Quick Impressions for a few Summer Anime

Hello,

I haven’t watched most of the Summer anime and don’t really know when I’ll get around to, but I figured I’d write down a few thoughts on the few that I have seen.

Cmea9XAWYAQLuC1.jpg

 

91 Days

91 days.jpg

Image Stolen from MAL because I’m lazy.

I have seen two out of three episodes and I liked them a lot! I’m not as familiar with gangster stuff as I’d perhaps like, but I loved it anyway. The visuals are pretty good and so far the suspense, thriller aspects of the story have done an excellent job gripping me.

I’ll do my best to keep up with this show though it is a bit serious and I tend to ‘forget’ about those shows every season for some reason. For good 91 Days commentary, please follow Mira and read her tweets on it.

Sweetness and Lightning

80546l.jpg

Image stolen from MAL because I’m lazy.

I have only seen the first episode thus far, but I liked it a lot. It was both very cute, but also surprisingly sad and melancholy. The cute Tsumugi faces alone make this worth a watch.

Fukigen na Mononokean

CmePEIeXYAQ-XVQ.jpg

I am up to date with Mononokean and actually like it a lot! It has a few small problems like insisting on explaining obvious things and a slightly slow pace, but all in all, it is a nice simple watch about a boy who meets another boy and they meet a new demon each week. Or something to that effect anyway.

Kono Bijutsu-bu ni wa Mondai ga Aru!

Cn6tXT-WAAAeUzd.jpg

I like the KonoBiji manga a fair bit. I think it is rather cute (though I am a bit behind). I think it sort of doesn’t work as well as an anime. Don’t get me wrong, the production of the anime is downright fantastic, but the story works well in short easy to digest 5 minute chunks and less so in full length episodes.

That said, I still liked both the first two episodes and really liked the third episode, so I think think this series will be fine and will be a good watch. Shows with lots of cute faces and mostly fluff like this are the ones I normally finish. ^_^

Tweet Spam:

Mob Psycho 100

mob psycho 100.jpg

Image stolen from MAL due to laziness.

GOD

JUST WOW

I like the lonely kid meets slightly trashy mentor story and relate to some of his problems a fair bit. I really do. It is excellent. I like the general sense of humor too (what can I say, I’m easy to please).

But the visuals?

JEEBUS

And it is not just fantastic animation, but gorgeous visual direction too. The anime does an excellent job in conveying Mob’s mental state as well as the state of others through the accompanying wackyness.

And that opening has to be one of the most creative openings I’ve seen this year.

Fantastic!

Oh and if you only watched the 1st episode, be sure to check out the 2nd, it was actually better.

Momokuri

Cma3Hq1WAAAf67f.jpg

I should perhaps dock points from Momokuri because the main protagonist is one heck of a Stalker, but damn if the show isn’t the cutest thing and if her thirst for her boyfriend isn’t adorable. I love it. It is so cute and good.

The visuals are very simple, but very effective! I am a sucker for this shoujo look. An interesting thing about this show though is that it actually aired online a short while back in low resolution, but is now airing on tv in higher res.

 

New Game

new game.jpg

Image stolen from MAL because I’m lazy.

I’ve only the seen the first episode, but it was really nice. I loved the character animation, the immediately distinct cast and general low key ambiance the show was going for. Is good.

Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars

regalia.jpg

I’ve only seen the first episode thus far and it wasn’t super gripping for some reason BUT it was a good episode and is definitely worth a look. The two main sisters are very cute and loving of another and that’s great to see.

The fights are surprisingly well animated (well surprising to me anyway) and are accompanied by a simple but very nice soundtrack. Most importantly, the main mech wears a fucking shroud. How cool is that?!

Shokugeki no Soma S2

CmebLeoXgAQ9ZCB.jpg

Alice, step on me please.

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Soma returns. I loved season 1 and am a big fan of the manga, so I am already enjoying this a lot. This tournament arc is actually really cool. Please watch it!

Taboo Tatoo

79155l

Image stolen from MAL because I’m lazy.

This is a bit of a strange anime. It almost feels like an early 2000’s action anime, but in a sort of self-aware, good trashy kind of way? It is a bit like a cross of Cross Ange (heh), Full Metal Panic and your average ‘boy discovers superpower’ show?

The backgrounds are kind of meh, but I’m very fond of the fight choreography. The accompanying sound design really adds a lot to the skirmishes.

I don’t care too much for the story (or the cast for that matter) nor am I hopping up and down in anticipation of the next episode but I will definitely watch more because it is a pretty fun use of my time. Probably not a good show for kids or folk who don’t like blood though since it can get surprisingly violent.

Thunderbolt Fantasy

thunderbolt fantasy

Image stolen from Crunchyroll because I’m lazy.

Not an anime, but GOD. JUST WOW. I had heard good things about Thunderbolt, but two episodes had aired before I finally decided to try it.

I can’t believe how good those first two episodes were. I am dying for more. This is just amazing. I did not know you could make choreograph such amazing fights with puppets and the story itself seems fun.

I am very much looking forward to more.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

