Weekly Shonen: Bleach 608

Yes, I know this week’s Weekly Shonen chapters are already out and about.

Yes, I know I should be working on that Naruto post I promised god knows when.

Yes, I know I should be working on those upcoming 12 Day posts that I have yet to start.

Yes, I know I am screwed.

Anyway…

Bleach

I didn’t think notice this right away, but a bit after I read the chapter, I thought “hmmm, this may just be actual self-parody.” Last post, I jokingly said that it almost feels like Bleach is making fun of itself. In a strange way, this chapter kind of adds evidence to that claim.

Tite Kubo (the mangaka behind this much beloved series) is praised a lot for his art. There are in general, only two things that I have seen people complain about:

  • Not enough happens per panel or per page.
  • The artwork sometimes has too much black ink.

Take a nice hard look at that second point.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Then recall that this head of Squad Zero basically manipulates black ink……Bleach is maybe, just maybe, making fun of itself here. It is a silly thought, but this is a silly manga!

Bleach Bends to Whim

Anyway, that is pretty much all I have to say. Monk dude is kind of cool, but again, I don’t find myself terribly invested in this fight.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

