My top 10 anime of 2012

Top 10 Anime of 2012

I recently submitted my end of year APR ballot thing to Kevo. This is a blog post that attempts to justify my top 10 anime of 2012 picks.

Unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately), several hard hitters like JoJo and Girls und Panzer are not ending this year, so they are not included on this list. I just wanted to point that out before I am accused of bad taste for ignoring them.

10. Queen’s Blade Rebellion

This anime is most certainly not on this list as a joke or anything.
It is on this list because through the use of Skimpy Clothing and erotic poses, Queen’s Blade did a remarkable job in its social commentary on various things like fetishes, religion, good vs bad and the tensile strength of vibrating armor.

9. Kokoro Connect

I never did finish Kokoro Connect. It is not like it was bad per say, I just stopped watching (the drama was a bit high, I will admit that much). Then again, I only missed episode 13 and 14 (which hasn’t aired yet).
Having said that, Kokoro Connect wasn’t bad, especially not in the beginning. Well, other than that infamous episode 3, I guess. Episode 5 in particular was excellent. I loved the way the tension just built up and up and up before finally bursting in an extremely anti-climatic fashion.

Also, let us never forget:

kokoro 1

p.s. chibi Inaba is adorable.

8. Fate/Zero

I will use this screenshot every opportunity I get.

I will use this screenshot every opportunity I get.

One of the reasons why I put F/Z down this low was because as great as the anime was, it didn’t quite measure up to the first season. I also know that a lot of other people are going to place this much higher up, so I don’t feel bad for placing it this far down.

7. Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

I think I creeped her out.

I already said this in my 12 Days post, but I never finished Jinrui. Regardless of that though, I honestly do feel that this was a very, very good anime and it deserved most of the praise it got. It was wacky, crazy, funny, probably meaningful and featured Watashi, who probably wins the female lead of 2012 award.

6. Acchi Kocchi

Acchi Kocchi

Acchi Kocchi was cute, adorable and funny to. It was my “relaxing” anime of 2012. With every other series, I had to ponder if I really wanted to sit through some drama or serious plot development, but not Acchi Kocchi! I know that makes the anime sound dumb, and me dumber, but there is something special about an anime that accomplishes nothing but does so in a most entertaining fashion.

5. Tsuritama

Tsuritama

From its fabulous character animation to its great ensemble of characters, Tsuritama was a joy to watch. It had a few moments where it took itself too seriously and those were the worst moments. The show was best when it went with the waves and it did that often enough to earn a place on this list.

4. Binbougami-Ga

[gg]_Binbougami_ga!_-_02

This is probably the most controversial item on this list after Kokoro Connect. It is not controversial because of a social justice felony, but simply because many people did not actually find this show to be funny.

I don’t really know why people thought Binbougami-Ga was not funny, but they are all wrong. This show was hilarious. I will admit that a good portion of the drama just did not work as well (though there were quite a few touching moments), but the sheer audacity of the jokes and Momiji’s various costumes made it all worthwhile.

3. Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

How many of your moe centers did this hit?

How many of your moe centers did this hit?

So, here we are, 1 week from when it finished and I have declared Chu2Koi to be the third best anime in 2012.
That is to say this might only be on this list because of recency bias. I can’t be sure of that and I am too lazy to try and think about it too much.

Nonetheless, Chu2Koi was a great anime. The writers behind it knew about the moe centers located in the viewers bodies. They engineered fine-precision hnnnggg arrows to target said moe centers and scattered them throughout out the show (though they were in larger quantities during the first half).

And yet, I’d argue that Chu2Koi was a bit more than moe for the sake of moe.

If you stripped away all the moe, you’d only be left with a boy meets girl story and that is one that has been told since the beginning of human literature.

So, what was it that moved me in Chu2Koi?

