Happy Halloween! Here are some supernatural manga.

Hello!

This is a last second, whimsical Halloween post. I don’t really have much time (since it is already night time on Halloween day) to make a proper Halloween post. So, I am just going to list and briefly talk about some supernatural manga.

levi_halloweenSource

I am being very lazy efficient about this. I just searched up manga with the “supernatural” tag on Baka-Updates, sorted by Rating and picked manga I have looked at. I know Halloween is traditionally about a very small subset of supernatural things (vampires, witches, etc, etc) but for this post, anything even remotely supernatural will do.

Note: I am only going to list some manga I have read at least some part of. I am sure everything in this Baka-Updates list is worth trying though.

Search Results

Tower of God

tgod

BakaUpdates Link

This is a webcomic from Korea and it is one of my all time favorite manga. It has suspense, action and one of the best settings to ever grace manga. If you ever ask me for a Webcomic recommendation, this is my number one recommendation. It is incredible and is an absolute must read.

Full Metal Alchemist

Full Metal Alchemist

BakaUpdates Link

Okay, this one is totally not in the spirit of halloween. But hey, FMA is an incredible tale. I don’t think there is any Shonen (the magazine not the genre) that I would recommend before FMA. This is especially true for folk who don’t normally like Shonen. It is accessible, iconic, well written and is all around a great manga.

Feel free to watch the anime (FMA Brotherhood is the faithful adaptation but the original is still great) if you prefer.

Noblesse

noblesseMangaUpdates Link

I have fallen way behind on Noblesse.

That said, it is still one of the best webcomics to read if you want to get into webcomics. It is accessible, well drawn, mysterious and ABSOLUTELY BADASS. Like, the word badass (even when spelled in all capitals) can not properly convey just how badass some of Noblesse’s characters are.

Oh and it features vampires (a very different, in name only version but still!).

Attack on Titan

Attack on TitanMangaUpdates Link

This should need no introduction whatsoever. This isn’t a scary manga per say but it features some creepy looking titan things and more often than not, those titan things eat people. I have no doubt that someone out there is trick or treating OR partying in a titan costume right this moment.

I am quite a bit behind on the manga. I should catch up sometime.

Dorohedoro

dorohedoroMangaUpdates Link

Now we are getting into truly scary stuff. Dorohedoro is absolutely terrifying. I haven’t kept up with it but it has left some pretty vivid, grotesque images in my head. The art and the story are both quite convoluted and the rabbit hole only gets deeper and darker as this manga goes on.

This is one of those manga that you can’t just run through. You actually have to think and put together things. Rushing straight through it will hurt your head. Savor it and take it slow. There is a lot to absorb. There are a lot of themes, commentary and other literary things hidden in here to…I think.

Kami-sama Hajimemashita

HajimashitaMangaUpdates Link

I haven’t read this manga for quite a long time. I have been meaning to catch up though simply because it is Shoujo and it is a good Shoujo at that. You won’t find many scary things but you will find some nice, cute fluff and some magic.

(I am sure many of you tried the anime when it aired a short while back. If you didn’t like it, you probably won’t like the manga either but I haven’t touched it in a long time so my opinion is a bit unreliable here.)

Kanata Kara

kanata karaMangaUpdates Link

There is absolutely nothing Halloween-ish about this one but it is one of my all time favorite Romance manga so you should read it!

Jin

jin

MangaUpdates Link

I haven’t read much Jin but it features a mysterious, carcinogenic, time bending fetus trapped inside a patient’s skull. How could you possibly say no to trying that? In all honesty, what little I read of this was solid. This is a mature story and not not only because it has naked people but because the themes, the art style and the story are all very mature and serious.

That is to say, this is a true Seinen and not just a Shonen with more blood/less clothes.

Hajimari no Niina

NinaMangaUpdates Link

Incredible. Again, nothing scary here but this is one of my favorite Shoujos.

The World God Only Knows

The World god only knows

MangaUpdates Link

By this point, Kami Nomi should need no introduction. The anime adaptation has made it incredibly famous. Even after nearly 250 chapters, TWGOK’s continues to impress me. It is a great manga and it is one of the better, still running Shonen.

Pandora Hearts

pandora heartsMangaUpdates Link

I am ashamed to admit that I still haven’t read this manga. I watched a good chunk of the anime and I might have touched the manga (can’t recall). And yet, even that small amount of exposure is enough for me to recommend this manga.

This is not scary but it is very supernatural and likely about as supernatural as a manga can be. It is one of those manga that is well known, very well liked and yet rarely talked about. Going by the reactions of my twitter friends, this often gives you a major case of the feels.

Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo

yamada and the seven witchesMangaUpdates Link

This has witches so clearly it is relevant to our ghostly cause.

In all seriousness, this is a fun romance. I am hoping for it to end soon because I think it has gone on long enough but it has had a good run. It is funny, ecchi, somewhat romantic and decently put together.

Keishichou Tokuhanka 007

Keishichou Tokuhanka 007MangaUpdates Link

This is a fun, action/romance/detective manga. Sure at first the guy seems like the generic, jerk Shoujo male lead but he gets better!

More importantly though Fuyuki is a very charming, very headstrong girl. Even if you don’t like the mysteries presented and the character personalities, the characters are very pretty so this is great eye-candy.

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei

Mahouka Koukou no RettouseiMangaUpdates Link

This is probably the only romance manga where I am perfectly content with shipping an incest pair. It has magicians and stuff. I liked this enough to feature it in my 5 great manga post last year( here).

Fruits Basket

Fruits BasketMangaUpdates Link

I am including Fruits Basket here because it is part of my search results and I have read it in its entirety. I liked it a good amount. That said, I read it many, many years ago and most people in the blogosphere seem to really hate Fruits Basket for some reason. I still don’t know why but that is a post and an inquiry for another time.

For now, take this entry with a grain of salt but you probably can’t go wrong with at least trying it. It is considered by many to be a Shoujo classic after all.

Beelzebub

beelzebubMangaUpdates Link

I have fallen very behind on Beelzebub. But you know, when Beelzebub wants to be cool, it is very cool. When it wants to be funny, it is absolutely hilarious.

Hana to Akuma

Hana to AkumaMangaUpdates Link

Shortly after I finished reading this, I considered writing a post on it. I might go and do that when I get the chance.

It is a fantastic manga. It is not a terribly old manga, but in my eyes, it is a definite Shoujo classic. I mean, yes if you don’t like Shoujo, you probably won’t like this but if you are okay with Shoujo, then you should definitely try out Hana to Akuma.

It features demons and things so clearly that is halloween-ish, right?

Iris Zero

iris zeroMangaUpdates Link

This was on hiatus but a new chapter just came out 3 or so days ago. I have been waiting for that new chapter for a long time. ( I can’t wait to read it!) This is a great manga that is mature at times, funny at times, cute at times and all in all is one solid romance.

Be warned though, the high-schoolers featured here do have some serious (mostly psychological) problems. Despite its initial appearance, this isn’t for the faint of heart.

Okay, I think I will stop this almost pointless, not actually Halloween related list here.

I wish you a happy Halloween and some fine manga reading/anime watching should you be in the mood do so .🙂

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

