Spring 2016: Season Preview

Hello,

You might have noticed that this blog has been totally dead for the past month or so. I wish I could blame real life work, but I can’t even do that. Not even anime or videogames (except maybe Fate/Grand Order) can be blamed. No, well I won’t bore you with more details about my general lack of motivation.

Anyway, in my opinion one of the best ways to actually make a post when you are in a slump is to make a simple dumb list. And season previews are the simplest of dumb lists! (At least the kind I can write up.) …This actually ended up being very exhausting though!

In the interest of time and effort, I am not going to bother copying in any story blurbs or cast details. Please, take a look at anichart for yourself and plenty of other blogs have more exhaustive details. All images stolen from MAL or Anichart/Anilist, unless otherwise indicated. I’ll link a few of the PVs (particularly the ones I have seen and am interested in).

Note: For a lot of anime here, I say something about wanting to watch a few episodes, but I don’t really know if I’ll have the time to sample everything I want to sample, at least not for a month into the season anyway. I’m hoping I’ll have some spare time to dedicate to anime at the end of April.

12-sai.: Chiccha na Mune no Tokimeki

Chiccha na Mune no Tokimeki

I have never read the manga, so I’m not really sure what to expect from this. I love shoujo, but a shoujo starring a 6th grader might not be thing (possibly targeted towards younger children, which is totally fine, mind you). Still, I watched the PV and while the visuals aren’t great, it was very cute. I love sweet, fluff, so I will surely give this a shot.

Aikatsu Stars!

aikatsuStars

I haven’t really seen any of Aikatsu before and I am not going to start just yet. Maybe someday, but likely not anytime soon.

Bakuon!!

bakuon

I, umm, feel bad about this one. Lots of people I know absolutely love the manga and are super hyped for the anime. If this was obviously bad and kinda perverted, I’d be hyped too, but it is actually meant to be good and thus may not be my thing. I have no idea what I mean by that other than maybe girls on bikes isn’t my thing BUT ANYWAY I will give this a few episodes at least. It looks to be well made and rather funny. The girls are also very cute! It is probably one of the anime airing next season everyone should try.

Battle Spirits: Double Drive

21635-WjNnSnPMSGqm

Not interested.

Beyblade Burst

21236-M0d8mkKcN13b

I’ve only seen a bit of Beyblade. It aired at slightly the wrong time in North America, so I never actually caught much of it. Anyway, not interested.

Big Order

21445-oMeEcIo2OqpT

I guess this is a spiritual Mirai Nikki sequel (same manga author). I never finished the Mirai Nikki manga and while I liked what I read of it, I think old, boring me probably can’t handle stories like that anymore. Actually, I just realized I’ve read a bit of the Big Order manga a long time back. I think I liked it, but eh. I guess it partly comes down to if the anime is kinda goofy and not overtly bloody/psychological. I will give it a few episodes. Knowing myself, I will claim to really like it and then forget about it after the third episode.

Also the manga is finished, so we can hopefully get a nice conclusive ending.

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal – Death Busters-hen

21462-pnBy6GBUHkHB

I stopped watching Sailor Moon Crystal a few episodes in. I kind of wish I hadn’t, but it wasn’t really well made. This one looks a fair bit better production wise and people are rather hyped because of the lesbian couple (who look pretty fantastic in the PV!). I don’t think I would want to watch this without seeing the previous cours (or the original Sailor Moon for that matter), but I do hope this succeeds.

Boku no Hero Academia

21459-M5Q3Q5qAFZEe

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! I haven’t kept up with the manga, but I LIKE IT A LOT! HeroAca is an excellent manga about Heroes. It doesn’t try to “parody” or make fun of heroes, but rather it embraces them and does its best to remind you why Heroes are cool and important. I think that’s very cool. I love heroes and superheroes and action Shonen, so I am very much looking forward to the anime!!!

Bungou Stray Dogs

The manga is pretty well liked, but again is something I haven’t read. This looks like a really good show though! It has good looking guys, good looking girls, a few ships, some mystery, some detective work! Totally up my alley.

I think I’ll watch three or four episodes, claim it one of the best anime this year, and then stop watching it. Yes, that’s how it sadly goes.😦 After seeing the PV, I’m really looking forward to this though!

Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou – THE LAST SONG

21540-iufznwl2uB0Q

I never finished season 1, so I can’t watch this.

Duel Masters VSRF

21603-rdCem2OLT3ha

Nope.

Endride

21611-525RPIm2Mq0B

Endride is about two boys doing stuff together. I love fantasy, so maybe this will be worth a shot, but eh, it doesn’t sound terribly interesting right of the bat….and then

It might still be boring though. In fact, I think it probably will be. At least we have got a lot of other good anime coming up.

flying witch

21284-HWOaqRdSngtJ

Witches are cool! The main girl shown here is cute and the guy is nice looking as well. This looks like a nice, calm, soothing anime. Or at least, I really hope it is! I will definitely watch a few episodes.

