Quick Spring 2014 Impressions.

I haven’t talked about anime from this season yet, so I figured I’d take the chance to talk a little about the anime I tried out this season.
I didn’t try out everything this season has to offer, so if you see something that isn’t here, but probably should be, do let me know.

Nisekoi 753

Dropped

I don’t normally explicitly drop anime and instead just kind of stop watching them after an episode or two. Since, I am keeping track on MAL this time around, I went and very explicitly dropped stuff.

I don’t really think any of the following will get significantly better, but if it does, uhh, let me know and I might consider picking it back up.

Black Bullet

I only watched the first episode and I thought that the first episode was kind of atrocious.

I liked some of the background and the setting. The characters had a cliche, but still relatively interesting past. I can’t remember the fight scenes, but I don’t think they were bad and I bet future fight scenes are probably even good.

So, what did I not like? Well, for starters all of the transitions were terrible. The episode’s attempts at going from funny to serious and vice versa were terrible. More importantly though, the main character was terrible.

He was stoic at times, blushing at times and just in general, all over the place. Nothing interesting there and his partner? A loli of all things.

Dear anime creating people, please don’t include silly lolis in “serious” anime. It does not work or at least does not work often enough to warrant a reckless inclusion.

Blade & Soul

For some reason, the first episode of Blade and Soul just didn’t do it for me. Maybe if the main character was a bit more interesting and slightly better clothed.

This is also not as much of a literary work as Queen’s Blade was.

Selector Infected WIXOSS

Selector Infected WIXOSS 6

I don’t remember the first episode or why I decided I wouldn’t continue on with this show. I think something about the little white haired pokemon girl didn’t sit well with me, so I just stopped watching.

Seikoku no Dragonar

Unfortunately, yes.

Unfortunately, yes.

I will admit I was a bit enthusiastic about this show. I put aside my dislike of the obvious perverted nature of the show and tried to revel in the fact that I was watching a fantasy anime about dragons and dragon tamers. I love fantasy, dragons and dragon tamers and things like that.

Even the loli’s arrival at the end of the first episode didn’t damper my slight enthusiasm. Impatient and thirsting for more information, I did what I shouldn’t have done. I started reading the manga.

I made a fair bit of progress too, but then I just uggghhh. I decided go no more.

There is way TOO MUCH NAKED LOLI. Even discounting that, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations.

Like seriously….this could have been great. Why couldn’t the main character have gotten a regular dragon like everyone else? They could have made it a super strong, or perhaps super smart dragon or something.

Even if they wanted a humanoid, why did it have to be a dumb loli? It could have been a wizened old man who normally just said smart things but could destroy continents when angry. Or a graceful, older woman capable of  face wreckage when her master is in danger or you know, something else that was original and cool.

If they had made the human dragon at least as old (in appearance anyway) as the MC, you could have had a decent possibility for a good human x dragon romance. But no! We get a loli who likes being naked.

Kamigami no Asobi

edit: Forgot to mention I tried this one out as well.

I had no idea what Kamigami was going to be about when I jumped in and watched the first about. I thought it would be about someone helping gods and stuff, but as it turned out, it was a girl helping a large group of very handsome gods. It caught me off guard, I will say that much at least.

Anyway, there was nothing particularly exciting about it, but I did enjoy the Apollo transformation very much.

Stuff I am watching

Or well, kind of watching (I am behind on a a lot of anime, though this is mostly my fault and not so much the anime’s). The following is in a rough worst to best order.

Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to The Animation

I will probably drop this since I haven’t seen or been interested in seeing the newer episodes. It is not super boring, but it isn’t really that enticing either.

Majin Bone

I watched 3 episodes of Majin Bone for some reason. It is not super terrible or anything, but I don’t think I will end up watching any more. I might watch another episode, but if I don’t, then this will probably get marked as dropped.

Kenzen Robo Daimidaler

Kenzen Robo Daimidaler 133

This is classy’s official watch of the season. I still feel bad because I missed the last watch of episodes 3 and 4 (due to my own negligence).
Daimidaler isn’t the kind of thing we should encourage our children to watch (Scamp described it as an anime that rewards a guy for sexually assaulting a woman).

