Summer 2015: End of Season thoughts

Shimoneta 1789

Ideally, I should make an end of post for every anime I watched this past season, but that seems like too much work. So, here are some short thoughts on whatever I managed to muddle through.

Arslan Senki

We must protect this smile.

We must protect this smile.

I started watching Arslan back in Spring as it aired (since I really liked the few chapters of the manga that I had read), but then fell behind and forgot about it. A bit after it finished airing, I caught up and watched it all in one go.

The CG used in the military battles is terrible and sometimes the other visuals are also not so great. It has some very nice backgrounds though. I had a few “moral” quips with the show, chief among is the fact that soldiers die in the thousands and no one gives a damn at all (maybe it is because they are just CG paper dolls…).

I also wasn’t a super big fan of where Etoile ended up. I didn’t mind the “twist”, but wasn’t so fond of the Etoile being happy while handling a baby scene near the end. It felt a bit too cheesy.

All of that said, Arslan is a fantastic adventure. This is definitely a show worth watching especially if you have any sort of interest in Persian history. I mean, it doesn’t match history or even geography at all, but seeing it make an attempt at reproducing some of the Empire’s cities is nice. The cast is also really likeable and there are some very touching moments. If I get the time, I’d like to do a post talking about Arslan’s view of history and language, but it would require a lot of research on my part.:/

Oh and going back to visual quality for a second, that final fight between Daryin and Silver Mask was really good. I especially love how the music syncs up with it. Actually the background music in Arslan was really good.

This show really needs a second season. The conflict was definitely not over by the end.

Chaos Dragon: Sekiryuu Sen’eki

My favourite girl, though perhaps not best girl.

My favourite girl, though perhaps not best girl. Thinking about her makes me ;_;.

Surprisingly okay! I picked up Chaos Dragon because Draggle liked it and he mentioned something about the girl with freckles being cute.

It was a reasonably easy thing to watch with tragedy so overdone, it became funny.

Charlotte

 

I stopped watching Charlotte after the first episode, but then I played catchup twice (2-10, 11-13). I liked Charlotte a fair bit more than most people.

I think people were upset over how silly and seemingly dumb it got towards the end where it abandoned the slow school life stuff and focused on some overly ambitious, almost nonsensical plot about saving kids by stealing their powers.

I think that is fair criticism and to be honest the very idea that superpowers like these is treated as a disease is kind of silly. That said, this is one those, err, “Key” works where you shouldn’t really use your head, but your heart or something (if you actually want to try and get something out of it).

That sounds dumb. I guess you could also call it a rollercoaster where you get great scenic views at the top, blistering speed at the bottom and a broken rail made of rotten wood in-between.

Anyway, I found Charlotte to be amusing enough. It is not something that will make my top 2015 anime, nor something I will remember for long, but it was good entertainment.

Also Tomori is cute as fuck.

 

Classroom☆Crisis

Classroom Crisis 208

Sigh. Please read my post on how CC has doomed anime. I am still bitter over it. I am so bitter that I gave Charlotte a better rating on MAL even though CC was in most ways a better show.

Danchigai

Danchigai 19

This show features the best kind of incest. All of those “we are like siblings but not blood related” incest shows can get lost. I demand the real thing. Well, Danchigai doesn’t really pursue the true incest route (I actually wish it did~), but eh, it is all right.

It was an easy thing to watch and its short nature provided a few minutes of distraction nearly every week. I guess it was kind of touching at times, but nowhere near the level of “I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying”. Now that was a genuinely amazing short.

Jitsu wa Watashi wa

Jitsu wa Watashi wa 1

A few episodes into Jitsu wa Watashi wa, I had written most of a blog post on it. Then WordPress decided to eat my draft and I was too cross to write it again. Terrible, I know.

This show was totally my thing. Nice, simple romance with fantastic character designs. It was a harem, but avoided a lot of the dumber harem cliches like frequent panty shots or accidental groping or hyper violent tsunderes.

The girls were all so cute. This is one those rare “there ain’t no girl bad enough to be called worst girl” shows. I think, Aizawa might have been best girl by a small margin though I was shipping Youko x MC.

Good stuff. Even the principal who had the worst design (in my eyes) was hilarious.

The manga is still ongoing, so I could see a second season happening and I would almost certainly watch it.

Oh and this show had the absolute best faces.

Jitsu wa Watashi wa 5 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 11 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 13 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 20 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 22 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 32 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 35 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 39 Jitsu wa Watashi wa 40

Prison School

Prison School 387

Anime of the year, every year.

Prison School is fantastic. Go watch it. Well, it is not really for everyone. If you can’t stomach a bit of ecchi and lots of gross bodily fluids (mostly just the Vice President’s sweat), you probably won’t like Prison School. If you are okay with that or are very open minded about your entertainment, please watch Prison School.

The visuals were lovely (and much, much better than what people were expecting before the staff was announced) and the sound direction (all those gross sounds!) is amazing. Prison School is comedy gold. The kinky hijinks between Kiyoshi and Hana were especially hilarious. The Chairman was naturally the best character.

I would very much like a second season.

Prison School 519

(Note: We started watching this in Classy, but then I kinda drifted away this season and ended up watching it all on my own.)

Overlord

OverLord 944

I like shit like Overlord. I will admit that it became a little bit less interesting when it started focusing so much on Shaltear, but it was still a fun ride.

I don’t think the way the game world merged with the real world was all that good (felt silly seeing them say dumb spell names as they chanted them), but apart from that, this is my kind of LN trash. If there is a second season, I will probably watch it.

Rokka no Yuusha

Best boy.

Best boy.