Future Card Buddyfight DDD

21652-WLKIic0kpdMT

Not interested.

Gakusen Toshi Asterisk 2

21390-Opc8D0Ua7ZaF

Still haven’t finished the first season, so I can’t watch this.

Gyakuten Saiban (Ace Attorney)

21360-WfJNTzsp4ofz

I have only dabbled a little (like a few minutes) with the Ace Attorney games, so I am not particularly interested in this, but I’ll definitely watch an episode. I think it should be able to get at least a smile or two out of me. ^_^

Hai Furi

21316-MRTnsCye3VI1

This is some anime about cute girls training to safeguard ships on the sea? This doesn’t really seem like all that interesting to me. Unless the first episode is surprisingly gripping, I probably won’t be interested in this. (I might not even try it if no one talks about it.)

Hundred

21362-DN9YI87MveOs (1)

This is probably about some strong male protagonist who goes to a magical school and lands himself a harem and has occasional ecchi encounters interlaced between his fights in a tournament. Sounds good. No really, I enjoy simple stories like this. My only complaint after seeing the trailer is that blond dril hair tsundere looks really, really boring. I hope she is better in the actual anime or I hope she has almost no role. If silver hair girl is main girl, then we are probably good! Please, let her be main girl. Please, let her be good.

JUST LOOK AT THAT SMILE

JUST LOOK AT THAT SMILE

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable

21450-WwdbQpTAxS4A

I absolutely love JoJo, so it should come as no surprise that I am very much looking forward to this next instalment. This is also the first time I’ve read a JoJo before the anime, but despite knowing what happens, I want to see it play out because Part 4 is really good. Part 3’s free spirited adventure is traded for town shenanigans and the cast ends up very lovable and well developed as a result of it. At least at first, that “OH NO SOMEONE IS GOING TO DIE UNLESS WE HURRY UP” isn’t there and in my opinion that really helps.

It also helps that Josuke is a cool, multifaceted lead (Rohan is best boy though). One of my favorite things about Part 4 is that not only does Jotaro return, but he is significantly better than he was in Part 3. I mean, I loved him then but adult Jotaro is just so mature and kind, his limited moments on screen are all great.

All that said, I’m actually going to miss Stardust Crusaders style of story telling a little. It wasn’t paced well (Part 4 is going to be 3 cours, so will be better paced), but friends going on a journey together is so cool and while I think the “main” villain of Part 4 is a way better character than Part 3’s, nothing can quite top the last couple of SC episodes imo.

I thought the PV released looked pretty good, but some people didn’t like the colours. Hopefully the anime doesn’t end up jarring as a result.

Joker Game

jokerGame

Hoh, this looks like some of historical, Baccano-esque espionage story. Sounds like it could be interesting. The PV looks pretty good too. If it ends up a bit dramatic and serious, it might not be my thing, but I think it is worth giving a shot at least.

Kaitou Joker 3

21427-Cp70Jla7JfmJ

Not interested and I haven’t seen the first two seasons anyway.

Kamiwaza Wanda

21602-2Yb15li043iT

Not interested.

Kidou Senshi Gundam RE: 0096

21658-h5a0XAF1gqbB

I think this is a retelling of Gundam Unicorn (which I’ve only seen one episode of). Assuming I don’t have to watch Unicorn first, I’ll give this a shot. Robots are cool and Gundam are cool, but I have yet to finish an airing Gundam (except for Build/Try), so we’ll see.

Kiznaiver

21421-SVOHkopCzGL2

This is about some kids sharing wound pain or something. It sounds like a pretty deep show….These kind of anime are good to have or so I thought after just skimming the description. I watched the PV, realized it was a slightly crazier show and more importantly that it is made by Trigger. I mean, I shouldn’t judge an upcoming anime by the its studio, but the look matches stuff like Kil la Kill or TTGL, so I am perhaps more interested in it! Also Mari Okada, one of Anitwitter’s favorite anime people, is doing Series Composition, so you can expect this not be totally bad in the character development side. (I think. I hope.)

Koutetsujou no Kabaneri

21196-0dhwtTGZwTYg

The people that brought you Attack on Titan now bring you…Attack on Titan but with more zombies and some trains!

I am actually looking forward to this because this will hopefully be

  1. An easy watch
  2. Kinda dumb and campy (something I like)

I am most looking forward to it because of the setting. I like trains and the general cyber punk (?) look of it all is nifty. Still, this could end up boring pretty quickly. The little jump around scene at the end of the PV made me laugh because it is totally AoT, but I really don’t want too many action sequences like that.

