12 Days of Anime #10: Valvrave the Liberator

Valvrave fans can be split into two categories:

  • Those that like it ironically (i.e. it is so bad that it’s good).
  • Those that genuinely like it.

I fall into that latter category. I have never felt that Valvrave was a bad anime. It is ridiculous but being ridiculous does not make it bad.

Valvrave is full of silly, ridiculous moments. These silly moments that make you go “WOAH, WHAT JUST HAPPENED. Oh god, I love this show.”

The Valvrave Bluray cover. I stole it from Wikipedia. It is not representative of the anime but it looks cool.

There are too many great moments to pick the best one, so let’s be lazy and just list a few out. In all seriousness, I could probably list every single episode here because Valvrave is a 666/10 anime.

666 & Possibility

Valvrave the Liberator 581 Valvrave the Liberator 584

Valvrave the Liberator 605 Valvrave the Liberator 606

I can’t recall how ridiculous and awesome the first episode was but it wasn’t until the second that Valvrave The Liberator’s true colors became obvious.

Haruto is flying around. In his cockpit, L-Elf has taken Shoko hostage. L-Elf keeps telling him to surrender only to realize that L-Elf is now hated by his own country because Haruto did stuff with his body. Then Haruto receives a cell-phone call….in space…from Shoko…who was presumed dead.

L-Elf just watches as Haruto takes the call and becomes relieved that his crush is still alive. After the call, Haruto’s machine overheats and can no longer move. L-Elf somehow figures out that going beyond 666 is a good thing. They go beyond 666 and win.

Haruto wants to confess to Shoko but decides that he is now a monster and refrains from doing so.

I did not do that scene justice. Draggle did a better job, but really you should just go watch/re-watch the scene. It is the kind of thing that should be displayed in a museum because if this isn’t art then I don’t know what is.

Call me Moses

Valvrave the Liberator 722 Valvrave the Liberator 724 Valvrave the Liberator 726 Valvrave the Liberator 727

I owe Draggle for reminding me of this scene. How could anyone forget this?

Music Video Time

Valvrave the Liberator 646

Oh god. This music video. It was great. Ridiculous, but in its own way, sentimental too. This intersection of outright ridiculousness with warmth and heart is exactly what I love so much about this anime.

pffft HAHAHA

pffft HAHAHA

Saki kisses Haruto

Valvrave the Liberator 663

I love Saki. Don’t get me wrong, I like Shoko as well, but Saki is a real star. She has spunk and determination. She also has a playful side as demonstrated when she kissed Haruto and stole his body.

I want to see her end up with Haruto. I know Haruto likes Shoko and Shoko loves him too, but Saki would be better for him. That said, Saki x A-Drei was a ship that came forth in the more recent episodes and it is a pretty fine ship too.

“You’re bitter”

Valvrave the Liberator 678 Valvrave the Liberator 679 Valvrave the Liberator 680

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHHA

The students are in trouble and the only one who can come up with a plan to save them is L-Elf. Unfortunately, it is only the 8th episode so they don’t trust him yet but Haruto trusts him. In fact, Haruto trusts him enough to claim that coffee tastes better with sugar and that L-Elf is bitter, so with the two together, they will taste just fine.

It is a classic Haruto x L-Elf moment and is hilarious in every way.

Shoko won

I am not really going to say much about the now infamous assault scene in episode 10 since everything that should or should not be said has been said (so glad I was on twitter hiatus at that time). Right after the scene though, Saki told Haruto that Shoko had won the election.

Valvrave the Liberator 669

Her delivery of that line, with the ending music playing in the background, was one of the most chilling moments this year.

Supermarket

Valvrave the Liberator 707

Hahaha. In all seriousness, I thought Akira’s love for Shoko was quite adorable.

Only feed on L-Elf (episode 13)

Only in Valvrave can you go from this

Only in Valvrave can you go from this

to this.

to this.

Oh Haruto, what will you do without L-Elf.

L-Elf shoots Marie

Valvrave the Liberator 97

Haruto swears to bear the curse alone.

Valvrave the Liberator 320 Valvrave the Liberator 321 Valvrave the Liberator 322

Green, naked L-Elf is very assertive.

L-Elf confesses to Lieselotte

Valvrave the Liberator 922 Valvrave the Liberator 929

To see someone as stoic and reserved as L-Elf confess his love was a shock. I mean, yeah he obviously liked her but to actually see him confess without hesitation? Well, that was definitely a great thing to behold.

His subsequent plan to allow everyone to escape was also incredible (though Lieselotte did die).

Valvrave the Liberator 1007Valvrave the Liberator 994

Purge the monsters

Valvrave the Liberator 764

So, the Dorsia fuhrer goes on the TV and claims that EVERY SINGLE of the module 77 students are monsters and deserve to be killed. He does this by stabbing poor Saki who comes back to life shortly after.

It only makes sense then for everyone to suddenly turn against Jior and kill all of the students one by one. And the best part? None of the students came back to life. Clearly, those students were immortal and had to be put down.

Inuzuka’s death

Valvrave the Liberator 1016

This was definitely one of the better death scenes that I have seen this year. It was pretty damn cool.

L-Elf and Haruto reveal their feelings on the moon.

Valvrave the Liberator 795 Valvrave the Liberator 797 Valvrave the Liberator 796

Boku Janai

Valvrave the Liberator 714

I want to this chance to point out that Valvrave has a genuinely good soundtrack. The insert songs are all wonderful and the timing when they play is almost always just right.

There is no Valvrave song as iconic as the first ending, Boku Janai. The few time(s) that it was used as an insert were fantastic and it served really well for the short time it was the ending. It is one of my favorite songs this year and it is just so perfect.

If you were to ask me for one song that captured 2013 in my eyes, it would be this song.

