Spring 16 Initial Thoughts Part 3: There is still more?!

Sousei no Onmyouji 395.jpg

I don’t do these initial thoughts posts consistently enough across seasons out of laziness, and when I do make them, they either end up super late, fragmented or both. Oh well. Let’s try to wrap up most of them!

On a more sombre note: There were a few earthquakes in Japan recently. My condolences to the victims and I hope the best for the affected.

12-sai.: Chiccha na Mune no Tokimeki

12-sai Chicchana Mune no Tokimeki 11.jpg

This one went totally under my radar. Part of it was just bad memory on my part and part of it is because no one is streaming it. Fortunately, kind people are fansubbing it. I am glad I figured out this was worth checking thanks to a post by Samu on randomc because this is good!

Shoujo has done it once again. 12-sai is very cute and I love how it has 4 primary characters (2 main girls) and thus, 2 distinct romantic relationships. There is no pointless love triangle or anything and it moves really fast!

12-sai’s 12 year old cast is a bit unusual, but it is probably not targeted towards twelve year olds (or at least, they aren’t the main demographic). I’d say the target audience is maybe 15-16 year old girls, but this is a good watch for almost anyone.

12-sai does a seemingly excellent job talking about the ups and downs young girls experience at that age. Or at least I’d assume so (was never a twelve year old girl, so I can’t relate). It is worth checking out for that alone, but in general this is just pretty cute and worth your time!

12-sai Chicchana Mune no Tokimeki 229.jpg

The Shoujo is strong in this one.

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal – Death Busters-hen

sailor moon crystal.jpg

Image stolen from MAL

I think I watched like one episode out of curiosity, despite not having finished the first two cours. Not bad! It actually looks pretty watchable now and I do think Green hair lady is pretty. Still, I haven’t seen the previous episodes and this isn’t really my thing, so I probably won’t watch more.

Bungou Stray Dogs

Bungou Stray Dogs 51.jpg

I loved the first episode. The story itself was decent, the cast was likeable and the funny faces magnificent. We’ve got a nice friendship thing going on between Atsushi and Osamu. I somehow lost a bit of interest after that, but I still liked episode two and the new characters that were introduced seemed pretty cool too.

Bungou Stray Dogs 146.jpg

Look at this cute boy.

Flying Witch

Flying Witch 772.jpg

Ah, this is a very good anime. The character designs are pretty good, the visuals mostly okay (I think), but the tone and direction are just right. I love how calm and simple this show is. The character interactions are lovely and super natural.

Flying Witch is a very nice relaxing show. I just wish the characters were on model more often. My eye for this kind of thing is bad, but I think there are a few production hiccups here and there. Still, this is an excellent anime, worth checking out.

 Hundred

Hundred 87.jpg

NOOOOOOOO! Hundred was supposed to save anime. I had high hopes for Hundred because the silver haired girl, as presented in the trailer, was super cute. So, what went wrong?

Well, not too much, I suppose. Just not enough stuff went right.

For starters, the visuals aren’t all that interesting. The in combat animation is pretty good, but outside of it, it is all meh. Speaking of combat, I am not a fan of the mech body suits, but I am not a fan of mech body suits and absurdly large weaponry in general!

Hundred 363.jpg

What a lame aesthetic

Beyond that I have very little interest in the story being told. I don’t mind rehashing a common story, but it has to be interesting! Sure, there are some big Savage things ravaging mankind, but so what!

I have no interest in combat or the bad guys or even the powers used by the cast. I’d rather just have a scene featuring MC-kun tripping into the President’s boobs on loop for the entire episode. No, really.

Hundred 75.jpg

Speaking of the MC, he isn’t bad. He is on the good side of anime protagonists, but only slightly so (i.e. he is just above average).

The tsundere President is a lot more likeable than I initially thought she would be. Sure, she was terrible in the first episode and kinda meh in the second, but she totally grew on me by the third. I love her earrings and when she is well drawn, she is actually very pretty.

Hundred 35.jpg

The grey haired girl is, as I had hoped, excellent. I love her “go getter” attitude and she is super cute. Sure, I wasn’t expecting her to be a “boy disguised as girl”, but that is of no consequence (don’t even know why they bothered with that plot since they only got to share a room for three episodes).

