Weekly Shonen: Bleach 497, Naruto 590

There was no One Piece this week. This is fortunate because now I do not have to blog about One Piece and therefore this post will be shorter, less time consuming and less draining. This is also unfortunate because One Piece is awesome and I do not get to know the answer to those cliffhangers until next week.

Bleach 497

I thought Soul Society was heaven. I guess even they have their own heaven.

A lot of manga are likely better reads in volume form, but Bleach is probably one series where reading it in volume form is the only way to go. I mean just look at this chapter. It wasn’t a bad chapter per say, but pretty much nothing happened. I believe that more so than the plot holes, the corny dialogue, the cyclical character development and general inconsistency, it’s the ‘we are going to pretend to go somewhere, but actually go nowhere’ nature of each chapter that grates people the most. Or well, that is what grates me anyway.

Anyway, despite that mini rant, this chapter was not that bad. I felt a smidge of sorrow for Hitsugaya and his loss, but not much because well, I did not care.  I smiled a bit at the reactions of Mayuri, Hisagi and the others to finding out about the lost bankai’s. The other captains messed up.

Still, I gotta admire Hitsugaya’s reaction. He just lost contact with his life long friend, but instead of moping in despair as you’d expect from a brat like him, he made his lieutenant relay a message. It takes a good deal of composure to do that and well, I can respect that.

So, Shunsui has engaged in battle now, eh. After the 4th captain (Unohana) Shunsui, Ukitake are the greatest teases in the gotei 13. Even in their full fledged fight against Stark, we didn’t really see them fight much or at least, we did not see their bankais. Given the current situation, I guess we won’t be seeing them this time either.

Oh well. I still wasn’t expecting Shunsui to get his eye blown off so soon though. Kubo is really trying to emphasize the strength of the enemy, but like the previous 100 or so times he has tried this, it isn’t really working that well.

The only enemies I really cared for were the captains back in the Shinigami arc and some of the Espada in the Arrancar arc. Now, it’s all meh.

Anyway, I am disappointed that I don’t have more interesting things to say about this chapter. Folk like Yerocha had a lot of interesting things to say, so, yeah, you should go read this post. After I read it, I was all, damn, why did I not THINK LIKE THIS! I AM SO SILLY.

I like this 3rd Seat, Moki guy.

Oh and I sort of like the 11th Squad 3rd seat fellow. Kubo has never really given him much attention, but he has always been there, dishing out orders and helping the captain out. He is a very admirable, invisible character.

Naruto 590

Solid.

This chapter was sweet.

Not sweet as in Itachi riding a skateboard sweet (if someone could photoshop this for me, I’d appreciate it), no sweet as in, awwwwwwww, that’s touching. He is going to kill his parents, and because they love him, they are ok with it.

No, seriously, I really liked this chapter. This was the best Naruto chapter in a while and while I cared little for the other skirmishes going on, the Itachi flashback and his final moments really nailed this chapter for me.

We learnt that Shisui did not voluntarily give his eye to Danzou, but rather, it was taken. Maybe if Shisui still had his eye, he could have done something. What an interesting thought that is. Had Danzou placed just a bit of trust in someone else, the Uchiha’s might not have died and by extension, Danzou himself might have still been alive.

We already knew that Danzou coerced Itachi into acting, but now, it has become even more clear that Itachi’s actions were not done just to prevent war, but also to protect Sasuke. In other words, Sasuke was the main reason for his actions and while the impending war was important, it took a back seat to Sasuke’s well being.

Itachi is a bit like Emiya Kiritsugu, isn’t he? Had Itachi not killed the Uchiha, they would have all died anyway and with them, a good deal of other people. So, Itachi just to just kill all the Uchiha except for his little brother. This wasn’t much of a reveal (heck it was obvious if you thought about it), but I did not mind the clarification.

Tobi bears a hatred towards the Uchiha, I wonder why….I mean, he most certainly is not Madara, but we still don’t know who he is or even how long he has been around. I mean, for all we know, he could just be a few years older than Itachi or even younger. What a mysterious, mysterious man. He did claim to have given the Rinnegan to Nagato, no idea how though or why for that matter.

The best and most interesting part of this chapter though had to have been the final conversation between Itachi and his parents.

Even though Itachi’s father was the leader of the Coup, even though he knew that his entire clan had been/was about to be killed, even though he knew he was going to be killed, he still loved Itachi and what’s more, he respected his son’s will to do what Itachi felt was necessary. It was a very noble way of thinking, and the lack of fear was most befitting of a great ninja. It was most excellent. I loved it.

I always loved Itachi. He has always been one of my all time favorite characters. At first, it was just because he was such a badass. His cool, cold demeanor won me over and refused to let go. Then I found out that he had done what he had done with the village and his brother in mind. We found out that he wasn’t evil, he just pretended to be because that was his job. For being mentally strong enough to pull of such a facade, Itachi earned even more of my respect. Now, we find out that deep down, Itachi is a really kind, gentle soul and even his father who argued with him frequently recognized that (this is actually a very interesting point. The two were often arguing, most likely because of the coup, but deep down, they still loved each other). So, despite being such a kind person, no, because he was such a kind person, Itachi chose a life of lies and torment for the well being of others.

