12 Days of Anime #7: Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita

I am starting this post a bit late. Hopefully, I can get it done in time. Okay, I couldn’t get it done in time. I am so sorry.

[Commie] Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita - 05 [828BADF1].mkv_snapshot_00.58_[2012.08.04_01.35.31]

Jinrui wa Suitaishimashita is an interesting anime. Back when the trailor came out, people got super hyped for it because it looked really funny. Then the show aired. The first episode or two were well received. Then, like drunk philosophers who questions the meaning of life, people began to question the meaning of Jinrui.

What exactly was the damn thing trying to say? Was it social commentary on how humans suck and therefore we will all die? Was it about capitalism? Was it about the manga industry? Was it about imouto? Oops, wrong anime. Jinrui had no imoutos.

Anyway, while some contemplated the true meaning behind Jinrui’s wackiness, others just gave up and said the anime actually has nothing to say. Regardless of whether it actually said anything or not, Jinrui had some pretty memorable moments.

Unfortunately, I never did finish Jinrui. I watched 9 out of 12 episodes. It is not like the 9th episode was bad or anything, I just never watched the tenth…
Interestingly enough, maybe it is just me, but I don’t recall any comments on Twitter about the ending. This anime really lost its popularity at some point.

Anyway, let us go on with this post, shall we?

Most Memorable Moment

Suicide Bread

I am sorry.

I know everyone else who is making a 12 Day post on Jinrui is going to talk about this if they haven’t already talked about it. In fact, I only recalled this moment because I saw someone else’s post on it. But anyway, this was a very memorable scene and I suppose the fact that it got so much press around the blogosphere likely made it all the more memorable.

tumblr_mbuxxmNGFy1qjt3s8

(I just stole this gif from a random tumblr comment. I am sure there are multiple sources.)

This moment was what took something that appeared to be a wacky show and made it super wacky. It told us viewers that whatever expectations we had going in were far of the mark. It is a scene that was much talked about after that first episode and continues to be referred to on the internet.

It is a truly classic scene.

Other Memorable Moments

I hope differentiating between the bread and these other moments does not give anyone the notion that I feel the following are significantly inferior to the suicide bread. They aren’t much less memorable, but the above scene is most memorable simply because of its shock and staying power.

Yaoi Manga

Jinrui rotten

Episode 3 did not have the same shock factor as the previous two, but it was interesting because it was far more relatable for a large portion of the viewers.

It is hard to tell what episode 3 was talking about or if it was even talking about anything at all. Regardless of all that though, the episode made a big splash as everyone and their grandmother tried to make sense of it all.

I loved this episode because in my opinion it was downright hilarious. I think it parodied the manga/yaoi/doujin industry and yet at the same time, it suggested that even when humanity has declined, we’d still need or at least want our manga fix.

I have always been a big fan of many sub-culture groups like the Fujoshi circles. It is a lot of fun just observing them talk about gay things. I guess that is another reason why I liked this episode.

Pioneer and Voyager

Jinrui Space 3

I actually wanted to write a post on this because I was deeply moved.
I know that robots and machines can never have feelings. I know they are just inanimate objects, but that isn’t what got to me. No, what got to me was the idea of coming home.

There is just something about the “coming home” or “I am home” trope that really gets me.

Here, if you are interested, the following is what I had written in my draft post on this topic:

Up until this episode, I had two (maybe three) posts planned on Jinrui (all of them in my head of course).  After this episode, however, I immediately put them all on the backburner because this post was more important.

A quick clarification: Here on the interwebs, “Manly Tears” refers to misting of the eyes or a slight sniffle. Should I actually shed tears made of testosterone in the shape of Alex Louis Armstrong, I will refer to them as “True Manly Tears”.

So, why did I shed manly tears for the misfortune of two robots?

I believe that there are two different ways anime try to get emotional responses from us. The first approach involves building a character through development and then making them go through an emotional ordeal. By the point the emotional ordeal hits, we have theoretically developed a bond of with these characters, so, their suffering hits us. This was obviously not the case this episode.

I honestly did not care one bit for P-Girl or O-boy. They only had an episode or two episodes of character build up and on top of that, there was noting particularly exciting about these characters. No,

  • It made me feel this way because of being alone in space and the idea of having a warm home.
  • It was sad.

I never got to say it, but what I wanted to say in that post was that this scene did not make us sad by showing characters we like getting hurt. It made us sad by showing us a situation that we could somehow relate to.

We can all relate to the feeling of wanting a warm home and of wanting to go home when you are lost and wandering in ice cold isolation.

Jinrui Space

Just rewatching this scene made my eyes water.

While rewatching this scene, this line came up. It made my eyes water.

Ringo Kid

That's her grandfather kissing her cheek. Yup!

That’s her grandfather kissing her cheek. Yup!

I loved episode 8.
I may have implied this before, but I love a good bit of time travel, especially when someone from the future goes back to the past.

Watashi’s grandfather was a really funny, very promiscuous kid. And, the whole sun dial connection was really cool. I loved how the whole past and future came together.

The reunion in episode 9

At the end of episode 9, Watashi is dethroned. She then reunites with her grandfather and assistant. I thought that moment was incredibly sweet. In fact, I wrote an entire post on it!

Watashi

Jinrui 1 Jinrui 2 Jinrui 3

I am not going to lie, more so than just the wackiness of everything, I watched this show for Watashi.

Poor girl lost her hair for her espionage, but man was she a brave trooper or what?

Poor girl lost her hair for her espionage, but man was she a brave trooper or what?

In terms of character personality, few characters come anywhere close to Watashi. She was smart, intelligent, sarcastic, cautious and yet at times, still a good person. She really was one of the best characters introduced in 2012. I really, really liked her.

She also had the best faces.

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita - 09

Oh and this is rather shameful of me to admit, but I thought she was physically attractive to.

I think I creeped her out.

, ,

  1. #1 by Kai on December 21, 2012 - 3:05 am

    I think Jinrui somehow lost it’s popularity after Watashi past arc started. But overall, I think the wackiness of the show still live on, towards the end of the anime, after all, the shock values are still there even during the Watashi past arc.

    • #2 by Reiseng on December 21, 2012 - 7:40 am

      Yeah, I don’t remember people talking about the anime as much after Ringo-boy aired. But yeah, most likely the anime still stayed wacky/shocking afterwords…I just didn’t see it past episode 9 though.😦

Leave a Reply

