Okay, so maybe Pink isn’t that bad after all.

I hate it when I am wrong.

I hate it when I am wrong.

This post is also just mostly an excuse for OreShura picture spam.

Up until recently, I did not like Ai Fuyuumi (otherwise known as Pink because of her distinct hair color).

Even though, the OreShura cast isn’t all that special, I always figured Ai to be the most stereotypical amongst them and more importantly, she annoyed me quite a bit.

I did not like how:

  • She kept denying her feelings. (Okay, so the other girls also do this, but still…)
  • She kept lying about a fake boyfriend.
  • She worried endlessly over Chiwa and childhood friends (this lead to annoying drama e.g. the Cinema scene in ep.8 ).

I still don’t really like how how Ai continues to worry about Chiwa or a few other things she does, but I have come to like her much more since I watched episode 9 a few nights ago.

In episode 9, Ai was:

  1. Adorable
  2. Determined
  3. Obsessive
  4. Funny

OreShura - 09 Ai is so Cute

A. Adorable

hngggg...this ship meets my standards.

hngggg…this ship meets my standards.

I am actually quite fond of the character designs in OreShura. The characters (well, the girls anyway) stand out and look vibrant/colorful. I don’t get them mixed up and I don’t lose track of them either.

Having said that, I felt that Ai was especially adorable in episode 9. I am not totally sure why, but I think it was the combination of succumbing to her feelings in Eita’s lap, her yakata and the general childish nature of her love.

OreShura -09 Wuv

Damn, that childishness is quite adorable.

B. Determined

OreShura - 09 Determined

I don’t like it when characters constantly cock-block other characters or do their best to sink ships. I know love is meant to be a war (in fiction anyway), but I prefer it when they duke it out fair and square.

Now, Ai has is guilty of cock-blocking as well, but I thought her approach to love in episode 9 was lovely.

She didn’t hold back. Even though Eita remembered none of their past and even though Eita (supposedly) had no interest in her, she went all out and did her absolute best to try and win his affections.

I really liked how despite trying so hard to hide her feelings a few episodes ago, Ai summed up her courage and confessed. It was a most excellent confession. Even more so because when Eita confronted her about her ‘boyfriend’, she didn’t get embarrassed, but nonchalantly admitted the truth and then proceeded to lecture Eita on how all girls lie.

OreShura - 09 Lies

By this point, she had pretty much dropped aside all concern for what Eita felt and was only concerned with getting her feelings across.

From her well chosen elaborate dress to her incredibly nonchalant confession, Ai’s performance in episode 9 was a great show of determination and will. And I loved all of it.

C. Obsessive

OreShura - 09 Obsessive

Good Heavens, Ai is absolutely obsessed with Eita. She hugs him, stalks him, constantly confesses her feelings, forcefully hugs him some more and insists on marrying him.

She doesn’t really come across as creepy because he knews of her antics and more importantly, it is not creepy at all when a cute 2-D girl is obsessive. Absolutely not.

Note: Do not try this at home. You will be rejected, hated and possibly land in jail.

D. Funny

I didn’t find Ai funny at first, but her obsession, childish nature and everything else made her antics quite funny in episodes 9 and 10.

This image is quite suggestive....

This image is quite suggestive….

E. All in All

Ara Ara~

Ara Ara~

I have come to like Ai quite a bit. She is adorable, quite funny and the ship between her and MC-tan feels nice and fuzzy (as all good ships do).

E. Rankingu

So, now that I have proclaimed my adoration for Pink, where does she stand in the grand scheme of things?

I honestly don’t know.

My fondness of the OreShura girls tends to vary episode to episode. I used to think it was Silver>Black>Pink>Orange, but at this instant, it is probably more like Pink>Silver>Black>Orange, with the first three being almost equal.

Everyone likes firm peaches.

Everyone likes firm peaches.

How could anyone hate Silver in a Yukata! Also, these two are very cute together at times.

How could anyone hate Silver in a Yukata?! Also, these two are very cute together at times.

I guess the one constant thing is that I don’t like Chiwa. I will admit though that she has had some heartwarming moments and she isn’t always thaaat bad, but out of the 4, I definitely like her the least. (Especially because she is always trying to cock-block and I don’t like that.)

Sorry, Chiwa will never be good enough to earn Sena's title.

Sorry, Chiwa will never be good enough to earn Sena’s title.

So, there you have it, I was wrong about Pink and this is likely not the last time my rankingu was off (though I have a pretty legit excuse in that Pink sucked before ep.9 ).

Thanks for reading, I hope you have a good day.

The JoJo pose made this a mandatory inclusion.

The JoJo pose made this a mandatory inclusion.

Oh and since I started this post in the worst possible way (with a tweet), I shall end it in the worst possible way to.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Marow on March 16, 2013 - 1:52 pm

    Took you long enough to realize that Pink is the best!

    Now, you just need to stop putting Orange last. That should be Black. She’s horribly annoying.

    Pink>>>Orange>>>>Silver>>>>>>>>>Black.

    The problem with Orange is that after the first light novel (end of ep 4?) she has been reduced to a generic cockblocking childhood friend. If only she had confessed earlier…

    But she’s still better than Silver, who’s just evil.

    • #2 by Reiseng on March 16, 2013 - 3:07 pm

      pffft, Chiwa will always suck. I actually don’t find black annoying at all. Her past life antics are kind of funny and she almost tries to cockblock.

      As for Silver, yeah, she is evil, but deep down, she is just insecure! I actually wanted OreShura to be a show with only Silver and Eita .

    • #3 by Seinime on March 19, 2013 - 7:49 pm

      Ohhhhhhh the sadly osananajimi-zoned.

      • #4 by Reiseng on March 19, 2013 - 8:00 pm

        Oh hi there Seinime! It has been a while since I last talked to you.😛

        And yes, both Chiwa and Ai are Osananajimi-zoned.😛

  2. #5 by Highway on March 16, 2013 - 9:33 pm

    I still don’t like Ai very much. I think that there’s too much of a gulf between her tsun and dere that instead of working together to present her as an interesting girl it makes her seem like a weird whipsawing psycho. And her ‘victory condition’ is roping Eita into a “whatever you say” marriage promise when he was 5?

    The only girl I like in the show is Masuzu. And Masuzu’s much better the more she drops her ‘fake relationship’ act and focuses on the idea that she’s wanted to be Eita’s real girlfriend all along. But knowing how much he was against love and relationships, she had to go the ‘fake’ route.

    • #6 by Reiseng on March 16, 2013 - 11:57 pm

      More so than the victory condition itself, it is her desire to see that condition to come true that I like so much.😛

      But yeah, Masuzu is great. I love scenes like the Yukata kiss in this episode where she actually stops pretending. I also really liked it when she kissed him under the guise of doing it as a JoJo reference.

      I really hope that by the end, she can convince him to go out with her for real.

  1. 12 Great moments in 2013 | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

