Fall 14: Quick First Impressions

Since, I am likely not going to get around to writing individual posts for the stuff I am watching this season, I figured I’d make one big aggregated post with a few short lines on most of the anime I have touched this season.

I should be paid for this...

I should be paid for this…

I have ordered the anime in this post in a very rough order of personal enjoyment. It is rough because the order varies week to week and to be frank, there is a lot of anime worth watching this season.

Sora no Method

Sora no Method

I watched 2 episodes of Sora no Method and haven’t bothered with the 3rd yet. I am not sure if I will get to watching it. It is not like Sora no Method is a bad show per se, but something about it doesn’t sit so well with me. Maybe it is because the main characters (what’s her face and Noel) are quite uninteresting or boring? Or maybe (and I am working on shaky memory here) because the anime stuff contrived psychological problems into the shape of cute girls and sprinkled some yuri friendship on top?

I don’t quite know what it is that is stopping me from watching episode 3. I will admit that the emotional scenes were quite emotional, though they didn’t leave much of an impact because I don’t really care much for the characters introduced thus far.

Magic Kaito 1412

Magic Kaito 1412

Sigh.

I have read a little bit of the Kaito manga (maybe all of it because there is almost nothing there) and I have read Detective Conan as well. I really like Kaito as a character in Conan. His appearances are always fun and he has done some really important plot relevant things in Detective Conan as well.

For some reason, the anime has failed to grip me. I think I watched an episode and a half? Kaito feels like too old of a show. It is not just the visual aesthetic, but the way characters behave and stuff as well. I don’t know if that alone is enough to stop this from being terribly exciting, but I guess it is a cause.

If you ever get the time and if you haven’t already, I strongly recommend watching the first couple of episodes of Detective Conan. Say what you will about Conan’s murder of the week formula, but it had an excellent start. Detective Conan is how Kaito should have been done. It immediately griped you and pulled you in. I never felt that watching Kaito.

Gugure! Kokkuri-san

I love how she turns into an ordinary non-chibi girl when feeling a human emotion.

I love how she turns into an ordinary non-chibi girl when feeling a human emotion.

I feel a bit mean for not being that enthusiastic about Kokkuri-san. It is a cute little show that has some love put into it, but unfortunately I don’t really find it all that funny. The dead pan humor present here is pretty good when it works, but it often doesn’t work and ends up boring me a bit. That dog character is totally boring and needs to go.

Surprisingly enough though, Kokkuri-san shines when it has an emotional or heartwarming moment. I love it when Kohina goes from being a little chibi doll like thing to looking like an actual girl whenever she is experiencing sadness or loneliness. Kokkur-san’s affection for her is also very sweet.

Donten ni Warau

Donten ni Warau 36

Donten ni Warau (or Laughing under the Clouds) is not all that well done. The pacing is slow and apart from their character designs, most of the characters are not super interesting either.

There is a plot of sorts, though Donten doesn’t do a great job of getting you interested in it. It doesn’t do a terrible job either and in the show’s favor, it does try to draw you in without explaining every little thing for you (for now anyway).

I have read a bit of the Donten ni Warau manga and if memory serves me correctly, it suffers from similar problems (though the pacing is less of a nuisance because you can run through at your own pace).

That said, I don’t really mind Donten ni Warau all that much. I actually quite fond of the eldest brother (Tenmka). He isn’t super interesting, but he is a respectable human being. I like his values and how he goes about trying to keep his siblings safe. There is this one scene involving Tenka that should air really soon (in an episode or two, I suppose) that really hit me when I read the manga. I hope the anime also does it justice.

Gundam: G no Reconguista

Gundam G no Reconguista 42

I often think, “not going to bother” when I see a new Reconguista, but somehow I always end up watching it.

How do I put it. Reconguista is a bit weird. The dialogue is all over the place and the way it transitions from one scene or story point to another is also strange. It is not confusing per se but that might be because I have been ignoring most of the small details. To an extent this feels like an anime that is trying to be childish but at the same time thinks highly of itself.

That said Reconguista does do some pretty interesting things. I am not a big fan of the battles, but the setting is cool and the Gundam’s have interesting, peculiar little details. Just the fact that the pilot seat doubles as a toilet is hilarious. I mean, yeah it is totally practical and would be expected in a real Gundam, but I never expected to see something like that in a Gundam anime. Similarly, their suits and stuff are built to allow for easy poop/peeing access what with their being a zipper on their butts and all that.

The mysteries surrounding the main Gundam are also kind of cool. I am not a terribly big fan of most of the cast to be honest. The Princess is boring and the main character is all right though at times a bit too genky (I guess it beats the super, dark and always serious Gundam protagonist).