KumaMiko

21423-HukInMMoPpJj

This looks to super cute and is hopefully a very pleasant watch!

Kuromukuro

21516-BnXWqoaWsPhH

The main boy looks very different from what I’ve come to expect from anime like this and the girls are cute. I am not really super excited for this, but I think it will be a watchable show (maybe 6-7/10).

Kyoukai no Rinne 2

21357-TN9I1psdwKhs

MY BOY RINNE IS BACK! I liked the first season a lot. I thought the first season had some nice gags, a very endearing cast and lovely character designs. I am all up for more especially if my ships sail~

Macross Δ

20680-ieSoDCac59sl

I saw the preview episode and liked it, but I think it was just a bit too peppy for me. Something about main girl’s optimism and over enthusiasm rubbed me the wrong way. I mean, /I should like cheesy stuff like this/, but ehhhh. (Though maybe it is just me trying to be contrarian).

I will watch an episode or two, but it is entirely possible that Macross Δ (and by extension Macross in general) isn’t for me and that would be very sad if true. I haven’t seen much (maybe 1 random episode) of the Macross franchise, but it is a beloved franchise, so I’d be a bit sad if it turns out to be not my thing.

Magi: Sinbad no Bouken

21394-DjEzSBszDakt

On paper, something about the hot Sinbad sounds good, but apparently this probably won’t be good? (Or so I hear anyway). I should really watch or read Magi proper someday.

Mayoiga

21567-vj3azcM1FDNT

This has a really large cast. I normally can’t watch anything with so many characters in it. I am not super interested in thriller/horror stuff either, but maybe if the ships are good, this would be worth it.

Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta?

21290-uhC7CeztLNFM

I’ve read a bit of the manga for this, actually. It wasn’t bad! It was cute and my kind of classy thing with some romantic possibilities. Still, I think it stuttered a fair bit when it got “serious” about trying to explore the psychology of its characters (the whole girl who doesn’t realize game world is different from real world thing). The first few episodes should be fun, I hope and easy enough to watch.

PriPara 3rd Season

21559-1A1cjJKggEVz

Didn’t see the first 2 seasons. Not interested in the third.

Re: Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu

21355-3phFoi6x3Qwf

This is something about a guy having the ability to rewind time if he dies? That actually sounds cool now that I’ve thought about it. The PV doesn’t show much, but it does seem not terrible.

Sakamato desu ga?

21595-UYSAK3PDrCSk

I’m a big fan of the manga and I am very hyped for the anime. I don’t know how well the humor will work here, but I hope it works! I don’t think this brand of comedy is for everyone, but it is for me.

Sansha Sanyou

21334-hgQA7eRACXrY

Looks rather borin- WAIT, DOGAKOBO? Okay, okay. I might just check this out for the cute animation alone. The PV also makes it look pretty fun! Please be good.

Seisen Cerberus: Ryuukoku no Fatalité

21608-nB00sZgW8xMb

This doesn’t look so good. I love fantasy, but the PV is like 3 minutes of talking with some not so great action in the background. It is fantasy and I think fantasy anime are always worth trying, but I doubt this will be worth much after the first episode.

Shounen Maid

21321-hceCnHzpS1iT

I haven’t looked at the manga, but Shoujo adaptations are always important and we need more of them! This sounds harmless enough at least. The PV also looks cute.

Sousei no Onmyouji

21499-FnCthwQqV3PM

I have read a bit of the manga I like it! Nice, simple, straightforward Shonen with a bit of added romance. What more could you ask for? The story and twists themselves aren’t terribly interesting, but eh, that’s never really the appeal of manga like these. And woah, I really like the visual direction in the PV. It has excellent character designs as well.

Super Lovers

21177-1hogag0ZtoJE

nhm, this sounds problematic. Massive age gap + incest. Nice. Still, it is almost certainly not my cup of tea. Ah, but the PV actually looks kind of cute at times. I’d be totally down for a more family oriented “actual brothers growing up together” anime, but eh.

Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge

21495-MzR6fg3NR3XQ

Okay, okay. This is some good looking shit. The PV is just so nice and calm. It is also really well animated. I am looking forward to this. I hope there is some light shipping, but even without it, the characters are cute enough on their own. I am really hoping this is consistent throughout because if it is, this may end up one of my favourite anime next season and that’s not something I was expecting when I started making this preview.

Terra Formars: Revenge

21300-UI64mWI7lKoR

I never watched season 1, so I have no interest in this.

Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou

21297-Q1bE9nf22rmD

This might be a bit strange even for me. It looks like a short, so maybe worth some reconnaissance, but I’m not super interested. The director (Akitarou Daichi) appears to be very accomplished, however. I assume this is like a cute pet project for him.

