Some thoughts and rumblings on Rem

Hello,

I’ve been procrastinating on blog posts and while trying to put coherent thoughts and posts together, I figured I’d just write a few sentences on everyone’s favourite 2016 maid: Rem from ReZero.

I want to quickly clarify that I’ve only seen up to episode 09 or so of ReZero so everything that happens after I’ve only gleamed from twitter conversations. So, I never got to exerpeince Rem /at her best/, but figured I’d talk anyway. Spoilers up to and including episode 08.

Re Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu 9.jpg

Re Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu 11.jpg

There is some mysterious pink hair character in the above two images, but I’m lacking in screencaps of Rem by herself.

People like Rem so much, one of the art booths at Otakuthon had a sweet “Best Girl of 2016 sticker”on their Rem poster.

(Here is the artist if you want them.)

And actually, many folk who don’t watch ReZero love Rem simply because there is so much amazing art of her.

(Read Zero’s replies to the above to see what I mean.)

It’s a cool thing to think about (and perhaps process later), but a lot of love for Rem has been made by all the fan-art out there and to be perfectly honest, I’ve only come to like her because of it as well.

If I am allowed to be perfectly honest, I did not like Rem in what I saw of ReZero. My reasoning is very simple and obvious. I like her cute character design. I liked her maid outfit and perfect round head. I did not like her uhh murderous tendencies if you will.

This was such a cruel, cruel scene. I mean how could you not feel for poor Subaru here. This was legitimately cruel. I still have a hard time getting over it.

I know she becomes a very important support for Subaru. I know she comes to genuinely love him, but it is hard to forgive her for killing him in one (or more?) routes. Or rather I am not sure if you should forgive her even if the timeline is different.

Of course, that’s just my own mini struggle. I won’t hold it against anyone if you actually do like her as a character and think she didn’t really do much wrong (though I’d disagree if your reasoning was Subaru deserved it).

I know well enough that there is at least one super good Rem scene up ahead in the episodes I’ve not yet watched and that when I watch it, I’ll automagically forgive all her transgressions and totally love her. Heck, just the fan-art of that scene and well Rem in general has basically already taken me to that point.

Rem did something bad? Hah, Rem did nothing wrong. Look how cute that head is. Cute pictures of 2D girls are truly terrifying.

Anyway that’s all I’ve got to say. I’ll try to make actual good posts sometime. For now, have some Rem fanart:

And this

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by marthaurion on August 9, 2016 - 6:30 pm

    of course we like Rem…how could we ever think otherwise? there’s totally not a gun to my head right now (save me!)

    • #2 by Reiseng on August 10, 2016 - 2:48 am

      Oops, can’t. Rem has one to my head too.

Leave a Reply