Continuing on in the good things section, I watched episode 6 and I thought it was actually pretty good. This Gundam is a bit different from other stuff that I have seen in that it is less flashy. Battles are not about strategy per se, but they are relatively simple affairs and almost intentionally awkward.

I really hope Reconguista continues to improve and ends up a cult classic of sorts. If it does, then perhaps I will finally be able to claim that not only did I watch a Gundam to completion, I did so on a week to week basis (well apart from Build Fighters but that is a bit different).

I love how physically close these two are.

I love how physically close these two are.

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai 19

Hitsujikai is not a bad show. I want to call it mindless fun, but I feel like I would describe most shows this season like that. I like the main character. His passion for reading is cool. I like the main character’s best friend. They had a nice moment in the rain.

I like the girl with golden hair. She is amusing at times. The girl with black hair is okay. Her relationship with the main character’s best friend is kind of cute.

I really like the red haired girl. She is best girl and best character in this show.

Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai 46

The remaining two girls are kinda boring especially the song princess (I am calling her that out of spite). It is just a shame that they have the spotlight more often than not.

I would really like this show if it was just a romcom between MC and red hair and featured gold, black and best friend as side characters. Unfortunately, best girl will not win (best girl never wins…). I doubt anyone will win, but red surely won’t and that makes me sad.😦

Denki-Gai no Honya-san

AnimeBatch 597

I like Honya-san’s perverted nature. It is pretty funny at times. That scene right from the beginning of the first episode with the horse reading doujin still gets me. I mostly watch Honya-san for the ships though.

I don’t care about the little red haired girl and Sommelier (though he is a pretty cool guy), but Sensei x Umi and Hio-tan x Director are great ships. I am really fond of the interactions between Hio-tan and the Director. He is mean to her in front of other people, but when they are alone, the tables get flipped and he gets taken advantage of.

Oh and camera girl is also cute.

Denki-gai no Honya-san 247

Daww

Daww

Madan no Ou to Vanadis

Madan no Ou to Vanadis 28 Madan no Ou to Vanadis 31

I have read a little bit of the manga, but the anime has already very rapidly caught up to what I have read.

I like Vanadis, but it does have its faults. Some of the conversations are a little bit boring (mainly the war tactics) and the girls aren’t suuper interesting (though with the exception of they maid, none of them are terrible either).

I like that the main character isn’t a total loser. He isn’t perverted enough to only think about boobs all the time and he isn’t innocent enough to do the whole “OH MY GOD, A CUTE GIRL IS RIGHT NEXT TO ME. AHHHH I AM GOING TO BLUSH REAL HARD” routine.

I like the general setting as well. What I like the most is how the show approaches fan service. Sure, there is lots of fanservice, but the reactions to it are never over the top silly. One of my favorite examples was the snake bite in episode 4. Sure, the whole snake falls out of a tree and bites girl on right breast was a hilarious bit of fanservice, even more so because then the main character “had to suck out the poison”.

What I liked in that scene (apart from that hilarious bit of classiness) was how the main character never made a “oh no, I gotta touch oppai” comment. He immediately got to work and drained out the venom (though he did grope the other side, but I can let that go since he had to hold her steady).

Similarly, in the very first episode MC walked in on the naked war maiden and she didn’t bash his head in as would be expected from such a scene. She didn’t even scream, but admitted to being embarassed. It was a well done fanservice scene.

Trinity Seven: 7-nin no Mahoutsukai

Trinity Seven 22

This is the classy pick this season. I am watching it on my own as well though. It has a fair bit of silly fanservice, but at times, it is pretty funny (mostly with how the fanservice comes about and the reactions to it). I also like the main character. At least, he is very open about his sexual thoughts and desires.

Trinity Seven 24 Trinity Seven 25

Nanatsu no Taizai

Nanatsu no Taizai 3

I am a fan of the manga and it is nice to see it animated. The anime had a great start, but the recent episode or two have been a bit more boring. It is not a big deal though, I have read enough of the manga to know the anime will get a bit better as the other characters show up. I am really looking forward to King’s appearance but that might not be for a few episodes yet. He is my favourite character in this series.

I am a big fan of the opening, particularly the bit that plays right at this part.

I am a big fan of the opening, particularly the bit that plays right at this part. It is so cool.

Ore, Twintail no Narimasu

This show...this damn show

This show…this damn show

Twintail is amazing. I liked it from the first episode, but the recent episodes have pushed it one step further. The funniest thing is that I don’t even like twintails (the hair style), but I love how this show puts so much emphasis on them. In this universe, twintails are the key to solving all problems, but also the root cause of many problems. It is hilarious and wonderful.

