Joukamachi no Dandelion is a lot of fun.

Joukamachi no Dandelion 527

2 days ago, I caught up to OverLord and today I caught up to another anime that had totally slipped under my radar: Joukamachi no Dandelion (Castle Town Dandelion). I haven’t been active on twitter as of late, so I guess anything that isn’t on Crunchy is pretty much going unnoticed by yours truly (Funimation is killing anime, etc, etc…).

Anyway, the 4 episodes of Castle Town Dandelion that are out have been surprisingly enjoyable.

Dandelion is a rather unusual story. It feautures a cast of 9 siblings who happen to be the children of the king and thus posess supernatural powers. From what has been shown thus far, it would appear that no one apart from the royal family has these abilities and yet, none of the ordinary citizens think much of them (i.e. ordinary citizens are not scared, obviously jealous, or even all that enamored with the powers). That is to say, the powers are really just another facet of the characters and mostly serve to help out with some nice character interactions (mostly between siblings).

There is a central plot of sorts in the form of an election the siblings must compete in, but fortunately, this isn’t the kind of show that will involve fratricide or cruel sabotage. I am quite fond of this lighthearted approach. Thus far, the show has put the characters and their slice of life antics up front and central and having created a large, colorful, varied cast, it has succeeded in creating fun, easily digestable episodes. Well, mostly fun. The Akane panty jokes are a little bit of a stretch, but they haven’t reached not funny levels yet and more importantly, there haven’t been any panty shots yet! Yay.

Joukamachi no Dandelion 286

The colors in this shot are actually rather well done. I like how her best friend is also having a nosebleed.

The characters are fairly archetypal, but that’s not a bad thing. None of the characters are detestable or boring and they are distinct enough from one another, that I have no qualms with watching them goof around with family and friends. The characters feel familiar, but I really like how none of them are exagerated to an annoying extent. Akane might be unimaginably shy around strangers, but at least she doesn’t punch anyone that gets near (cough Mahiru Inami cough). Akane is actually surprisingly likable as a main character. I am so used to seeing characters with her art design turn out to be hyperviolent tsunderes, that a quiet shy girl was a very pleasant surprise (kind of…I spoiled that by reading one of Draggle’s posts…).

Joukamachi no Dandelion 382

Similarly, Kanade was initially implied to be a serious, ambitious person whocouldn’t tolerate Akane at all, but she was shown to be very affectionate towards Akane when Akane’s life was in danger. And maybe, that is why I like this show. This group of siblings genuinely love one another and perhaps for that alone, Dandelion is worth keeping an eye on.

Oh and this show looks good, and the facial expressions are amazing. Akane makes the best faces. I am so happy I finally have a non violent tsundere lead I can call cute. (Pic spam ahead~)

Joukamachi no Dandelion 1 Joukamachi no Dandelion 2 Joukamachi no Dandelion 114 Joukamachi no Dandelion 90 Joukamachi no Dandelion 47 Joukamachi no Dandelion 34 Joukamachi no Dandelion 25 Joukamachi no Dandelion 10 Joukamachi no Dandelion 119 Joukamachi no Dandelion 124 Joukamachi no Dandelion 128 Joukamachi no Dandelion 144 Joukamachi no Dandelion 156

If I didn't have a crush on Shu, I'd declare Borscht best boy.

If I didn’t have a crush on Shu, I’d declare Borscht best boy.

Joukamachi no Dandelion 208

Again, I love the colors.

Again, I love the colors.

Joukamachi no Dandelion 218 Joukamachi no Dandelion 248 Joukamachi no Dandelion 262 Joukamachi no Dandelion 277 Joukamachi no Dandelion 305 Joukamachi no Dandelion 339 Joukamachi no Dandelion 354 Joukamachi no Dandelion 400 Joukamachi no Dandelion 408 Joukamachi no Dandelion 439

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on August 2, 2015 - 11:04 am

    I like the show overall, but I think they overdo it with Akane’s shyness. I understand that that’s part of the whole thing, but every segment has it. She can’t do anything without it being a major factor. I realize that going back to it again and again and again is mostly because of the 4-koma source, but it gets a little heavy-handed.

    The other kids are doing well as they bring in more of them. I like Akane’s character, and like the way she plays off the other ones, when she’s not overdoing it with shyness.

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 3, 2015 - 10:10 am

      Yeah, I think I noted that as well. The shyness is there a tad bit too much. I am guessing she will get slightly better with time? Watching Akane play off the other kids (or them playing off of one another) is really just the best part of the show.

  1. Summer 2015: End of Season thoughts | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