Uchiha Itachi is one of my favorite characters of all time, and someday, I will write a very special post just about him.

In the meantime, all I can say is: Thank you Itachi. Thanks for inspiring me with your badassery when I was younger and thanks for being awesome when I was older. Thanks for everything.

Oh and while I know that Sasuke won’t change his mind and become a good guy, at the very least, I hope he will lose some of his emoness and become a bit more tolerant now. If he has not changed whatsoever since his encounter with dead Itachi, then Kishi has truly failed.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Yerocha on June 23, 2012 - 4:50 am

    Somehow I never thought of how Kyoraku was being handled during this fight. Sometimes his lazy nature can get the better of him, as his opponent clearly showed.

    Also, aww, thanks for the mention.

    • #2 by Reiseng on June 23, 2012 - 11:57 am

      You are most welcome!
      Yeah, that old geezer is really going to regret being so non-chalant someday. Well, I guess he sort of already does having lost his eye and all.
      Thanks for the comment. 😛

  2. #3 by foshizzel on June 23, 2012 - 12:04 pm

    Bleach- Holy crap people are going to start dying left and right! I was not expecting Kira to get blown apart like that in the previous chapter, but honestly I kind of like it…I mean up to this point no one really “dies” in the world of Bleach except maybe end boss characters! So yeah it really is refreshing to see the Shinigami side get kicked around by a powerful enemy.

    That said I loved the chapter but died laughing with the ending! The shins are getting their asses kicked so what do they do? CALL ICHIGO! Yeaahhh that is why Bleach fails because they have one OP character they can always fall back on! Ah well this is the final chapter and hey it keeps me entertained so it is accomplishing that mission anyway.

    I haven’t felt the urge to read Naruto! I tried but I think I have lost the desire to follow that series in manga form…have you tried Fairy Tail? I loveeeee that manga! Same for One Piece ❤

    • #4 by Reiseng on June 23, 2012 - 7:22 pm

      Yeah, it really is interesting that Kubo is killing people left, right and center. I guess he is really trying to show just how “serious” this new arc is, though the seriousness ends up making me chuckle anyway.

      Yeah, the Shinigami reliance on Ichigo really is funny. “We have a kajilion Shinigami here, many of them centuries old, but we are going to go call this one high school brat to come and save our asses”.

      I guess it is sort of understandable thought. Ichigo was the only person whose bankai is immune to theft (for whatever reason), but it is till funny.

      Don’t worry about Naruto. I enjoy it, but it is a good deal different than the Naruto of olden times. If you do wish to catch up (maybe you want to see how everything ends), then wait another month or so and then marathon your way through. It might be bearable…

      I like Fairy Tail and I normally do read it on a weekly basis (sometimes I don’t, but normally, I do!). It is quite funny at times and the current arc is quite interesting to. I don’t like how cheesy it can be at times, but for the most part, it is a solid, enjoyable manga.

      As for One Piece, yeah, I am an OP fanboy. ❤

      Thanks for the comment, Fo-bro. ❤

      • #5 by foshizzel on June 23, 2012 - 8:20 pm

        hahah no problem! Great stuff xD

  3. #6 by hoshiko on June 24, 2012 - 8:55 am

    This Naruto chapter is bittersweet for me. It’s great to finally learn to truth about the events that transpired that night but at the same time, it’s sad to have to know the kind of burden Itachi went through and the horrible choices he was forced to make.

    Many questions were answered within the chapter I suppose. Now I’m interested to know what will Sasuke do next. Do you think he still wants to attack Konoha?

    Also, I’m curious…have you read the current theory that is circulating around the net about who Tobi is?

    • #7 by Reiseng on June 24, 2012 - 1:33 pm

      Bittersweet, eh? That is an excellent word for describing this chapter!

      As much as I don’t want to acknowledge it, yeah, I think Sasuke still wants to attack Konoha. I beleive it was last chapter, when he said something along the lines of: “you want to protect Konoha, but I want to destroy it, that’s okay, because we are brothers”. I am paraphrasing, but I think that is what he said.

      So, yeah, I think Sasuke will try to get revenge on Konoha, but I am hopeful that he isn’t as angry as he was before. It is possible, that now, he just wants to get rid of the village leaders and leave the innocents unharmed.

      Regardless of everything though, I am pretty sure Sasuke and Naruto are going to end up fighting (there has been way too much of a buildup for them not to) and most likely it will be over Sasuke’s revenge.

      The current theory? I am not quite sure what the current theory is. A while back, people were suggesting Obito and others suggested Madara’s brother. I don’t think it is Obito, that kid was too nice and loving to have turned into such a hater.

      As for Madara’s brother, yeah, that seems more possible and it sort of gives him a reason for hating the Uchiha (he had his eyes taken and stuff).

      The Tobi = Madara’s brother theory also fits in because he was always overshadowed by his brother, so, it might make sense for him to refer to himself as a man with no identity.

      Those are the only theories I have heard of, but my internet browsing skills are not very good, so, yeah…

      Thanks for the comment, I appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

