Thoughts on some Summer 13 Anime

Hello,

Sorry about the lack of any good (or even reasonable) posts lately. Like any blogger worth his salt, I blame it all on a lack of time/time management, lack of motivation and just all around laziness.

I was going to make posts on several of the currently airing anime, and I might still do that, but for the time being, some thoughts on some Summer anime will have to do.

Free Ending Water

Note: The following are in order of increased fondness, but it is a very loose order.I saw loosely because I didn’t really want to think about it too hard but also because the shows this season are really, really good, so it is hard to decide on any one concrete ranking.

Also, I actually haven’t seen everything there is to see this season (e.g. Neptunia and Fate Illya) , so omissions don’t necessarily mean that something sucks.

Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou

Dog_And_Scissor_20

I think I somehow watched like 2 episodes of this. It is not that bad, but I just got busy with other, possibly better anime!

See, my Quick Impressions Post if you haven’t already.

Servant x Service

Servant x Service

I watched one episode of SxS and I actually kind of liked it. I thought the portrayal of government workers was pretty great and there was some nice humor in there to. Unfortunately, one episode was all I watched. I guess it just didn’t grab my attention?

I might go back and watch some more if I feel like it, but I think there are other anime that I’d probably prioritize.

Kiniro Mosaic

Kiniro Mosaic Waifu

I probably came pretty close to throwing my headphones at the wall during the first half of the first episode. Good Heavens, that ENGRISH. I can’t believe some folk find the butchered English to actually resemble something vaguely ‘cute’.

With that said, the second half of episode 1 when they are actually teenagers and stuff is much better. Similarly, the second episode was quite cute and likable. My ears still squirmed whenever an English word was uttered, but other than that, it was quite good.

I kind of forgot to keep watching Kiniro Mosaic though. I will probably catch up and watch the newer episodes when I get the chance.

Makai Ouji – Devils and Realist

Devil and Realist

Believe it or not, I am actually up to date on this one. Shocking, I know.

This is my “I have nothing better to do or I don’t feel like turning on my brain” show. Yeah, I should probably use KinMosaic for that purpose, but whatever.

My biggest problem with D&R is the “REALIST” and well, given the phrase’s inclusion in the title, that is quite a large problem.

I mean, how can you call yourself a realist when you reject something that is right in front. Like, seriously, kid. If you were a true scientist, you wouldn’t deny the existence of magic or demons, instead you’d begin to study it!

If demons showed up in front of me, I’d likely be elated (unless you know, they actually caused me or people I know, significant harm).

The whole realist thing is really just a gimmick to make this MC stand out, but a standout MC isn’t always an entertaining MC.

With that said, I do like a good amount of stuff in this show.

The whole Solomon background is fascinating and I want to learn more. In addition, some of the demon world politics are pretty fascinating to. Basically, I like the world this show is set in and some of the truths behind some of characters are fascinating and mysterious.

Unlike our pinball MC, I want to learn more about this world.

Oh and this show is definitely Fujoshi-bait, but that is not a bad thing at all. I actually enjoy the incredibly obvious — not subtle at all– BL undertones. They make me laugh.  I am particularly fond of any scene that has Solomon gently embracing a demon.

Devil and Realist Solomon Embrace

Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu

Love the shades.

Love the shades.

This is a weird one.

C3-Bu is an example of a “cute 2D girls doing things you wouldn’t expect cute 2D girls to do” anime.

In recent times, this modification to the tried and true cute girls formula has yielded mixed results. We got iffy (some folk liked, many didn’t) series like Upotte , but we also got critically acclaimed series like Girls und Panzer.

From what I hear, C3-Bu is relatively well liked, so it falls under the less iffy category, though in my opinion its entry in the less iffy category is somewhat iffy. That is to say, that while I enjoy C3-Bu a good amount, it doesn’t hold a candle to Garupan. Then again, that is sort of expected since Garupan is so very good.

I like how airsoft isn’t just an accessory in C3-Bu. There is some emphasis on the sport itself. I also like most of the cast especially Rento.

C3-Bu Rento

I also like the new fantasy element they threw in. The show would likely get boring if it was all airsoft all the time. Heck, I enjoy Yura’s delusions. They make the airsoft a bit more real and more fun.