Inou-Battle wa Nichijou no Naka de

Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 59

If Bahamut was the “I can’t believe something based on this source material can be this good” anime of the season, then Inou-Battle and Twintail are the “I can’t believe something with this premise” can be so good anime of this season.

At its heart, Inou-Battle is just another harem. You know, a clueless main character somehow gets everyone in his club (and one person outside) to fall in love with him. Except, the MC is actually genuinely hilarious this time around. When it tries to be funny, Inou Battle is hilarious. What’s great about Inou Battle though is that it is also very sweet and heartwarming at times. MC-kun is an idiot, but he is a caring idiot.

I think Mark summed it up best, when he said that it is the right combination of silliness and strange affection.

Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 176 Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 177 Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 178 Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 179 Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de 180

(The above scene was absolutely perfect. Andou was willing to listen to her problems, but only if she wanted to talk about them. It was such a gentle, well done scene, one all of us could learn from.)

Shirobako

Shirobako 18

I don’t know how relatable Shirobako is for people who work in the animation industry (probably very relatable becaue it depicts a horribly stressful and tiring environment), but it is still pretty relatable to those of us who work ordinary grunt jobs. Adult life can be so dreary. Dealing with people who don’t live up to your expectations while you in turn are worried about living up to the expectations others hold for you can be so vexing and exhausting.

I haven’t been in many situations where I need to manage or coordinate with others outside of school projects, but even I can relate to the dream crushing nature of adult life. You have such big dreams when you are young, but they either get shattered one by one or buried beneath paperwork.

I haven’t gotten around to seeing episode 4 yet. Hopefully I will get around to watching that and not just forgetting about this anime all together (as I do so very often).

Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu (Parasyte)

I love how in the opening Shinichi goes from being a scaredy cat with no control to

I love how in the opening Shinichi goes from being a scaredy cat with no control over his life to

this

this.

Grotesque is one word I could use to describe Parasyte. It is not scary per se, but a bit creepy and grotesque. It is also an exciting action thriller of sorts and it appears to have some genuine character development in Shinichi and Migi. I am really looking forward to more. The manga is suposedly a classic, but one that I have unfortunately not read. Thus far though, the anime appears to be doing it justice.

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete 226

I probably should not like Motomete as much as I do, but I really like it for some reason. The mystery behind the whole time travel/parallel dimensions is pretty cool, but I also don’t mind seeing the astronomy club members run around school causing trouble for everyone.

Shipping in this show is difficult. On the one hand, I understand all to well that the Airi is the better character and is perhaps even the better fit for MC, but I like Kaori way more than I should. Objectively speaking, Kaori isn’t terribly exciting.

She isn’t anywhere near as bad as most weak moeblobs, but she is not as interesting as Airi or some of the other side characters (like the president of the computer club, haha).

But, ugh, her feelings are very genuine and heartfelt and she is the childhood friend. How could I not hope for the childhood friend to win for once?!

That and well, I admittedly have a big crush on Kaori. I think it may be because the show does a real good job of making her look pretty when it wants to.

Not relevant to my crush. Nope, not at all.

Not relevant to my crush. Nope, not at all.

The animation in Motomete is nothing to write home about and it does often drop in quality. That said, I am a fan of the character designs and the “general look” of the show. I like the sharp edges and the “very in focus” look the show often does.

What I perhaps love the most though is the simplistic but great use of lighting to highlight characters. It may in fact be a big part of why I like Kaori so much.

Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete 115 Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete 90 Ushinawareta Mirai wo Motomete 233

(I know the reflection is probably all wrong, but I absolutely love those shiny eyes)

Oh, and white hair is boring. She is really the only character I don’t care for at all (second would be Nagisa though she isn’t that bad).

I have a theory that Yui is actually the daughter of MC-kun because she said he is like a father which might just be an anime thing to say, but maybe it means a bit more in this show.

Gundam Build Fighters Try

Gundam Build Fighters Try

(Image from MAL because I am too lazy to screencap a YouTube video.)

I LOVED Gundam Build Fighters so much. It was one of my favorite anime that finished this year (for some reason, I never wrote an end of season post on it though…).

Build Fighters Try hasn’t yet gotten into the meat of things, but it is definitely continuing the Build Fighters spirit and setting some pretty lofty goals for itself. I can’t wait to see more fights and more character introductions. I am also looking forward to seeing the original cast show up.

Akatsuki no Yona

Hak is every bit the sexy, sassy general I expected him to be.

Hak is every bit the sexy, sassy general I expected him to be.

I wrote a Manga Recommendation for Akatsuki no Yona a while back and my opinion on the manga still stands. It is still one of my favorite mangas and the anime has done a good job of animating it. I am looking forward to seeing the other characters and the fights and stuff like that. Yona is also going to get a character upgrade soon. Don’t worry, she may be cute and weak for now, but she is going to end up pretty strong (mentally I mean) and the change should be great to see.