Unhappy

21238-nCMUieIslAYI

This looks very cute. If this is a similar tone to Gochiusa or Gj-bu, then I’ll probably end up a total fan. The PV is very nice.

Ushio to Tora 2

21241-jhdGMQmrrkid

I’ve seen half of the first season, but someday, I do want to finish it and then watch this. Ushio to Tora is good. It is goofy, old school Shonen fun. Ushio is a good lead and Tora is a really good secondary lead. The ships are cute too and there are some surprisingly sweet lessons here and there.

Left Overs –

Assassination Classroom

21170-G9LdO8IwWHUR

I recently finished the Assassination Classroom manga and it emotionally destroyed me. I should watch the anime, but I hear a lot of bad things about the adaptation, so ~

Nijiiro Days

21292-0ExBodZZNIxF

I am actually up to date with this! I love the manga and while I feel the anime is very lacklustre in comparison, it is still not bad. My issues are that is kind of visually boring, the character designs are too plain with a few exceptions (namely spit girl) and the voices aren’t great, especially for characters like Ana. I will keep watching though.

 

Anyway, I am done. Next season looks absolutely fantastic. I know it won’t live up to the hype (they never do), but I’ll be optimistic! Sadly, I am about to enter real crunch time (already there, but I’ve been super lazy), so I don’t know what will happen to me. Pray for me. Also, I am sorry about not putting out any posts. I finished this post at 5 AM on 31st March precisely because I wanted to have at least 1 post out this month (this is the first time I’ve fallen below 2 posts per month).

, ,

  1. #1 by lapislegeat on March 31, 2016 - 7:06 am

    Hello, this is the same guy who posts on twitter too. I actually like posting somewhere I can do more than 140 characters like here, so I’ll write up something about the next season too

    Honestly, I’m not that hyped about this season all that much. Either due to most of my favorite stuff not airing til later, or being burned by previously promising stuff all too often, this time my cautiously optimistic stance errs more on the former. I’m still really looking forward to stuff like Sakamoto and HeroAca and Phoenix Wright, though game adaptations usually have the least success rate of being good (it’s already plenty anime with linear plot though, as long as they keep it fun…). Oh, and Concrete Revolutio, though I often need help keeping track on what’s going on (not so much the timeline as it is character motivation, really). I wish I’ve kept up with Jojo and Ushio no Tora to be able to jump in to the new season, but no such luck.

    As for the rest, it seems that our taste are pretty similar. Mayoiga doesn’t seem to be my jam, but being literally the first anime of the season comes with its advantages. Delta and UC will be my proper intro to their respective franchise, so I hope they’re good and don’t require much prior knowledge. Joker Game and Stray Dogs looks really cool, and while I’m still a bit wary about Big Order, Kiznaiver, Kuromukuro or Zombie Titans, I hope that at least the action and stuff is good enough to make it at least enjoyable.

    As for the lighter stuff, I’m really hopeful about Flying Witch and Kumamiko. The latter especially feels like Barakamon with a bear, and I’m not going to say no to Bearakamon at all. Nothing of the Cute Girls Doing Cute Things anime really grabbed me, but Bakuon seems a bit promising. I sure hope you’re right about Netoge, because the premise makes it seem like the dumbest thing ever (esp. at this day and age, tumblr alone shows how many girls are there on the internet. Maybe if it’s literally 10 years ago?) because I need an ecchi harem backup in case Hundred didn’t pan out (as long as it’s not TOO dumb, it seems like it’ll be enjoyable at least…please don’t fuck up).

    Well, that’s about it then. Probably forgot a few shows but whatever, the first few weeks gives a much better impression anyway (and even that’s no guarantee). Oh, and while AssClass adaptation skips a few stuff, I think it’s still pretty good! Or at least, I think it kept what makes me like AssClass anyway, which is what matters the most to me. At the very least, check out the OP and ED! Especially for the first season, I really like the ED and the dumb jumping thing they’re doing in the OP is very catchy in its own way.

    • #2 by Reiseng on March 31, 2016 - 8:18 pm

      Hello, hello!

      Thank you for the comment.

      You can catch up to JoJo and Tora someday. There is no rush.

      Your description of Kumamiko sounds lovely. I’d love Bearakamon. I too hope Netoge is as decent as I remember. The first episode while the MC pretends girls don’t exist online is probably going to be a bit cringeworthy.

      I definitely have high hopes for hundred though! (That silver hair girl is so cute looking in that one screenshot…)

      I’ve actually seen a few episodes of the AssClass first season and I recall loving both the opening and the ending. I probably do want to watch more someday when I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

