Shimoneta is incredible.

Shimoneta 89

Despite the amazing reviews it was receiving, I put of watching Shimoneta until last night. I think more so than its lewd nature (everyone knows I like lewd things), it was the setting that put me off.

I dislike the idea of over-controlling, heavily censored dystopian societies so much, that even a fictional depiction is hard for me to consider watching.

But, well, almost everyone seems to like this, so I forced myself to man up a little and give it a shot. As expected, I ended up loving it. I love this show so much, it is now a solid contender for anime of the season along with Gatchaman Crowds (I need to watch episode 3 though…) and Prison School.

I think Shimoneta is rather relatable for a lot of us, especially if you grew up in an uptight society like Conservative parts of the US, or a lot of Asia. I spent four and a half years of my childhood in the Middle East and Shimoneta definitely hit home.

I remember in Grade 5/6, my Science textbook had the pages talking about human reproduction glued together. I remember a letter from the teacher for our parents that read along the lines of “You should buy your kid a Science Encyclopedia and I recommend gluing together any /bad/ pages”. Of course, we still managed to gleam some info out of the school textbooks and of course, we always kept our eyes open for any new textbook that the teacher hadn’t glued yet. More so, a lack of proper education and the society’s insistence on being proper didn’t stop anyone from being curious or lewd.

I still remember overhearing one or two lewd conversations in the changing room. I remember trying to browse the internet trying to figure out how the nuts and bolts fit together, partly due to lust, partly due to curiousity. I remember my friend using a school library computer to browse an adult flash video game website that he had found.  I remember browsing through a sand dune tour guide’s cellphone and finding a naked woman (which due to my lack of Arabic comprehension, I accidentally set as his wallpaper – woops, but don’t worry, I managed to fix it without him noticing). I remember grinning on the inside when I heard younger kids talk about how a “man must pee in a woman to get her pregnant”. I grinned because I was confident that I had figured it all out, when I still knew nothing.

Shimoneta 656

It is surprisingly hard to figure out anything on your own (but that won’t stop anyone from trying..), especially if your internet is censored and not quite as vast or accessible as it is today. To make matters worse, due to school transfers and scheduling conflicts, my education in such matters was effectively null till Grade 10, where we learned a little bit (under the assumption that all the important stuff had been covered in earlier Grades…). Anyway, I did figure out the important bits (I think), so there was no real loss, but the curious, clueless attitude demonstrated by Shimoneta’s students is definitely relatable. And I am sure it is relatable for a lot of people for similar reasons.

If you ignore the dystopian, future tech, Shimoneta’s setting is honestly not that different from where I grew up or even much different from modern Japan, where you are actually meant to be rather uptight and proper in public (all the ecchi anime is a lie and I am pretty sure most Japanese people are not openly lewd). If you follow tech news and are sort of up to date with all the privacy scandals of these past few years, then the setting becomes even more frightening because while the tech is definitely exaggerated to the point of being near impossible, some of it feels like it could actually be possible if any backwards society really wanted it and had the money to do it.

Shimoneta 369

More importantly, Shimoneta talks about the effect such a setting has on the students. The students are not only totally clueless about biology, but because of it, they can’t even express love properly. The students still try to talk about lewd things, they still try to learn about their bodies and they still have dirty thoughts that they now have to repress and don’t even truly understand why. The finest (and craziest) example came in the fourth episode when the purest student of all, sexually assaulted someone because she thought that is what it meant to express love. She not only did not know what a lewd act actually was, but she didn’t realize that love and lewd sometimes go hand in hand. Shimoneta 550

Shimoneta 1156

She also had no idea that even when giving into love, you gotta respect people’s boundaries. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting the anime to go so far, but well, it did and it was rather shocking. The relatable setting and its consequences is Shimoneta’s third greatest strength. Its second greatest strength is the cast.

Shimoneta 749

Shimoneta features a wacky, very fun cast. Each character is distinct and despite some exaggerated quirks, they feel rather human. I am especially fond of the Scientist girl and her various experimental attempts at deducting the truth. She demonstrates excellent scientific methods, though she might want to invest in mammals and not flies.

Shimoneta 413

The main girl is also quite likeable. Bad jokes aside, she is definitely fighting for what she thinks is right and you really do end up sympathizing with her. Even the MC, despite his wimp like appearance,  is not a total loser and is quite a good Straight Man to Kajou’s jokes. Episode 4 took a rather dark turn and I am not quite sure Anna is wacky anymore (she looked really, really broken there at the end), but I will try to have faith in this show’s handling of character development…

Shimoneta 964

Finally, the show’s greatest strength is quite simply its humour. The way the SOX organization goes about educating youth, the dancing in the opening/ending, the euphemisms and innuendos people use to get by censors, the shit that comes out of Kajou’s mouth, almost all of it is hilarious. Sure, some of the BEEPS BEEPS BEEPS are a little unnecessary, but all in all, jokes are everywhere and almost all of them are hilarious. Some scenes in particular, like the fly mating video were absolutely hilarious. That scene is probably going to be one of my favourite anime moments this year.