It was the notion of Chuunibyou that hit home. I have always been of the opinion that adults are boring and that kids should never grow up (this is why I don’t drink coffee; only adults drink coffee). So, it was refreshing to see a show explore the ideas of childhood and how important it is to remain true to yourself even if society and everyone else scoffs at you for it.
Who cares about reality anyway? As long as you acknowledge that reality is a thing, you can just make your own!

(That previous statement sounds very dangerous and could make me look crazy. Oh well~)

2. Hyouka

Hyouka

I love Hyouka. It has become one of my all time favorite anime. Sure, Chitanda was annoying (at first anyway), but there was so much to like in Hyouka.

To start with, I really liked the “mystery” part of it. Sure, the mysteries did not involve dead people or ghosts, but that did not make them any less intriguing. They might have been simple and easy to figure out, but watching them unfold and uncovering all the details was a treat.

The other thing I really liked was watching the romance unfold? Well, romance is a subjective term in this case because not a single kiss or hug had been exchanged by the end of the anime, but you’d have to be blind to have not noticed the romantic tension. And what great romantic tension it was! Especially between Fukabe and Mayaka. It was adorable.

The characters themselves were also really great (well, I’d understand if you are iffy on Chitanda, but the other 3 at least were awesome) and watching them overcome their issues felt just right. Characters in anime often have the tendency to have serious issues accompanied with major angst that results in brain hemorrhaging in the viewers. That wasn’t the case in Hyouka. The characters had issues that most young people encounter and these issues were never seriously antagonized over or anything.

It was lovely.

1. Daily Lives of High School Boys

Nichibros Pony

To be perfectly honest, I wouldn’t mind putting Hyouka here. I think both anime are more than worthy of being the best this year. Having said that I can only pick one, so Nichibros it is.

I have already talked about Nichibros in extensive detail, so I will keep this brief.

This anime was funny. The satire presented did such a great job that while complete enjoyment required some know how about the “cute girls doing cute things” trend, the comedy could stand on its own.

On top of all that, the anime had heart, it felt like a lot of effort and a love had been put into making it. I might be a bit naive in saying this, but I think the staff involved had a blast.

I to had a blast and that is why this show is number one on this list.

Thanks for reading.

, ,

  1. #1 by draggle on December 22, 2012 - 8:43 pm

    You have excellent taste (setting one of these shows aside, Acchi Kocchi)

    • #2 by Reiseng on December 22, 2012 - 9:01 pm

      Well, 9/10 isn’t bad! :I will take it. 😛

  2. #3 by 寂しがりの悪魔 (@sabishiimiruku) on December 22, 2012 - 9:12 pm

    Dat taste ❤

  3. #5 by flawfinder on December 25, 2012 - 12:58 am

    *Sees Kokoro Connect picture*

    Agh! My eyes! The memories! They won’t leave me!

    • #6 by Reiseng on December 25, 2012 - 1:31 am

      Yeah, it is pretty much on there because I had nothing else I could use.

      If JoJo or Garupan had ended this year, they would have pushed it of. If I had watched Milky Holmes 2, Psycopass or Shinsekai Yuri, then those would have likely pushed it of as well.

      But yeah, there are some bitter memories that pop up when you think of Kokoro Connect.

      • #7 by Highway on December 25, 2012 - 11:20 am

        Well, by the same rules, Psycho-Pass and Shin Sekai Yori wouldn’t qualify like Girls und Panzer doesn’t.

  4. #8 by Highway on December 25, 2012 - 11:24 am

    It’s nice to see someone include Acchi Kocchi in one of these lists. An amazingly cute, fun, and heartwarming show from top to bottom, it always got a laugh from me, when it wasn’t making me go ‘awwwwwwww!’

    • #9 by Reiseng on December 25, 2012 - 12:16 pm

      Indeed! It was a great little show.

      Also, yeah, I didn’t realize Psycho-Pass/Shin Sekai Yori were not ending this year. Oops. 😛

  1. Ani-Blogger Choice Anime Awards: Top 12 Anime of 2012 « Toxic Muffin
  2. List of Lists in 2012 | Fnzna Side Dish

Leave a Reply

