Bi-Weekly Shonen: Bleach 648-649, One Piece 804-805

Sorry this post is so late!

usopp slaughtered

Bleach

bleach kyouraku reaction

I liked 648. I liked Shunsui’s banka though I didn’t really bother trying to understand it or the stories it references, but it doesn’t matter. It was cool and I liked how everyone was scared when he activated it. A Captain Commander’s bankai should evoke fear on a grand scale! Well to be fair, there was once a time when any bankai evoked that reaction, but alas!

THAT ART

THAT ART

Chapter 649 was going really well. You know, Shunsui was casually owning annoying sniper dude and then a weird, but lovely romance spawned between him and his sword!

AWWW

AWWW

 

I liked that. Sure, it is kind of weird to fall in love with your sword, but whatever! It was so sweet and lovely and then that happened. Stupid Quincy last second powerup beam thing. This is why I hate Bleach. This is why we can’t have nice things.

SUCH BULLSHIT. JUST WHEN I WAS REALLY ENJOYING IT. I HATE THIS MANGA.

SUCH BULLSHIT. JUST WHEN I WAS REALLY ENJOYING IT. I HATE THIS MANGA.

One Piece

Secret Confession: I thought I had read it last week, but apparently I totally forgot to finish chapter 840 (I think I read 1 page, got distracted and forgot about it…). I guess that is bad of me, but this way I got to read 2 chapters at once and boy oh boy did they pack in a lot.

Right, so where do I begin…For starters, you can go listen to the OPP podcast for 804 (podcast episode 391). They do a better job of talking about the little details than I ever could.

This was evil. Seeing what could have been. ;___;

This was evil. Showing us what could have been. ;___;

At the beginning of 804, we got the long Ryunosuke gag and I liked it. It was amusing and even more so because of Robin’s fascination with the “cute” dragon thing.

ryuunosuke

Then we got to see the new island/world itself. Holy crap.

That architecture.

That architecture. Those trees. The amazing background detail!

Luffy immediately runs of and gets separated (typical Luffy). The others run into an electric claw using bunny and an alligator riding poodle (wearing Nami’s clothes). Then in the next chapter, Luffy meets up with Law’s doctor as well as the poodle (the Traffy joke thing was pretty funny – I am glad Luffy clarified that in clear terms though) and the bunny.

one piece guardians

pfffft

one piece traffy

All in all we learn the following:

  • Sanji and the others are supposedly corpses.
  • The city was vibrant and alive 2 weeks ago, but then some guy called Jack destroyed everything.
  • The Whale Forest has a whole bunch of strong guardians who are really strong when the moon is out (Luffy has a hard time detecting the ones in hiding – this is unusual).
  • The Mink are cool and very varied.
  • Oh and we got the start of a new cover arc.

Looks like we already have the name of the end boss. This arc is moving faster than expected. As for the corpses, I assume Sanji and the others aren’t actually dead. Some people have suggested that it is just a knocked out Brook, but it could be something more serious. We will see, hopefully next chapter!

 

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