That said, I am ashamed to admit, but I did think some scenes were absolutely hilarious in their stupidity. My personal favorite thus far was the front tail dance from episode 2 and the banana thing that followed.

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou

Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou 1

I haven’t watched episodes 3 and 4 yet, but after episode 2 I came to think that this is actually pretty boring. Long story short, I was going to publish a post on why I think this is boring, but I decided I was ranting far too much for an anime that likely isn’t bad enough to deserve such a rant.

Anyway, it is not terribly original and more importantly, the two main protagonists are really dull. I especially dislike Ritsu. She is boring and quite a bit of a jerk. Her “book addiction” feels like one of those tacky software features Smartphone makers add on to try and differentiate their otherwise identical phone.

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei

Sexy, sexy guy

Sexy, sexy guy

This is probably bad to admit, but I am actually a fan of the Mahouka manga (note though, the manga is also an adaptation, so it might be a bit different from the anime). I even recommended it all the way back in 2012. I really liked the first episode, but I wasn’t terribly impressed with the second episode. I thought the adaptation missed out a bunch of nice details like how magic works and stuff like that.

It also didn’t really do a good job of demonstrating the difference between the lower class and the upper in terms of CAD activation time (in the manga, Miyuki demonstrates how much faster she is).

I like those small, little details and in omitting them, the anime probably gave a slightly more positive impression of Tatsuya. This is partly why I haven’t bothered to watch 3 and 4 yet.

Now, folk were criticizing this show since episode 1 (something about bad writing and Gary Sue), but it wasn’t until episode 4 when the critiques really skyrocketed.

I am of course, referring to the now infamous “right wing” speech given by Tatsuya. Maybe it is because I am not very politically active or because I am too spoiled to notice, but I didn’t even think much of it back when I read the manga.

Sure, I felt a little, “eh, I think you should be more appreciative of those without talents”, but never made the real life connection to the rich and the poor. Kind of short sighted of me, I suppose. It is kind of interesting to see it blow up like this.

Oh and, without spoiling too much, I do want to point out that Tatsuya isn’t quite what he seems. I think folk have gotten the impression that he is some kind of magical genius who just happens to have ended up in the dumb kids class.

He isn’t very fast at casting magic and he can not cast spells anywhere near the level that Miyuki and other top class kids can. He is just able to do the calculations involved really quickly, but this isn’t a born talent per say either ( I won’t reveal more than that.)

Interestingly enough, one of the running ideas throughout the manga is that while the blooms are definitely better at magic, the weeds often appear to be far better at combat in general (compared to average bloom’s anyway. The student council and disciplinary committee blooms are exceptionally strong).

Oh and one thing the adaptation did really well? Tatsuya’s voice. Nakamura, Yuuichi (Tomoya from Clannad) has one sexy, sexy voice. I already liked Tatsuya in the manga (I have a thing for almost perfect, overpowered characters), but Nakamura’s voice made him all the better.

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii 3

I have read most of the manga and the anime seems to be doing a decent enough job of it (haven’t seen episodes 3 and 4 yet though). While I like parts of the romance, it does feel a little weird since the boy is just a little kid.

Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara

Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara 3

This is a dumb show that seems to very openly admit how dumb it is. It uses every moe trope out there, but it always seems to wink and acknowledge that it did so. I am not really a super big fan of how it goes about doing things, but there are a few things keeping my interest.

The MC for one isn’t a total dolt. I like some of the girls (e.g. Akane) as well.

There is something here. Lurking right below the surface, there is a hint of some kind of dark story. I am mostly watching this show for that and well, because it is sometimes funny.

Sidonia no Kishi

Knights of Sidonia 2

I have only seen one episode thus far, but I liked it a lot. The characters are drawn kind of weird and the show seems a bit too grim for my taste, but I will definitely be catching up to this soon. The setting and presentation alone make this a good show to watch.

Captain Earth

This was one of the first things I tried this season and it was probably the first thing I liked this season.