Hundred 84.jpg

Emille, or whatever her name is, is so cute.

I am still going to keep watching this because I enjoy it, but I do wish it were a little bit more interesting!

Joker Game

Joker Game 137.jpg

Not bad! I liked the first episode a lot and the second was also good. For some reason though, this isn’t the kind of anime I can keep up with. It is not because it is bad per say, I just don’t feel like watching it.

I will hopefully be able to convince myself to watch the third episode onwards when I have a bit more free time. The setting alone makes this worth it, probably.

Kiznaiver

Kiznaiver 344.jpg

God, I loved how trippy and wacky this scene was.

I haven’t gotten around to watching episodes 2 & 3, but I really, really liked the first episode. The incredible visual direction alone made it worth my time and when you combine that with the reasonably well characterized cast and phenomenal character designs, you get a very excellent first episode.

Kiznaiver 524.jpg

Ahhhhh, she is so pretty. MY RED HAIR LOVE IS SATISFIED.

Again, this is also a little bit heavy, so I haven’t bothered watching more of it yet, but I do plan on doing so, soon!

Kiznaiver 300.jpg

Currently shipping these two, but the childhood friend is really, really good too!

Koutetsujou no Kabaneri

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress 5.jpg

Good job, kid.

I am actually enjoying Kabaneri and am up to date with it! (Granted, there are only two episodes out because of the Earthquake.)

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress 194.jpg

I like the steam punk setting and the over the top edge Kabaneri has got to it. The visual closeups and painted look some of the character have is excellent as are the character designs in general. I don’t know if I am shipping Ikoma with Mumei or Ayame, but I am certainly shipping!

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress 143.jpg

The cast is all right. I don’t particularly care for any of their individual conflicts, but I don’t feel like that’s all that important here. This show is meant to be a thrill ride, atop a bloodied steam train, and thus far, it has been a fun thrill ride! I look forward to more.

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress 149.jpg

The setting can be very pretty at times.

Kuma Miko

Kuma Miko 73.jpg

She is very cute, as is the anime itself.

I watched the first episode and mostly liked it. I felt the first half of the episode was rather boring, but the second half was genuinely funny. (I am a fan of sex jokes, so~) I have heard the following episodes are actually better, so I’ll check them out when I get the time. I am just in no hurry to do so. This is a super cute anime though.

Oh, and the ending is really, really cute.

Kyoukai no Rinne 2

Kyoukai no Rinne 226.jpg

Yesssss! An anime I love returns! Rinne is a nice, relaxing show with some decent comedy and a general story structure that just works very well for me.

Kyoukai no Rinne 88.jpg

This cracked me up.

I am hoping we get some good romantic developments this season. HURRY UP AND MARRY RINNE, SAKURA.

Kyoukai no Rinne 286.jpg

Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta?

Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta 303.jpg

Aoko is a really cute. She is kinda crazy, but still really cute.

I watched an episode and didn’t hate it, but haven’t really felt the need to watch more as of yet. It is partly because I’ve read a bit of the manga and partly because I am just not interested. If I have nothing else to watch and lots of time, I’ll watch more Netoge, but until then, it is on the back burner’s back burner.

Sakamoto desu ga?

Sakamoto Desu ga 92.jpg

BASED SAKAMOTO

NO, BASED SWAGAMOTO (as r/anime calls him).

Sakamoto Desu ga 110.jpg

AHHHH, THIS IS PRETTY MUCH EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. It is so good and perfect, just like Sakamoto himself.

Sakamoto Desu ga 218.jpg

I can’t really say anything else beyond that. I don’t really blame folk if this isn’t their thing, but it is totally my thing and the comedy hasn’t gotten old yet (please, don’t get old!).

Sakamoto Desu ga 241.jpg

This whole skit was perfection.

Seisen Cerberus: Ryuukoku no Fatalité

Seisen Cerberus 236.jpg

Based on the PV alone, I figured this anime would be really boring. I was wrong. This anime is totally my jam.

Seisen Cerberus 70.jpg

I like the grainy backgrounds a lot, actually!

This is the “boy meets girl and fights evil monster story” humans have been telling for basically as long as we’ve existed. And it is a story I love. We have our goofy main boy, a cute girl, a strict teacher and a fated arch nemesis. We have evil merchants and their minions, greedy kings, righteous orphans and snarky sidekicks.