Unfortunately, even though I am happy they put some emphasis on the sport and not just the participants, I don’t really care for airsoft or guns in general.

I am not a big fan of Yura. While I am being nitpicky, I will also mention that I don’t like her new haircut.

My biggest grip though is with the tone of the show.

C3-Bu is can be way too upbeat (or happy/cheesy) at times. There is only so many times you can hear “JUST PLAY TO HAVE FUN” before you get rather annoyed. And yet, the show gets way too serious at other times. This combination of two opposite tones doesn’t mesh into a nice neutral thing, but rather fuses into something not terribly fun.

All in all, I think this is a pretty damn good show. I will probably try to keep watching it, but it does occasionally irk me so I might end up putting it in my “I will finish this someday” list.

Note:

From this point on, you can probably consider everything as being sort of equal. Heck, even C3-Bu could be part of the following segment. Yeah, a lot of nice anime this season.

Gifuu Doudou!! Kanetsugu to Keiji

Hmm. I am in a dilemma.

How do I proclaim my love for this show while being understanding of those that don’t like it.

Hmm…

Gifuu Doudou!! Kanetsugu to Keiji

I can understand why a good number of people find this show boring, but in my, mostly correct opinion, these people are wrong.

Did, I do that right?

So, what is there to exactly like about this show?

Well, you have a budding bromance between two manly samurais who talk about righteousness while pulverizing their enemies. You also have beautiful visuals, a lovely soundtrack (the opening is great, the ending is incredible) and a sense of calm or ease that you can’t find in most anime.

There is something very special about Gifuu Doudou! it is ridiculous and over the top (more like JoJo and less like Valvrave). I can’t help but like how overdone and yet totally reasonable everything is.

Samurai with animal shaped auras? ✔

Nationwide politics with obviously evil villains? ✔

Badass budhist nuns who fight a war and then open a red light district? ✔

Righteousness is beauty? ✔

Some hints of some supernatural,  retainer thing? ✔

Understanding the righteousness of a bro without verbal communication? ✔

Admiration of righteousness in everything else? ✔

Do they define what they mean by righteousness?

Do I care?

This show makes me giddy and I am constantly clapping my hands while watching it. I love it.

What is not to like about bros under a sakura tree?

What is not to like about bros under a sakura tree?

(But don’t worry, I can see how my version of calm is the same as slow/boring for others, so it is definitely not going to be liked by everyone.)

Sunday Without God

Dawww

Dawww

A while back, I read a bit of the Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi manga. I liked it, but stopped reading it for some reason. I didn’t even realize that the manga got an adaptation.

I think I probably only covered at most the material in the first 2 or so episodes.

I am glad I read at least that much. My premature understanding was enough to avoid any confusion caused by the first and second episodes.

That lack of confusion was enough to thoroughly enjoy this show.

Episode 3 in particular was phenomenal. The episode was sailing along, pulling me into that universe when that twist happened.

I did not see that coming. I was under the false delusion that the entire series would be about Ai and Hambart.

Maybe it was because it was unexpected or perhaps it was just naturally sad (great music), but episode 3’s ending left me feeling sad. It was the good kind of sad mind you, but sad nonetheless.

The opening visuals made quite a bit more sense after seeing that scene (I was all, why are there so many characters? Why is Hambart hardly featured…)

I really like the setting. Unfortunately, the show does have a habit of shoving its grim reality down our throats, but that is a minor nitpick at best.

It would be nice if I woke up to this on Sunday...

It would be nice if I woke up to this on Sunday…

Free!

Free! Gou

Great characters, an incredible ending song, sexy swimmer bodies and of course Kou’s admiration of said swimmer bodies.

What’s not to like?😛

p.s. Ama-chan sensei is also great.

Free! Ama-Chan sensei

Love Lab

love lab klutz

I have seen some interesting reactions to this show. Most folk love Love Lab very much. Some folk are offended or think they will be offended.

What do I think? Well, it is pretty high up on this list so that should be quite obvious.