I don’t really have much to say at this point, but hopefully Captain Earth can carry on being good though it does look like we are in for an unnecessarily complicated plot.

Nisekoi

Nisekoi 1191

Yup, I am still watching “My memory sucks and I can’t man up and go out with someone”.

I still find Nisekoi amusing for some reason and the visuals + presentation are superb. This is an incredibly well made show.

Even though, she kind of got in the way of everyone’s ships, I think Marika made the show much more amusing. Her antics and super forward love love approach are hilarious.

In case you are curious, I am on team gorilla (I ship Chitoge and Raku), but to be honest, I wouldn’t really mind if any of the girls ended up with him. Onodera really, really likes him and out of the 3 main ones, she is probably the cutest (at least in terms of facial expressions). Chitoge just works well with him ( scenes like this are pretty cute ) and Marika kind of deserves to be win because SHE TAKES INITIATIVE.

The best character and best girl is of course Ruri. Best guy and possibly second best character is obviously Shū.

You will notice that I haven’t made any mention of Tsugumi and that’s because she totally sucks.

I do want to point out one more thing. Raku is a spineless, indecisive wimp when it comes to love, but he isn’t totally useless. If anything, I think Raku is actually quite competent.

He is a great swimmer, great cook, pretty handsome and gets good grades as well. He can also sing really well (well Enka anyway).

I don’t think Raku is cool enough to deserve a harem (few people short of Mahouka’s Tatsuya are), but I can definitely see a girl falling for him and that’s a definite step up from the average MC.

Isshuukan Friends

Isshuukan Friends 2

Urgh, this show is hard to watch, but it is very good! I haven’t watched episode 4 yet because it is going to be painful.

No Game No Life

The JoJo references alone make this worthwhile.

The JoJo references alone make this worthwhile.

I know, I know. The main character is a perverted jerk who might also be a bit too close to his imouto. I still enjoy No Game No Life though. I like the mind games they play (heh heh).

And while Sora is a jerk, he is kind of charismatic too. I already ship Sora and Stephanie Dola and I am looking forward to seeing where this anime goes with its great fantasy setting.

Mekakucity Actors

I like this show. I like it a lot. The visuals and the animation are quite impressive, but so are the characters.

Episode 3 was the best episode yet. I loved how it connected back to the events in the first episode. It was very well done. I am really looking forward to episode 2.

Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin

Nanana is probably ranked this high because at the moment I can’t stop listening to the opening song.

I really like Nanana’s concept. The treasure hunting adventure thing is a fun idea with lots of neat possibilities. I also like most of the cast that has been introduced thus far. Well, I don’t care much for Nanana herself (nice character design though!), but if the show ignores her and mostly focuses on the kids doing the actual hunting, then it will be all good.

Jugo is a pretty good main character as well. Yeah, he is a bit perverted, but at least he isn’t a spineless, weak wimp. Interestingly enough, he is the main muscle man of this show. Tensai is quite likable to, if only because she actually does stuff.

Much to my surprise, I, uhh, ended up shipping Jugo and Tensai simply because of the hugging scene in episode 3.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Stardust Crusaders 114

Surprise, surprise.

Yes, I am watching the new JoJo.

It got off to a slightly slow start, but I have no problems with that. The colors, the poses and the overly dramatic lines are as wonderful as ever. Joseph Joestar continues to shine even as an old man, but some of that punk prankster vibe he had has rubbed off.

I like Jotaro (the new JoJo) and I am quite fond of the companions they have met thus far. I wish Holly was a bit more useful (like Lisa Lisa), but oh well.

Stardust Crusaders is supposed to be very long, so I am going to buckle in and hopefully enjoy the ride. As an aside, the new ending song isn’t as great as the previous one, but it is very, very appropriate. The opening is also a little bit worse, but I think it will grow on me.

My FAL Team

Nisekoi 371

This time around, I kind of got lazy and left the picking of my FAL team until the very end. I ended up just taking the intersection of Scamp and Shinmaru’s team then adding in my own choices to get the full roster.