Seisen Cerberus 88.jpg

Cute, evil minion.

The story is a simple, coming of age and strength story and it is told with a pretty interesting cast. I am especially fond of the main character’s self-confidence especially when he is actually pretty incompetent.

Seisen Cerberus 266.jpg

I watched the first episode of this right around the same time as I watched Hundred’s and I could not help but compare how much better Cerberus was with the origin story.

Hundred starts, like many fantasy anime, right in the middle of a nightmarish disaster and the disaster ends without a proper conclusion, expecting you to watch more to figure out the details. (Though it is certainly not interesting enough for those details to be worth thinking about.)

Seisen Cerberus 4.jpg

Cerberus starts with a frightening summoning ritual and it is immediately obvious what is going on. Then there is a surprising betrayal of expectations followed by a twist, some despair and a final glimmer of home. It is a mostly self-contained origin story that leads perfectly well into the Present time and leaves plenty of questions unanswered.

Seisen Cerberus 62.jpg

I can’t say it is perfect, but that simple origin story did a great job of introducing our main character, the world he lives in and his ultimate conflict. Most impressively, it didn’t even require a large amount of dialogue to do so.

Seisen Cerberus 291.jpg

The characters themselves have thus far been pretty likeable and distinct. The interactions aren’t the most interesting, but they are good enough and I am really looking forward to the romance between the hero Hiiro and Saraato.

Seisen Cerberus 25.jpg

SHIP SHIP SHIP SHIP SHIP SHIP

Production and direction wise, the anime isn’t bad, but I think it could be better. I certainly like the character designs and even the monster designs are very good.

Seisen Cerberus 202.jpg

Look at that cute sand dragon.

Some of the backdrops are very nice and do a good job of conveying the setting. The lack of bad CG is actually surprising and very welcome. The animation itself is mostly fine.

Seisen Cerberus 64.jpg

Ultimately though, the visual direction often feels a bit uninspired and kind of average and that is sad because this anime would really shine with a bit of original polish. I don’t think this show could ever reach Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis levels of good, but had it looked better, it could have come close and that would have been real lovely.

Seisen Cerberus 67.jpg

As it stands though, I am still watching Cerberus and enjoying the heck out of it because fantasy stories like this are totally my jam and sandwiches are always in season.

Seisen Cerberus 365.jpgSeisen Cerberus 248.jpgSeisen Cerberus 186.jpg

The end cards are lovely!

Sousei no Onmyouji

Sousei no Onmyouji 135.jpg

I like what I’ve read of the manga and I like what has aired of the anime a LOT. The look is gorgeous and I am super fond of the “out of world” surreal look the evil dimension and the monsters inhabiting it take.

Sousei no Onmyouji 323.jpg

The anime faces are on point, the humor is good, the character design is lovely and there is shipping! (I was shipping the two main characters together, but Mayura was so good in the third episode, I almost want to ship the SUPER DOOMED childhood friend ship ;____;

Sousei no Onmyouji 404.jpg

One of the interesting things about Onmyouji, in my opinion, is that dual protagonists are written into the story. Many anime start out with dual protagonists (e.g. Bleach with Ichigo/Rukia), but most discard the second protagonist almost entirely after some time. In theory, that can’t happen here because the two are linked together.

Sousei no Onmyouji 124.jpg

I know, technically Rokuro is going to get slightly more screen time, but I hope the anime makes a conscious effort to stick to the 60-40 split it has going on at the moment.

One complaint I do have about the anime is that the anime original sidekick is unnecessary and pointless. They should just kill him off.

Sousei no Onmyouji 117.jpg

Stuff I haven’t looked at, but might later on:

  • Bakuon!!
  • Big Order (not interested tbh)
  • Macross Delta (though I saw the first episode preview thing months ago)
  • High School Fleet (apparently this is better than people expected)
  • Kidou Senshi Gundam RE: 0096 (I can’t be bothered atm.)
  • Kuromukuro (I have heard good things! Will definitely check it out sometime.)
  • Magi: Sinbad no Bouken (Is anyone watching this???)
  • Super Lovers

Most of the other non-sequel, non kid show stuff should be covered in my previous posts:

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