I think Love Lab is hilarious. It never fails to crack me up and lighten my day. I like the entire cast, but out of the 5 girls, Riko is my favorite. She is awesome sauce.

I do hope that the inevitable drama (Riko’s lack of relationships) doesn’t stick around for too long. This show is at its best when the girls are just goofing off and researching. I do not want to see broken bonds of friendship or yelling or anything serious in here.

The gifs made from the excellent reactions found in this show have been really funny to.

love_lab_gif love_lab_gif2love_lab_gif3(1, 2, 3)

Also, lingerie.

Danganronpa the Animation

Danganronpa the Animation

Disclaimer: This might only be here because even though I had the 1st episode downloaded for quite sometime, I only recently got around to watching it. After watching it, I promptly marathoned the rest of the show.

From the quirky visuals to the super sadistic headmaster, this show is good. Really good.

The mysteries are well presented and nicely put together. I really want to see more.

Please don’t die purple because I ship you two~

Watamote

Great dad, this guy is.

This guy is a great dad.

Watamote (No Matter How I Look at It, It’s You Guys’ Fault I’m Not Popular!) is so hard to watch. I always end up pausing my screen and doing something else.

It is just so damn depressing and cringe inducing. I never thought I’d feel as sorry for a character as I do for Tomoko. Poor girl, she is much more likable than she thinks she is.

The worst part about it all is that I can relate to her. Heck, not just me, but pretty much everyone sees a bit of themselves in Tomoko.

Poor Tomoko, I really want to hug her.

As an aside, both the opening and ending of this show are great and in my opinion, underrated. The opening visuals in particular are haunting.

Watamote

Side Note: I tried out a bit of the manga months back. I liked it but stopped probably because it got a bit depressing/overwhelming and it was kind of hard to digest. The anime is much easier to digest because the visual presentation is so good.

Eccentric Family

Uchouten Kazoku family

Eccentric Family (or Uchouten Kazoku) is lovely.

At first, I got the impression that this was going to be one of those scholarly anime (something cold that exists solely to give the impression of intelligence). It kind of still is like that, but episode 2 and beyond showcased just how much heart and love this series has.

The three brothers spent pretty much the entirety of episode 2 trying to help out their mother. I thought their panic and obvious love was very sweet and it was only augmented by Yasaburō’s closing monologue.

I do have two problems with this show, or rather there are two characters I don’t like.

1. The Old Tengu

I don’t like the old man. I get what the show is going for with the tsun old man who will never admit to being wrong. He is past his glory days, but his pride stops him from admitting it.

I still don’t like him. I don’t like how he fawns over Benten. I don’t like how he is so selfish (even if it is just a facade) towards people who are trying to help him.

2. Benten

Uchouten Kazoku Stew

I can occasionally feel sympathy for the old man, but I absolutely despise Benten.

I mean, she hangs out with and eats dinner with folk who capture intelligent, sentient, human like beings (Tanuki) and EAT THEM IN A STEW. Like, seriously!

THERE IS NO MORAL AMBIGUITY HERE. BENTEN IS PURE EVIL.

Benten is a whimsical human who truly does whatever brings her joy (pulling on an innocent whale’s tail). It is this whimsical nature of hers that makes her truly horrifying and a thing of nightmares.

You’d think I’d like a character like her, but NOPE. She scares me!

In all honesty, I do think Eccentric Family is best when we get to see the Tanuki family be you know…. a Tanuki family. I want to see the 4 (or 5 if you include froggy) do things like celebrate and have feudal wars with other Tanukis.

I don’t need no Benten eating them! This is especially concerning to me because episode 2 sort of raised some death flags for the mother. If Benten ends up eating the incredibly awesome mom (or any of the other Tanuki), THEN I WILL BE VERY, VERY, VERY ANGRY.

july_13_658 july_13_659Damn, that monologue hit me hard. It was so good.

Gatchaman Crowds

Gatchaman Crowds Messy

I don’t think I can rationally pick a favorite show this season, but if I had absolutely no choice in the matter and no time to time to think, then I’d probably pick this show.

I love it.

I love the visual design, the great cast and the underlying plot is mysterious! I want to learn more about the Mess, the Gatchaman and the mysterious Rui with his GALAX. There appear to be three factions involved here and depending on what the three do, regular humans either suffer or benefit.

