Two op/ed sequences from this season that work well.

I don’t normally do music (op/ed sequence or otherwise) reviews because:

  1. I know jack squat about music.
  2. I know jack squat about music.

Having said that, I was touched by how well these two sequences worked and decided to make a post.

Oh and I am not sure if they are the best op/ed songs this season (they probably aren’t, though they are still very good), but I felt that they did a good job in representing their respective anime.

Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo’s Opening

The opening (or well ending in the case of the first episode) starts of with a quite sentence or two to hopefully alert you to its existence. It then proceeds to play a loud, pumping instrumental section that tells you to start paying attention.

This intro (slow->fast) to an intro is pretty commonplace and nothing that special by itself. It isn’t badly done or anything (especially because the singing is great), but what really caught my attention was the part that followed right after.

2nd best bishie of the season (after Hosaka of course)? Maybe.

The main cast float in the dark with parts of them illuminated by a square while melancholy lyrics on secrets, mirages and hidden truths soar overhead.

I love the way a word from the song just hovers over her eye.

I love the way a word from the song just hovers over her eye.

The somberness of the scene is accentuated by the almost complete lack of movement and perfected by the little pieces of movement that we do get.

It is a lovely composition.

The composition tells us that there is more to the characters than we might think given their energetic, bubbly personalities. It also tells us that this world, as fun as it might seem, is a bit more dangerous that we’d think and that there are tricks all over the place. Or so I’d like to believe anyway.

The melancholy doesn’t last long though for it is shattered by a girl with a fold-able fan.

Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo girl fan

And the lyrics switch to more hopeful lyrics on dreams, hopes and distorted dioramas.

Mondaiji-tachi diorama

Shortly after, the music speeds up, the on screen images move faster. A countdown comes up.

Then some villains and then

Giant Robots!

Giant Robots!

It is quite awesome.

By the end of the sequence you are pumped up and looking forward to some kickass action (in theory anyway).

It also gets us excited about other things…

This opening goes from sad to hopeful to triumph. It is a great opening and I really hope the anime ends up being good as well.

Tamako Market’s Ending

The Tamako ending is quite different from the Tamako opening or the show itself.

The show and the opening are quite upbeat and cheerful, the ending is somewhat of a contrast to this.

I wouldn’t call the ending song melancholy, but it is not cheerful either. I can’t quite find the right word to describe it, but it feels like it is somewhere in between , but with a slight bias for the sunnier side.

Tamako Record

The song is a recording (hence the RECORD IMAGERY) of life with its ups and downs.  It is about how life goes on and on and you flow along with it.

The video works really well with the song. Unlike Mondaiji’s opening, it is a smooth video and it isn’t just a collection of almost static images. The video showcases Tamako walking through her life and that’s pretty much all it shows.

It shows Tamako walking and glimpses of her daily life. Her walk isn’t exciting or full of suspense, action or anything of the sort. It is just another walk through life. This elicits a feeling of peace, serenity and nostalgia which combine to give an overall sense of belonging. This works very well with the anime.

Tamako Flowers

Tamako has a good cast, a funny bird, some great animation but it is the elicited feelings of belonging to something that are most memorable and the ending sequence only amplifies those feelings.

Every time you finish an episode, you are left with a warm fuzzy feeling and then the ending hits. The fuzzy feeling then takes you over and you truly feel at peace.

It really is a great ending song.

Tamako is so very pretty.

Tamako is so very pretty.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on January 21, 2013 - 6:56 pm

    I’m pretty sure that the Mondai-ji OP is putting all of the lyrics for the song on screen, that’s what it seemed to me. I’ve watched the two episodes of it so far on Crunchyroll, which makes it hard to skip the OP song, so I’ve actually watched through it without being totally turned off.🙂

    Other people have mentioned the Tamako Market ED song as well. I’m just not really able to get into that one as much as the Tamako OP song. I think it’s a lot of fun, and like seeing the part with Tamako and everyone marching.

