Quick Spring 2015 Impressions Part 2

I am basically a month late with Part 2, but well, better late than never. (Part 1 can be found here.) Like usual, I haven’t actually bothered trying out everything this season, so this list only includes 8 anime. I don’t think I will bother trying out anything else, unless there is a strong incentive to do so.

Kyoukai no Rinne

Nurgh, these two are so cute together.

hnnng, these two are so cute together.

I like KnR a lot! It isn’t a blockbuster anime that I will fondly remember in my old age, but it is nice, light-hearted fun. I like fluffy things, but most fluffy anime have very little actual plot or interesting stuff (cute girls who compliment one another’s cuteness is all you normally get), so it is great to see something like KnR. The episodes are sorta episodic with some carry over, but they are very easy to digest and quite nice to watch. There is a nice, simple romance brewing (my favourite kind of romance) and the character designs are some of my favourites this season (yes, they look familiar, but in a world of identical moeblobs, these old fashioned designs are very refreshing!).

I don’t look forward to KnR because I am desperate to see more of the story (well, kinda am on the shipping front), but mostly because it puts me in a good frame of mind.

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha ViVid

Ahhhhh, my eyes. That hairstyle and eye color. Way too asymmetric!

Ahhhhh, my eyes. That hairstyle and eye color. Way too asymmetric!

I tried the first episode recently because Highway recommended it. It wasn’t a bad introductory episode! I am curious and considering watching more. My main reservations are that I feel slightly weird watching a magical girls show like this (not going to lie, seeing 10 year old girls “transform” isn’t my thing) and well, I have no prerequisite knowledge of the franchise, which might not be totally necessary, but I feel that I’d have more of an appreciation for the adults in the show if I did have it.

Also the character design of Vivo and some of the other characters is just annoyingly asymmetric! I might watch the later episodes if I get the chance. ViVid definitely seems like a reasonably decent show to kill time with.

Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku

This show is worth watching just for her faces.

This show is worth watching just for her faces.

Surprisingly enough, this is one of my favourite shows this season. There isn’t much of a story. The visuals aren’t amazing (that fight in episode 4 was terrible!). Apart from Eruna and Akuma, there hasn’t been a lot of character development either. But, Mikagura is a heck of a lot of fun. The MC is not only super cute, but hilarious with her yuri antics and over the top enthusiasm.

Even though Mikagura is nowhere near as technically proficient as something like Hibike! Euphonium, it is so much more fun and genuine. It really feels like this show has heart and given that the number of character interactions is only going to go up from here, I predict it will become even better as the massive side cast gets developed bit by bit.

Nisekoi

Nisekoi S2 5

My dreams of seeing Marika win will never come true. ;-;

 

Nisekoi is back~

I am an episode behind, but I will probably catch up at some point. It is more pointless antics with no actual progress, but lots of cute faces and a bit of funny slapstick humour. Oh, and those amazing visuals.

Ore Monogatari!!

Ore Monogatari!! 540

I am one of anitwitter’s biggest advocates for cute shoujo, so naturally OreMono is a top tier watch. I like the manga, and I am really glad it got a good anime (especially because not much of the manga is translated, so the anime will go beyond the translated chapters very quickly). That said, some of the manga’s problems are probably more apparent in the anime. The whole Takeo keeps saving someone shtick is getting old for quite a few people. I can’t remember how many more he will save, but hopefully it won’t be too much and I think for most fans, the cuteness of their relationship more than makes up for the shortcomings.

Ore Monogatari!! 544

Punchline

I watched one episode and found it interesting? Of course, I didn’t buy into the whole panties thing, but the rest of the anime seemed wacky and interesting and stuff. I just haven’t had the motivation to watch any more of it. Maybe I will catch up by season end, or maybe this anime will also fade into my “should consider watching, but never will” list.

Triage X

Triage X 34

The classy watch of the season…..

This show is dumb. Like, real dumb! It has “surgeons” who literally kill bad people because the bad people are like tumors to society (yes, they use lots of pseudo smart medical terms). It is hilarious how over the top the villains are. Like, they literally have no excuse to be this evil, but they are. There is no “I do what I thought was right.”. It is all “I AM GOING TO BE EVIL AND DO TERRIBLE THINGS TO THIS HOSTAGE BEFORE THE GOOD GUYS COME AND KILL ME FOR BEING EVIL AND SHIT”. Funny stuff.

Triage X 119

Yamada-kun to Nananin no Majo

Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches 387

So much better than the manga. Don’t get me wrong, I like the Yamada manga (what I have read of it anyway), but the anime is so much better paced, the voices are so well done and I am a fan of how “fun” it tries to be. I was always kinda meh about Shiraishi in the manga, but I genuinely like her animated variant.  This feeling is there for the other characters as well, especially Ito.

Yamada-kun and the Seven Witches 311

I hadn’t noticed it until someone rudely pointed it out on twitter (cough Kvin cough), but the animation is kinda crap and it is a real shame because good adaptations like this deserve better!

I am going to keep watching Yamada-kun because this is nice, cute, slightly trashy and well worth my time.  Oh and it has one of the best opening sequences this season.

Too cute!

Too cute!

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