Shimoneta 309

I spent most of this post talking about how Shimoneta is relatable and provides good social commentary on sexual education and morality, but really, when it comes down to it, this show is good because it is damn funny. It is absolutely hilarious and that is just the way it should be. After all, crass humor is timeless, right?

Shimoneta 827

Weep, you girls. My penis has given you up. Now it penetrates men’s behinds. Goodbye, wondrous femininity!

Restitutus says: “Restituta, take off your tunic, please, and show us your hairy privates”.

Theophilus, don’t perform oral sex on girls against the city wall like a dog

Roman grafitti found in Pompeii

Oh and this show might also win the award for opening/ending song of the season. They are both really good.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by El Goopo on July 30, 2015 - 1:00 pm

    I must be the world’s least funny person, because I find Shimoneta less funny than Dandelion, Rinne, Actually I’m, and so on. People tell me this is hilarious, but to me it’s just tired. It feels like a kid doing an impression of a 90’s comedian’s stand-up act for little kids. There have been maybe four snicker-worthy gags. And the social commentary stuff is just plain boring… Psycho Pass was interesting, so far this is just a thinly-veiled excuse to say “remember when you were young and it was funny to say ‘pee pee’?” while still pretending there’s actual depth present. I don’t usually drop shows that I’m watching with others, but this one is on the verge, because so far the most interesting scene was one you’d get in an average borderline hentai anime where a sexually-repressed girl suddenly gets un-repressed.

    • #2 by Reiseng on July 30, 2015 - 1:43 pm

      That’s totally fair. Comedy is very subjective and the crass kind even more so (sorry if I implied otherwise).

      I probably sung Shimoneta’s praises a bit too strongly because I am pretty good at ignoring the unfunny bits as long as they don’t last very long.

      Don’t worry, you aren’t the world’s least funny person (Dandelion, Rinne and Actually I’m are all funny).

  2. #3 by Highway on August 2, 2015 - 10:58 am

    I don’t think you oversold the show. It’s been tremendous, especially from a show that almost noone was talking about before the series. Another strength that it has is the ability to blast through the B-part of the show making you feel like you’re on the edge of your seat. Anna chasing Blue Snow around the school, the hijacking of the presentation with the fly video and Ayame’s voiceover, Anna’s late-night incursion into Tanukichi’s room. It keeps the first part of the show funny, and sets up just an absolutely ridiculous situation of action and comedy in the second part.

    And I think that having Ayame’s ‘terrorism’ be mostly shouting out “Dick” and what we might call ‘childish’ puns and references is half the point of the show. The sophistication that we might expect from sex humor is something that you can only do when you know more about it. When your audience is a bunch of kids that don’t even know how babies are made, the things that shock them are going to be pretty basic. Even Ayame is pretty ignorant from our point of view. So yes, it is like little kids thinking it’s funny, but I think that’s part of the message.

    • #4 by Reiseng on August 3, 2015 - 10:08 am

      ^_^
      Yup, I totally agree. The way the show sets up everything and then executes it is very good. It is surprisingly well paced, actually and there is never really a dull moment. Even when they are just talking and making plans, the show just runs through it all.

      And yeah, I think I agree on the yelling out bit as well. Ayame is just trying to be as crass as possible and in the only way she knows how as well.

  3. #5 by Kai on August 18, 2015 - 8:41 am

    I dropped the show at episode 2, kind of a dumb reason though-too much bugs… xD

    From my limited viewing of the anime, I never thought of it that way, though I didn’t watch that much to formulate any kind of view, admittedly, so that’s a rather interesting line of thought.

    • #6 by Reiseng on October 6, 2015 - 12:29 am

      Oh woops. I totally forgot about this comment Kai and lol, bugs. Well, Shimoneta is not for everyone, but if you can get over the bugs, then give it another shot. 🙂

  4. #7 by buck wade on October 23, 2015 - 11:58 pm

    I still can’t believe that of all the possible media, a *comedy anime* would end up pulling humor combined with smart, unique social commentary that hasn’t been seen before in its species (at least I haven’t) it (in my opinion) takes sexual humor to a completely different twist and level. Dang though, if they just announce a 2nd season and ends on a solid note this will become my favorite comedy anime of all time. Such a blast. I mean don’t get me wrong, Baka and Test, and My bride is a mermaid are still hilarious, but I feel as though Shimoneta focuses so much on building up those jokes while making the setting relatable and providing good social commentary.

    • #8 by Reiseng on October 26, 2015 - 7:32 pm

      Yup! Shimoneta does a great job at mixing commentary and humor. I would love a second season.

  1. Summer 2015: End of Season thoughts | Toxic Muffin

Leave a Reply