I enjoyed Rokka a fair bit, but never felt super invested in it for some reason. I did enjoy the 7th person mystery and all that, but it is a pity that the show ended without them doing anything other than trying to solve that mystery. The 7th’s reasoning was also kind of silly. I’d rather it have been a full blown “I just hate humans” and not the silly “I will kill a few to make peace” thing.

Also that ending was terrible. They just had to go and introduce that cow person.

Rokka no Yuusha 41

Shimoneta

Shimoneta 1595

Anime of the year, every year.

Okay, I already used that phrase, but Shimoneta is wonderful. While it only covered the first three episodes, the stuff I said in my impressions post still holds true.

I felt the second bit of Shimoneta, which focused on stopping perverted terrorists, was a tad bit weaker than the first. The Anna assaulting Okuma joke probably outlived its welcome though I admittedly still laughed…I found her sense of smell to be outright hilarious though. The things she did to get his underwear…

Shimoneta also featured this year’s most creative villain in White Peak. I mean the guy not only wears panties (used panties at that), but drinks wine panties…He was so over the top and I love how in the end, his only goal was more panties. He didn’t even care about getting caught (actually he understood that he would). He just wanted to enjoy his panty paradise for as long as he could.

The last episode was a filler and while not being as high quality as everything else in this show, I thought it was a reasonably okay end. I wouldn’t mind a second season.

Shimoneta 2111

I am tempted to claim that this or Prison School were the funniest anime I have seen this year, but we already have new contenders for that title.

Working!!!

Working!!! 143

Technically this show isn’t over as there is a special that has yet to air (Working!!! Lord of the Takanashi). I never watched Working before this season. After the classy crew insisted I look into it, I went and watched all of the previous seasons and caught up to this one. Working is really good and this season was especially great because SHIPS CAME TRUE!

The entire reason I started watching was because how happy my Classy friends were over development in the Sato x Todoroki front. I was so happy to see it work out right in front of me. Sure, it took until basically the end before they actually got together, but it was SO CUTE. It is a pity the Inami x Takanashi relationship will take until the special airs before being resolved, but it should be cute as well. I didn’t like Inami at all when I first started, but she really grew on me.

Really, the best part of Working!!! were the relationships between the characters. Everything from Souma teasing Satou, to Satou smacking Souma, to Yamada’s antics, to Satou bullying Popura and every other thing these goofs did to one another was lovely. It all felt so smooth and natural after a while.

Oh and while the opening grew on me over the season, that ending, that ending was always unbelievably good.

Working!!! 168 Working!!! 170 Working!!! 169 Working!!! 171

(Dammit, those two are just too good together.)

Should Watch

Gakkou Gurashi!

People seem to have really loved School Live! I really don’t wan’t to watch it though. I am not totally sure why. I will leave it alone for now.

Gatchaman Crowds Insight

I watched three episodes of Insight, loved it and stopped. I have been meaning to get back to it, but I haven’t been able to convince myself to watch more, yet. I know I will love it though. The 1st season is one of my all time favourite anime.

Akagami no Shirayukihime

Akagami no Shirayukihime 8

I am a big, big fan of the manga. I watched a few episodes of the anime, but then stopped. It didn’t really click for me for some reason, but I think I will try it again sometime. I really do want to see Zen and Shirayuki kiss. ^_^

Gate

I have read a bit of the manga and watched an episode of the anime. I was letting it build up a few episodes, but eh, now I don’t really feel like watching it. There is plenty of good stuff to see this Fall season.

Joukamachi no Dandelion

Joukamachi no Dandelion 339

I watched till episode 9 then forgot to watch more. If I get the time, I will watch some more. I did like what I saw of it.

Ranpo Kitan: Game of Laplace

Some people like this. I didn’t try it.

Symphogear GX

I haven’t seen season 1, but I have sort of seen season 2 with Classy. Anitwitter is head over heels in love with season 3, so maybe, someday, I will watch the entire series properly.

Continuing on

Ushio to Tora

Ushio to Tora 83 Ushio to Tora 84

I love Ushio to Tora. It is classic, old school Shonen and is presented really well. The old school character designs,the nice simple fights and the lovely banter between Ushio and Tora are all lovely. I hope it continues to be good.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by JekoJeko on October 12, 2015 - 7:01 pm

    The thing about Key works is that even if they don’t require too much intellectual investment (Angel Beats! being the exception), they have a continuity of plot, character and theme and a sense of holistic appreciation from the author towards the end (Angel Beats! and Clannad’s endings come to mind). Charlotte didn’t just lack those things for me – it insulted my investment in certain characters by screwing up development in the most bizarre ways possible. I wrote a lengthy assassination of the finale, and the show as a whole, on my blog, so I’ll just share that.

    https://unnecessaryexclamationmark.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/charlotte-13-super-sized-final-loss-of-hope/

    The only thing I didn’t mention there, since I realised it after making the post, was the fact that none of the powers Yuu steals in the finale have the same nature of ‘consequences’. It’s like the writers just forgot about that, which made any thematic or symbolic effect from the powers being pubescent – and manifesting flaws of that period of youth – dead in the icy waters beneath the frozen lake that I made the mistake of trying to dig into.

    Also, Gakkou Gurashi! really is good. Watch the first episode the whole way through and you’ll know if it’s your sort of thing or not without being negatively affected if it isn’t.

    • #2 by Reiseng on October 13, 2015 - 2:03 am

      Haha, yeah, that is true. I guess I wasn’t all that invested in the cast of Charlotte. It has been a while since I have seen a Key work though so my internal compass could have been of as well.

      Thanks for the Gakkou Gurashi rep. I will add it to my list that I will get to someday…!

Leave a Reply