Akatsuki no Yona 31

Log Horizon 2

Log Horizon 2 15 Log Horizon 2 16 Log Horizon 2 17

Shiroe trying not to laugh is hilarious.

Shiroe trying not to laugh is hilarious.

I loved the first season of Log Horizon and I am loving this one as well.

Log Horizon took a while to start last time around, but this time around, it can afford to jump right in. The few fights we have seen thus far, have been pretty good.

Even if they are just talking about stuff, I don’t really mind because Log Horizon does a surprisingly good job of developing characters and setting through dialogue.

Episode 5 was great. Seeing Akatsuki and Sou fight at their best was a great treat.

Garo: Honoo no Kokuin

Garo 149

Garo is incredible. It has lived up to its hype. Garo has done a fantastic job in building its fantasy setting and it is a great setting. The mysteries surrounding witches and demons, bloodlines and strength and so on are all wonderful. I love how Garo is perfectly fine being dark but never becomes overbearingly so.

Amagi Brilliant Park

Amagi Brilliant Park 239

Amagi Brilliant Park is one high quality anime. It is very well made and polished. But more than just that, it has an interesting cast. I am very fond of Kanye West, Sentos, Moffle, the sheep and pink fairy. It also has a great sense of humor. To be honest, I don’t care much for the park related drama, but I can understand its importance in making these characters shine.

Amagi Brilliant Park 247 Amagi Brilliant Park 248 Amagi Brilliant Park 249

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works

Like every other sane human being, I also have a crush on Archer (or GARcher as he is sometimes known).

Like every other sane human being, I also have a crush on Archer (or GARcher as he is sometimes known).

Good shit. I love the insanely good animation. The fights have been wonderful. That fight in episode 3 against Berserker had some incredibly well polished animation.

My only other exposure to Fate is through Fate/Zero and a small bit of Prism Ilya, so I am quite excited to discover all the mysteries hidden in the Fate universe (those that I haven’t accidentally spoiled myself on…).

Unlike most folk, I don’t really mind the dialogue heavy episodes. I have enough vested interest in the Fate universe and the characters that inhabit it that I don’t really mind the characters talking about stuff. This isn’t necessarily the anime I am enjoying the most this season, but it is the one I look forward to the most.

Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis

Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis 8 Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis 9 Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis 10

This was the surprise, sleeper hit this season. No one expected an anime based on a card game to be this good, but it really is.

I love everything about Bahamut. It does everything a fantasy adventure should do and it does it really well. The world is interesting and mysterious. There is a genuine plot, that while not being super intricate, is more than good enough and perhaps most importantly, the main characters are all very interesting and fun to watch.

Favaro has to be one of the most interesting main characters I have seen in a long time. Amira is hilarious when drunk and the other 2 characters (Kaisar and the zombie girl) are also interesting.

Stuff I didn’t touch yet, but perhaps should:

Mushishi Zoku Shou 2 (Didn’t finish Season 1 yet)

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo (I hear it is bad enough to be worth watching if you can stomach it)

Grisaia no Kajitsu

Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle (Didn’t finish season 1 yet)

Psycho-Pass 2 (Didn’t finish season 1)

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (probably should watch it since I like what I have read of the manga)

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru (haven’t gotten around to it)

Selector Spread Wixoss (Never finished season 1)

Sanzoku no Musume Ronja (haven’t gotten around to it, but I hear it is kind of meh)

My APR submissions

APR (Anime Power Rankings) started up recently and I have tried to vote along. I figured I’d go ahead and mention my votes here:

Note: I forgot to vote on 5th October which was the first week of this season.

Week Ending
12-Oct 19-Oct 26-Oct 01-Nov
Amagi Brilliant Park Rage of Bahamut: Genesis Fate/stay night: UBW Rage of Bahamut: Genesis
Rage of Bahamut: Genesis Amagi Brilliant Park Garo Garo
Fate/stay night: UBW Gundam Build Fighters Try Amagi Brilliant Park Amagi Brilliant Park
Gundam Build Fighters Try Shirobako Rage of Bahamut: Genesis Twintail
Log Horizon 2 Garo Log Horizon 2 Log Horizon 2

My FAL Team

Team: reiseng
Nanatsu no Taizai
Amagi Brilliant Park
Grisaia no Kajitsu
Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de
Denki-gai no Honya-san

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

 

I swapped in Kimo no Uso for Denki-ga, but I did it a bit late.😦 Week 5 results have me placed at 191/409 which is terrible. I don’t know if I am going to bother doing anything to fix this.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

