Some notes on Grimgar episode 04: I am not pleased.

I watched Grimgar episode 04 and ended up rather upset afterwards. Those of you who have seen it can probably guess why, but if you haven’t, go watch it before reading this post. Don’t worry. It is not a bad episode….I am just irrationally unhappy.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 90

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 57

Episode 4 starts of innocently enough. The crew are finally having some success beating up goblins and can now take down three at a time. WOHOO! They have a little chat afterwards where Manato iterates through each of their best points and conveniently gets interrupted before he can talk about Haruhiro. Haruhiro makes a remark about asking later and then the narration implies that there will be no later. OH NO.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 109 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 141 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 142 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 143

And surely enough, after 1 slightly careless mistake (letting their guard down), the crew ends up in trouble and Manato dies. DIES.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 233

I don’t really mind cool characters dying. In fact I rather like the sad feeling a good heroic/tragic death gives me, but I wasn’t really happy with this episode! I wasn’t sad over his death. Rather, I was just a bit disappointed it happened. Here, let’s boil down the good and bad.

Good (What the anime hopes to achive):

  • Manato’s sudden death reinforces the harsh nature of the world they live in.
  • Manato’s sudden death reminds the others that they can’t be careless, so now they will be more careful in the future.
  • They were all relying on Manato, so now they learn to be more self-reliant.
  • They are all going to get some character development getting over or coming to terms with this death (they already sorta did this episode).

Now, those are all good things to do in a story and I understand why the story is progressing that way, but there are a bunch of reasons why I am not happy over it.

Bad (Why I am irrationally upset):

  • Manato’s dialogue with Haruhiro was amazing. We won’t get that any more.
  • Manato’s ship with Shihoru was coming along! It would have been so cute if they had gotten together. Now, poor Shihoru will be all alone and shipless.😦
  • Manato held the group together and now we are sort of back at square one. The poor kids have to figure out how to kill things without him.😦
  • The focus now shifts to a more dramatic “kids getting over friend’s death” away from “kids try to survive day to day”. I was rather enjoying the day to day survival approach, and I am not a super big fan of drama.
  • Haruhiro will probably turn into a bit too much of a strict leader in place of Manato before relaxing back again. It is good character development, but it will be painful and possibly cringe worthy.😦
  • Manato was sexy in those tight shirts.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 25

Anyway, while I understand why the show got rid of Manato, I still feel like it is a big shame. The day to day dialogue and gentle friendship was something I really wanted more of. I know some other cute girl will replace him and I hope she is great, but for now, I am bummed over what could have been!

Other notes:

-The money bit at the end was pretty good. At first, I thought it meant that Haruhiro was shoving aside his friend’s death for more practical matters, but he surprised me by insisting they pay for it because he was their friend. That was good.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 225 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 226 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 229

-Yume is so adorable. I love her legs.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 55 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 95 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 121 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 126

-Haruhiro nodding his head along to Yume’s was such a nice touch (via Reddit).

-I laughed hearing the Priest with his Kotomine Kirei voice. Such a distinct voice! I love it and the anime’s depiction of him as a very stoic priest is totally right (apparently in the LN he cries, but obviously Kotomine would never cry).

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 248

-The art in this show is still magnificent. The end cards of the entire cast crying were so well drawn. The animation in the fight scenes was also spot on. Good Production values here.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 237 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 238 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 239 Hai to Gensou no Grimgar 241

-If you want, you can read this long comment on the importance of this death. I agree….but still….

How, do you feel about Manato’s passing? Let me know in the comments! (<- Blatant request for comments.)

 

 

 

,

  1. #1 by El Goopo on February 1, 2016 - 11:54 am

    Your reasons for being upset seem plenty rational to me?

    • #2 by Reiseng on February 1, 2016 - 7:56 pm

      hah, thanks for the support!

      I did write this post at like 4AM, so I wasn’t even sure what is rational or not.

  2. #3 by Gwne on March 1, 2016 - 10:52 pm

    I agree!! Manato was super sexy in those tight shirts, especially the black one. Kinda sad I won’t see him again😦
    Plus, I still want to know why he thinks that he himself is not “suitable for having friends” or that he thinks he is “born to be shouted at”, just all the things related to their past. But maybe that was just my interpretation of his death flags

    • #4 by Reiseng on March 2, 2016 - 10:49 pm

      Yeah, we didn’t really learn much about his past, huh. Glad you agree with me. ^_^

Leave a Reply