    The only other OP or ED that I’m really fond of for this season so far is the Kotoura-san OP, because I’m a complete sucker for lip sync’d singing, and having Haruka sing about her secret is fun. I’m coming to like the song Prime Numbers from Sakurasou (second ED), but really don’t like the animation, which completely distracts from the song (it’s people swaying back and forth, and it’s not even in time to the music, lame).

    • #2 by Reiseng on January 21, 2013 - 9:16 pm

      Yeah, the on screen images are pretty much a direct translation of the lyrics. They match quite well. I am glad you weren’t turned off by it.😛

      I think Tamako has a nice opening. I personally don’t like it as much as the ending, but I I can see why you’d think it is fun. The characters are just marching around being goofs, it is fun to see.

      Kotoura-san has an excellent opening. It is catchy and the visuals are very so very cute. Kotoura is adorable in the op. The lip syncing is also a nice touch.

      I just watched the Sakurasou ending. I’d probably have to watch it a few more times to like it, but it seems pretty nice..

      Have you seen the OreShura opening? As Naz below me pointed out, it is also pretty good and it to features lip-syncing.🙂

      • #3 by Highway on January 21, 2013 - 9:35 pm

        Actually, the Japanese is not a translation, it’s the actual lyrics, as far as my limited Japanese can tell. Every word sung is put up on the screen.

    • #4 by Reiseng on January 21, 2013 - 9:54 pm

      Hoh, I didn’t realize the lyrics were being imprinted on screen. That is most interesting. Thanks for pointing that out.

  2. #5 by nazarielle on January 21, 2013 - 7:44 pm

    The Tamako Market ED is really beautiful. Even just the song is rather lovely. I’m impressed with Suzaki Aya. What I really like about the ED is the timing of the animation with individual notes of the song. That seems like it’d be a pretty hard thing to do. For example, Tamako leans back and then tilts her head to the side near the beginning of the song, right along with the two notes. It’s little things like that that I really enjoy.

    A similar thing is done in the Mondaiji OP and the OreShura OP. In both, they have the characters lip syncing along to the song, which I really like. It seems like a simple thing, but I really like when they do that with an OP/ED song.

    • #6 by Reiseng on January 21, 2013 - 9:29 pm

      The Tamako ED really is incredibly well animated. I am not really sure but I think even Tamako’s rocking back and forth in that scene of Tamako walking through the flowers might be done in time with the beat of the song.

      I just went and looked at the lean back you mentioned. I can’t believe I never noticed that touch. It is incredible. The music notes are so very well timed.

      I agree on the lip syncing bit. In the Mondaiji opening, the sync done at the characters floating in darkness scene is great.

      The OreShura OP is excellent. It is lovely.

      I am totally guessing here, but I think lip syncing is likely not an easy thing to do, especially if they want to make it believable. It is a really nice touch though.

      • #7 by nazarielle on January 22, 2013 - 8:32 pm

        Haha, probably the only reason I noticed was because I sat and watched it like 20 times on repeat just to listen to the song.

        Yeah, I have to imagine it’s pretty tough to do the lip syncing, but it sure is cool.

        I’m not a big fan of the OreShura OP overall, but I did like the lip syncing and the song also has all four main girls singing and on screen to when they’re singing (mostly). It’s also really catchy; I’ve had it get stuck in my head a couple times while working.

    • #8 by Highway on January 21, 2013 - 9:44 pm

      The OreShura song I don’t like as much, and the same with the ED, because I’m honestly not a fan of Tamura Yukari’s voice. It was tolerable in the two songs from B Gata H Kei, because those were kind of throwback style (and to be fair, Girlish Lover is also).

  3. #9 by Highway on January 24, 2013 - 2:34 am

    I finally listened through the Tamako Market ED, and liked it a lot more. Maybe it had a lot to do with the mood of episode three, which was a lot more quiet and reflective. It does have a very expressive style to it, and it’s not something I’d always want to listen to, but it is a very nice song.

    • #10 by Reiseng on January 25, 2013 - 11:32 pm

      Oh, I am glad to hear you liked it!

      I totally agree with you in that the song fits nicely with episode 3. I am looking forward to more expressive episodes from Tamako.

  1. 12 Days of Anime #8: A slightly greater appreciation of music | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

