiseng on April 16, 2012 - 1:52 am

      Thanks for the feedback Spiral (or NotSpiral as you may prefer). I will do my best, and hopefully improve the time thing! As for the design, yeah, it is a bit plain. Maybe over the summer, I will move to dedicated hosting, and use custom themes and stuff. 😛

      I should probably get a custom header one of these days. 😛

  12. #23 by Ehx on April 16, 2012 - 5:27 am

    Well, I’m certainly convinced. You got my vote, good luck.

    • #24 by Reiseng on April 16, 2012 - 12:14 pm

      Yes, my convincing beam of convincing worked!

  13. #25 by raisuke16 on April 16, 2012 - 8:31 am

    just voted…and guess what? i voted for you…you deserve it anyway…good competition is ahead of you but i wish you win… good luck 🙂

    • #26 by Reiseng on April 16, 2012 - 12:15 pm

      Thanks mate, I appreciate it!

  14. #27 by feal87 on April 16, 2012 - 10:25 am

    You have my vote dear sir! 😀

  15. #29 by Cloudydays on April 17, 2012 - 12:40 am

    -scribbles on notepad and takes notes-
    Hmm…mhmmm.. MHMMMM……………mhm.
    You’re kinda funny! And hey look at that! Another solo aniblogger!? I can respect that. Plus you’ve been around for almost two years and haven’t died. I think that’s really awesome. Good job.

    • #30 by Reiseng on April 17, 2012 - 12:52 am

      Thank you! I intend on staying solo for as long as I can. 😛

  16. #31 by 8thSin on April 17, 2012 - 5:20 pm

    Continuing off comments from Aniblog, I don’t think you had an advantage by making this post and we were pretty much battling on even grounds, because I think some voters were just followers of fansub reviews instead of episodic reviews. I tried changing the layout of my front page so it doesn’t have fansub reviews as featured post for new visitors, but I guess that image is stuck in people’s minds.

    I definitely think you were the biggest competition for me in this tournament (let’s face it, the next competition is not even an anime blog, and the two guys below us are one LN blog and a crappy layout. psgels doesn’t even have any interesting content, and I think I have more resources than them for free votes. It’s just fighting for new traffic by that point). Although I’m not that interested in shounen, I read some of your other posts, and they were really good reads.

    I really like how you made this post. Linking to the posts you’re most confident with is a great idea, and I think I’ll try to put my best foot forward too if I make it to Group 1.

    I’m glad my blog was kind of kept up with your votes before that Whiners boost. Good luck with your future posts, and I’ll try to check out some of your new posts.

    • #32 by Reiseng on April 17, 2012 - 6:39 pm

      Thank you so very much for the comment! I wasn’t feeling down or anything, but you definitely made me feel good. I am glad my posts entertained you.

      I haven’t looked too closely at the other blogs, but you might end up facing Shameful Otaku Secret in round 3 and they have some well written posts. 😛

      Good Luck, I will be sure to drop by your site when I get the chance!

  17. #33 by suplado03 on April 17, 2012 - 10:15 pm

    How toxic is your muffin? Though I’ve voted for 8th sin, you’ve got another “new” subscriber in me 🙂

    • #34 by Reiseng on April 17, 2012 - 10:58 pm

      Toxic Enough, I hope!
      Thanks for subscribing! I will do my best to make it worth your time. 😛

  1. Aniblog Tourney analysis – Round 1, Matches 1-4 | Ambivalence , or is it ambiguity?
  2. Well, it was fun while it lasted! « Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