To add to that little bit of conflict, we have themes of social responsibility and social media usage running throughout the show as well.

Gatchaman Crowds! Updated

There is just so much stuff in the setting that that alone makes this lovely, but to add to that, I love Hajime’s personality.

She is bubbly, but not overly naive. Her ‘Genkiness’ is at that perfect level where it is more endearing than it is annoying. To top it off, I am a big fan of her moral “everyone probably has a reason for doing bad things” compass. It reminds me far too much of my own philosophy though admittedly I am far more human than her and thus can’t pull it of nearly as well.

I hope this show remains good. I can see it becoming too convoluted/complicated and I can see Hajime’s charm wearing off. Hopefully that won’t happen.

Kyaaa, so cute.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on August 1, 2013 - 1:58 am

    The only major disagreement I have with your list is that I do not like Danganronpa. Not at all. I watched through the first trial, and decided I’m not interested in Sadist Bear’s personal snuff film fantasy. So that’s dropped.

    I love C3-bu (check out this awesome avatar that’s from exactly the scene you screenshotted). I’m interested in where they go with the delusional stuff, but hope they can also do more battles like in the first episode. That was just tremendous, I watched it like 12 times, half of them just to listen to the music. I like the positive nature of the show a lot, and hope it keeps like it is.

    Gatchaman Crowds is good also, for the exact reason you say: Hajime. She can be Mary Sue all day long, and pulls it off perfectly. Sticking it to the middle-management-panda, marching over to JJ, bein’ all scissory, it’s all good.

    Uchouten Kazoku is like being invited to dinner, or hanging out with some super interesting people, and getting to listen to their conversation. I like how they’re retelling the same stories, adding new people’s perspectives, adding more detail. And that family is just so tight. lvlln mentioned (and I agree) that the image of them all holding each other up on the flying parlor, with Yasaburou giving the Ebisugawas the red eye is about the perfect image of them. I don’t have the same reaction to Benten you do, I think there’s a lot more depth there, and I don’t think that Souichirou’s death is as straight forward as “caught / tricked into becoming dinner”.

    WataMote is one where it could be so wrong, but they walk the right line in having everyone treat Tomoko well, just not always in a way that she can appreciate it. The show is almost painfully self-aware (and *is* painful for quite a few people, apparently).

    I’ll put in a plug for one you don’t mention: High School DxD New. Yeah, it’s boobs. A lot of boobs. But it’s also character development, good action, and a pretty good plot. Issei has really made a lot of progress, and they do well to show it in the series. Oh, and random panty shots, which I could actually do without sometimes, but you gotta take the bad with the good.

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 1, 2013 - 11:38 am

      I am not too much of a fan of the sadism in Danganronpa either. I don’t mind it per say and do occasionally find it amusing, but I mostly like the show for the mystery.

      Then again, it might just be because I have been starved of mystery stories for quite some time, so my brain thinks it is better than it actually is.

      Yeah, I noticed your avatar change, though I failed to realize it was from the oddball scene. She is indeed the best character.

      That’s a very nice take on Uchouten Kazoku. You are right. It really does feel like you are just hearing a tale shown from many perspectives and that is one reason why it is so good.

      As for High School DxD, I have seen a good number of recommendations for that. I will have to watch the previous season first though, but it is on my list!

      • #3 by Highway on August 1, 2013 - 11:53 am

        Yeah, you should definitely watch the first series of DxD before this one. This one spent NO time at all to reintroduce anything, just continued with the next story as if it was a split season or something. But the good part is that it just continues from a good setup.

        I thought the ‘mystery’ in Danganronpa was pretty lame, and maybe it was better in the VN / game, but they blaze through stuff so fast, there’s barely any tension from the mystery aspect, just the sadism.

        For the avatar, I actually wanted to use the last scene in episode 2, where Yura says she’ll join the shikyubu. Rento just has a look of pure joy, which I loved. But unfortunately, the camera’s too close, and the top of her head is off screen. So I used the second best look, from the first ep. It’s almost exactly the same, tho.

Leave a Reply