L-Elf (ERU-ERF)

Valvrave the Liberator 701

L-Elf is the offspring of Rambo and Lelouch.

During large scale battles, he is able to come up with excellent, almost full-proof tactics. He can manipulate people like Lelouch but often he has no need to. His reputation is enough to grant him authority over any of the good guys and the bad guys poop their pants when they realize who they are up against. (Well, I haven’t seen the pooping happen but I am sure they do…)

Outside of large space battles, he is an excellent hand to hand combatant. I mean the guy takes down entire platoons equipped with nothing but a hand pistol.

How badass is that?

From his cutthroat ruthlessness (shooting Marie to preserve a secret) to his bittersweet (GET IT!) relationship with Haruto to his tender love for Lieselotte, L-Elf is one of my favorite characters this year. There was never a dull moment when he was on screen. I love him so much.

L-Elf x Haruto

Valvrave the Liberator 798

You know, it is tempting to ship L-Elf and Haruto since the two (mostly Haruto) often say some bizarre things to one another but I don’t really feel the need to do that. I know Valvrave is not a serious show, but I think there is something special in the relationship between the two.

I hesitate to call them best-friends, but at the very least, they are fantastic partners. Haruto understands L-Elf better than anyone and vice-versa. More importantly though, they actually do balance each other out really well. As Haruto once said, “You’re bitter. With the two of us together, it’ll taste just fine!”

  1. #1 by draggle on December 25, 2013 - 8:49 pm

    So many good moments I didn’t even get a chance to list them all!

    Truly a classic that will be remembered for centuries to come!

    • #2 by Reiseng on December 26, 2013 - 1:29 am

      I know, eh! I hadn’t watched episode 23 when I made this post and that had some great moments too.

      I will definitely remember this for the foreseeable future!

  2. #3 by Highway on December 25, 2013 - 11:10 pm

    This is a show that I’ve effectively dropped now. I liked the first season enough, because it was unrepentantly nuts, and that hadn’t gotten old at that point. But through episode 8 of the second season, I’m just “nah”. I don’t want to watch everyone go off their rocker killing people. I’m not really interested in the Magius at all. I’m tired of killing off all the main characters, just because someone thought it would be shocking (Hint: anime director guys, it gets less shocking every time you do it, so about 3 guys ago, it was expected. We’d be MORE shocked if you let someone live at this point).

    I was critical of Valvrave early because it was just so ludicrous, but at least it gave me an out for the dumb stuff it did – “Hey, we’ve got enough technology to be in space, so that’s just how things work” I turned my ire for that to Attack on Titan, which just got dumber and dumber about its presentation, imo.

    If there’s some stellar ending to the show, maybe I’ll finish it out. But at this point, I’m pretty much expecting them to kill off pretty much everyone, and leave Saki and L-Elf for those scenes in the far future.

    (oh, and I’m really not a fan of the music, either. Both OP’s have been disappointing, moreso because I can’t believe everyone likes them, and none of the ED’s have been anything special.)

    • #4 by Reiseng on December 26, 2013 - 1:42 am

      Well, I can’t say you are totally wrong about killing people. More important characters have died since episode 20 (or S2 8).

      I too would have preferred it if they lived (all of characters mind you, not just the most recent ones) but in some ways, the deaths do add a bit to their plight.

      Some of the deaths do say something about how far you are willing to go to protect your loved ones (e.g. Marie’s death).

      It does look like near everyone will die though. And that does make me quite sad. I do think that the deaths are done for “shock” purposes but I think they also want to turn this into a pseudo-tragedy of sorts. The feelings that Haruto and Shoko deal with in recent episodes are kind of indicative of this.

      Going into the last episode, I have no idea how it is actually going to end. I am not sure if this final episode will be enough to resolve everything with the Magius. If it isn’t, then well I guess there might be another cour down the line.

      • #5 by Highway on December 26, 2013 - 11:11 am

        Yeah, I’ve been following the coverage of the show on Metanorn. That’s a lot faster than watching it.

        I dunno if I’d even prepend “pseudo” on that. They’ve been going for tragic the whole time. This story has never been about the glorious triumph of a new system of happiness and governance for everyone. It’s been about staving off the darkness of rapacious and evil forces.

        And since finding out that Runes are memetic BUT can be consumed, my respect for the show just got flushed down the toilet. It works on a very visceral level, the idea that your memories can be consumed. But it breaks so many other things in the show.

    • #6 by Reiseng on December 26, 2013 - 8:52 pm

      Yeah, the Rune thing is quite sad. It would have been nice if it had just focused on emotions but oh well. At least this way, we feel sorry for Haruto and his eventual death/comatose.

  3. #7 by Aleris Celt on December 28, 2013 - 12:23 am

    HAHAHA omg this is hilarious. I give you 666 thumbs ups.

    • #8 by Reiseng on December 28, 2013 - 4:10 am

      ^_^ Thank you! But I owe anything funny in this post to Valvrave and its awesomeness. 🙂

  4. #9 by silver2301 on January 28, 2016 - 5:55 pm

    I agree with all the moment u described except one saki was a total bitch dont get me wrong its not because she kissed him but because what she said at the last that she was happy to know that haruto will lose his memories of shoko man that was just selfish but every thing is fair in love and war so cant do anything 😄

    • #10 by Reiseng on January 30, 2016 - 4:28 pm

      Haha. It has been so long since I watched Valvrave, I don’t really remember her wanting him to forget Shoko. I need to rewatch, but yeah, all is fair in love and this show was kinda over the top like that anyway. 😛

  1. Kakumeiki Valvrave Ep 24 (Finale): So… Haruto Died | Nest Of The Passing Otaku
  2. Valvrave the Liberator: “You are my friend.” | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

