Quick Impression: Dog and Scissors

Dog_And_Scissor_15

Yalo, so apparently, the new anime season is underway and stuff.

One of the many new anime airing this time around is Dog and Scissors. This anime is about a human who gets turned into a dog and is then abused mercilessly by his owner who also happens to be his favorite novel author.

It is an exciting twist on the S&M formula!

Bad Things

Anime often have bad things. If they didn’t, we wouldn’t blog about them. This anime to has bad things. In fact, most would say that there are more bad things than good things.

Lame Running Gags

1) You have small breasts

Dog and Scissors employs the tried and true “man, your boobs are small” gag. This gag has been done so many times and by pretty much every different anime, that it has really gotten rather annoying at this point.

I wonder if during production, ‘funny’ anime have a “minimum gags per scene” kind of requirement. You know “Oh, crap, we forgot to write a gag here! QUICK, SOMEONE MAKE FUN OF HER FLAT CHEST” kind of thing.

(In all honesty, I do wonder where this gag came from anyway. If a guy made a joke like that in real life, then god help him because no one else will.)

Having said that, some of the punch lines were pretty decent (I especially liked the “well, you aren’t terribly 3-D either” one).

The Face makes it.

The Face makes it.

 2) Dog and Scissors

You know your show is going to have a problem when the gag that is derived from the title is lackluster.

Leaving aside any comments on animal cruelty, the “I will take scissors to your face” joke is just not funny.

Dog_And_Scissor_42

Not terribly Exciting

Simply put, this episode was a snoozefest for most folk. I was okay with it, but I have shit-tier taste so yeah.

Good-ish Things

Muscles make everything better.

Muscles make everything better.

Nice Facial Expressions

The dog has great facial expressions.

Dog_And_Scissor_20

Nice Concept

It is not everyday you hear of a boy who got killed, turned into a dog and now has to live with his favorite author. I like the concept. It is not terribly well execute, mind you, but at least this anime has a somewhat original concept.

There is also a nice little bit of mystery to our author. She seems to have some pretty shady connections.

Possibly encourages Literacy

Dog_And_Scissor_44

I haven’t read much these past couple of years, but I love books. I think reading is one of the best things you can do. I know this anime actually won’t encourage literacy, but it is refreshing to see an MC who has a legitimate hobby and isn’t just plain or even worse an otaku for character insertion reasons.

Animation

I don’t know how to judge animation, but as far as I can tell, there is nothing special here. This is just standard slice of life fare animation but with a few cool dog movements (wagging tail, etc…)

Character Designs

Dog_And_Scissor_27

I need to give the show credit for three things when it comes to character design:

  1. The dog is cute.
  2. The lady has an attractive face and I’d like to be stepped upon and whipped by her have a conversation with her.
  3. There is a guy with an Afro. Take note Animation studios. Including an afro-guy will automatically grant you major character design points.

Opening/Ending

Dog_And_Scissor_70

The opening has a pretty average song but some decent visuals.

The ending has a good song and some good visuals to.

Final Thoughts

I am not sure if I am going to keep watching this. I guess it sort of depends on how bored I am and how boring other anime are. I don’t really think it is that though. I will probably give it another episode or two.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on July 4, 2013 - 2:21 am

    I actually liked Inu to Hasami quite a bit. Of course, a lot of that was the Inoue Marina factor. I love characters she voices like that (no, that can’t have had anything to do with my constant defense of Yozora…). But I thought the show was ok, although something about the OP made me not want to look at it, I don’t know what it was. And it took all of 10 seconds to figure out what the main tension driver of the show is going to be (although I won’t spoil it).

    • #2 by Reiseng on July 4, 2013 - 9:24 pm

      I’d guess it would be the 5 girls in the opening fighting over over dog-kun.😛

      But yeah, I thought it was all right. In general, it got a pretty negative reaction.

      • #3 by Highway on July 6, 2013 - 12:10 pm

        Nah, that’s not what I was thinking of, I was thinking more between Kazuhito and Kirihime. I really dunno how they’re going to make a harem situation out of a puppy.

        I was pretty surprised at the negative reactions to it. Maybe because it was about the first show of the season? I can’t explain it at all, because it didn’t seem like a show that had *any* hype, and it honestly wasn’t nearly bad enough to earn that much hating.

      • #4 by Reiseng on July 7, 2013 - 1:57 am

        I think for some reason most folk found it uninteresting and just plain boring.

        Maybe there were too many clichés or the pace was too slow? Not totally sure myself.

  1. Thoughts on some Summer 13 Anime | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