Here is my team:

  • Gokukoku no Brynhildr
  • Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara
  • Haikyuu!!
  • Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei
  • Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii
  • Black Bullet
  • Hitsugi no Chaika

I messed up big time by not including No Game No Life. I also failed to switch in Black Bullet until recently. Fortunately, I went and switched it in, so hopefully my team will do better from here on.

Currently, I am ranked 213, which is honestly quite terrible.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on May 4, 2014 - 12:01 pm

    As usual, I’m watching quite a bit more than you, and i’m still watching some of the things you dropped.

    Kamigami no Asobi is a lot of fun, unlike Kiniro no Chorda (comparing otome game adaptations) and actually has the main girl doing things, not just standing around while the guys do things.

    Dragonar and Black Bullet are still on my list. Blade and Soul is not after that first episode of inanity. Great look, pretty girls, and atrocious writing, ugh.

    I really enjoy Kawaisou, The World is still Beautiful, and Nanana. I thought Tatsuya’s speech in Mahouka was fine. More people should have that kind of attitude, fewer people should have the “someone else should do something for us” attitude. But then I’m not very sympathetic to people who make bad choices.

    Soul Eater Not! makes me happy, and I’m not sure why. It’s just a lot of fun, without being overtly fun.

    Akuma no Riddle is a lot better than I thought it would be, mainly because it’s not too gory and murdery (if it was like Btooom or Danganronpa, I would have dropped it immediately). Plus, they’re making interesting ED songs for each character (you’d probably like the style).

    Hitsugi no Chaika is moving up my list, because it’s doing different things than just raiding bad guys.

    Sidonia almost lost me with the character animation. It’s so bad. The whole rest of the show is great, but the characters are just awful. Luckily as the show goes on, they find ways to not show characters moving or talking or interacting.

    I might be the only person in the world who looks at everything about JoJo and thinks “not interested in the least.” Seriously, the only thing that makes me think it could even be the least bit interesting is that everyone else watches it, but then everything they say about it is back to ‘Nope, not interesting’.

    • #2 by Reiseng on May 4, 2014 - 3:16 pm

      I might try out Kamigami sometime again. Apparently Black Bullet is kind of exciting, so I might give that a 2nd chace

      Never tried Soul Eater Not!. I’d probably want to finish up the original Soul Eater even though I know they are not related per say.

      I have heard a lot of good things about Akuma no Riddle. That and Chaika or on my “should try” list. I have read a chunk of the Chaika manga and I liked it a fair amount, so I’d probably like the anime as well.

      I say “should try”, but I am going to be really low on time starting today/tomorrow, so not sure how much I will be able to watch.:/

      If it makes you feel any better, my brother hates JoJo and he has seen a few episodes of it.

      • #3 by Highway on May 4, 2014 - 4:06 pm

        Heh, it’s not even that I “hate” JoJo. It’s just thoroughly uncompelling to me as a concept.

        Black Bullet I’m watching but I don’t know if I’m enjoying. I haven’t watched this week’s, and last week’s waited for days before I watched it. I just don’t ever feel like watching it.

        Kanojo ga Flag I get the same feeling you do. It’s got something there waiting to come out, but whether it will do it in a worthwhile manner is another question. NouCome had something similar, and while I respect that the show didn’t end up forcing anyone together, it felt like it just dropped the ball a little bit. Flag is more overtly funny (I just love Megumu’s reaction every time someone calls him a girl, and it never gets old), and starting out putting the main couple in mortal danger was a rather different move.

    • #4 by Reiseng on May 4, 2014 - 11:58 pm

      The one thing I liked about NouCome compared to Flag was that it made really good use of the main character’s gimmick (the absolute order). By comparison, Flag has almost never done anything with his ability to see flags.

      That said, like you said the running gags (in particular the Megu one) are pretty funny.

      Seeing Megu’s dead face whenever someone even in passing forgets he is a guy is hilarious. It is especially funny when he is in the background and his face just changes with no real acknowledgement by the anime.

      I do hope that whatever it is Flag is planning, it is great.

Leave a Reply

