12 Days of Anime #7: Barakamon

Barakamon

Barakamon is a true gem. I’d definitely rank it as one of 2014’s best anime. It was both heartwarming and hilarious.

(So, uhh as for what happened, well there is an explanation in bottom of this post. I am sorry for being tardy and terrible!)

If I really wanted, I could

probably rewatch all the episodes and figure out all my favorite scenes. Scenes like the grave festival thing or the IV drip panic or the final phone call or Naru being manly were all really good. But to be honest, I don’t think I can boil this show down to a few most memorable scenes and for some reason, I am having a really hard time talking about Barakamon despite having rewatched several episodes.

Barakamon

Barakamon was all around just a very well put together anime. The humor which came in the form of the villagers trolling sensei or sensei utterly failing at practical life (recall the phone dialing scene) was really funny most of the time. Then of course, there was the character development and all the touching scenes it came with. Yeah, there were no grand confessions, or permanent goodbyes, or moving speeches, but Barakamon excelled when it showed progress through day to day life.

Punching someone doesn't improve them as fast as living in a village does.

Punching someone doesn’t improve them as fast as living in a village does.

Seishu didn’t grow as a character because of difficult events, but simply through introspection and observation of the friends he made in the village. He grew because Naru and the others thought him to have fun and to go with his heart. He grew because he learned that while fundamentals were important, so to is the heart. You can’t have good calligraphy with just one, you need both.

Barakamon

So, is this blend of great comedy and heartwarming growth that I will remember most about Barakamon? I don’t know. To be honest, that probably won’t be the case. A few years from now, if someone asks me if  “I watched Barakamon”, I would respond my saying “yes, I watched it and liked it a lot”. When asked what I liked, I would probably respond with “I don’t know, I just know I liked it”. And for the time being, I am going to assume that that is fine.

WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS BLOG?

Barakamon

So, uhh, I don’t think I have that many faithful readers, but those that I do have, likely deserve somewhat of an explanation. Or, at least I will pretend they do.

Every year, I make these 12 Day posts. Every year, I mess up by not making them ahead of time. It was the same this year, and to be honest, I really didn’t have all that much time and energy after work to do much. Anyway, so I didn’t get the chance to make them ahead of time. I made the 1st one, but well, ended up posting it a few hours late on the 15th instead of the required 14th. Not a big deal.

Unfortunately, that week ending Friday December 19 was my last week at work and in Seattle, so the entire week was spent tidying up work related things, being tired from them and packing up for my move back to Canada. So, I wasn’t able to get any more 12 day posts in. 😦 And well, the GBF post took surprisingly long without good reason.

I flew back to Canada on Sunday the 21st and had to start preparing from my family vacation that started on the 25th. During those 4 or so days, I wrote 5 Twelve Day posts all the while trying to destress after a hectic 4 months without break and packing up for my next trip. Not a great achievement, but by my standards, it was actually pretty good.

Then I went on my trip and came back on Saturday January 3rd. Unfortunately, school started on the 5th, so once more I packed up and left home in my sick (caught a cold), jet lagged state. I didn’t bother posting anything since then because I figured at this point, it would be okay to take a short break and well I had a fair bit of work to do for school as well.

Excuses, excuses. This post could have been out as part of the 5 that went out before, but I actually spent a fair bit of time thinking about what to say about Barakamon. In the end, I couldn’t figure out what to say, but I knew I needed a post on it (I liked the show a lot), so this iffy “I will simply remember it for being good” is the end result.

Anyway, to prevent false hopes, I am not going to publish this until I get the remaining 5 posts done.

Barakamon

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

