Anime I saw in 2016

I did nothing for this blog this month (or the months before), but I’ll quickly jot down now the very few anime I saw this year with a sentence or two on my thoughts.

Kono Subarashi Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 96

Completed (or close to)

Winter 2016

(longer initial impressions)

KonoSuba

Kono Subarashi Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 95

Lots of fun! Good show.

Dagashi Kashi

I LOVE DAGASHI KASHI. I liked the show itself and both Saya and Hotaru are good. And did I mention the fact that Hotaru is HOT. LIKE VERY. GOD I LOVE HER.

This is a show I want more of, but am willing to wait for it. It is just nice and pleasant and HOTARU IS HOT. err

Dagashi Kashi 89Dagashi Kashi 286

Dimension W

Dimension W 10

SO COOL

Dimension W 48

Cute Robot girl is cute.

Fell apart towards the end, but I enjoyed it for what it was. It also had one of my favorite romantic episodes of the year (the flashback one). Also never forget the unbelievably cool opening.

Oshiete! Galko-chan

Oshiete! Galko-chan.jpg

(Image from MAL)

What an underrated short. Galko-chan is really, really good. It is a show that hammers in the fact that appearances aren’t everything and it does it really well. Galko, despite her look, is such a kind, good person, everyone likes being her friend.

Lovely show.

Ojisan to Marshmallow

Ojisan to Marshmallow 3

Fun short with some nice office romance added on.

Reikenzan: Hoshikuzu-tachi no Utage

Reikenzan Hoshikuzu-tachi no Utage 12

SHIP SHIP SHIP SHIP SHIP. (I realized later how young he was, but that did not stop me. TIME SKIP ROMANCE WHERE!)

I think I almost finished this show, but since I was one of the few people who actually tried it, I figured I should rep it up!

This is fun, especially if you are familiar with Chinese LN story telling style, but the strong MC and the silly antics of his and everyone else makes for a rather entertaining story. It might be hard to understand at first, but over time, you realize, you don’t really need to understand everything. Production values did not hold up too well, but the animation at times was pretty cute and creative. AND IT HAD SO MANY ANIME FACES.

Sekkou Boys

Sekkou Boys 283

Almost finished it, but for whatever reason failed to do so. Still, this one of the funniest shorts this year.

Sekkou Boys 155

WOW

Noblesse: Awakening

CWnGC68WEAASUpj.png

From the comic because I’m lazy.

If you’ve read the Noblesse web comic, WATCH THIS! If not, maybe don’t because the pacing is much too fast.

Momokuri

momokuri-129

I didn’t finish this, but came close and it is SO CUTE! (I mean I’m sure it is also sort of creepy, but I’m willing to forgive cute anime girls.)

Spring 2016

(Initial 1, 2, 3)

Boku no Hero Academia

Boku no Hero Academia 281Boku no Hero Academia 285

MHA IS SO GOOD. WATCH IT AND GET HYPED FOR S2!!!

I love the manga and the anime made me pick the manga back up and catch up. ALL MIGHT IS THE HERO WE ALL DESERVE. PROTECT DEKU!

Please read my post on the first episode. I like it a lot.

Sakamoto desu ga?

Sakamoto Desu ga 110

Honestly, this is one of my favorite 2016 anime and is very near and dear to me. Sakamoto is funny, but moving within that humor is a main character who’s genuinely kind and nice.

Sakamoto is in my eyes not a perfect human because he can do anything, but because he almost always will do whatever he does for the sake of others. The ending was so moving and powerful.

I MISS MY BOY SAKAMOTO! Please read this post on episode 07!

Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge

Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge 122

LOOK AT THIS BOY. LOOK AT HOW CUTE HE IS.

One of my other 2016 favorites. What a fantastic, laid back, sort of funny but all around great show. It had fantastic ships, a very relatable cast and calmed the heck out of me every week.

Flying Witch

Flying Witch 772

A healing anime that was a bit like Tanaka-kun BUT WITH EVEN MORE HEALING!

Flying Witch is so good with its pacing and ambience. We’ve had many healing anime over the years, but few that were this amiable and calming.

I still haven’t seen the final episode (was saving it for a gloomy day), but this is such a rock solid show. Totally comes recommended for everyone.

JoJo Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure - Diamond is Unbreakable 242

Almost finished catching up, but haven’t yet. DIU IS SO GOOD. This is one of the best JoJo parts and at the heart of it is a group of lovable assholes. Even the villain is likable. God, JoJo never stops being amazing.

Uchuu Patrol Luluco

Space Patrol Luluco 107

I LOVE LULUCO. I wasn’t sure I would at first, but this is such a well composed short and some of it, like INFERNO COP IN HELL genuinely moved me. Fantastic series and I look forward to seeing more of Trigger’s mascot!

Seisen Cerberus: Ryuukoku no Fatalités

I must be the only person around who finished Cerberus. It was let down by dropping animation quality, slightly bad pacing, and a not terribly gripping narrative, but it was my kind of show.

If I have one complaint about anime, it is that good, simple, old fashioned stories like Cerberus don’t get the love I’d want them to. This simple ‘hero meets girl & fights dragon’ tale has been recited by humans for millennia and still caries some appeal! I just wish I got to see it done justice because I really did like most of the cast and the romance was very cute.

Kyoukai no Rinne (TV) 2nd Season

CmdwrPSWAAQqSsH.jpg

I love Rinne and am glad that not only did we get much more of it, but there was a bit of character development this time around (though it ended up not going too far). My only complaint is that towards the end, the production dropped a bit.

I am also really happy we are getting more in 2017!

Summer 2016

(Some initial, final thoughts)

Mob Psycho 100

mob psycho100.jpg

 

Anime of the year. Okay, I might have to think on that a little, but this is definitely a top contender. God, MP 100 was not only gorgeously animated, but the story about a lonely boy trying his best was unbelievably good.

Bless and Protect the entire MP100 crew. They are all good. They deserve to be loved especially Mob and the Bodybuilding Guys.

Shokugeki no Souma S2

soma megumin.jpg

I love Soma and the second season with the Fall election and the apprenticeships was just right. The tension, the poses, all of it was excellent.

Thunderbolt Fantasy

thunderbolt.jpg

Anime of the Year every year. If you don’t count TF as an anime, you can give that award to MP100, but if you do, I am certainly nominating TF as anime of the year. SO GOOD. SO PERFECT. IT IS UNBELEIVABLE HOW MUCH I CAME TO LIKE THESE PUPPETS. THE STORY IS ON POINT TOO AND AHHHHHHH

I hope the Caps Locks emphasize how much I like this show BECAUSE I LIKE IT A LOT.

(I am looking forward to season 2!)

Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru!

 

konobi.jpg

Best faces of the year. I loved the look, the cute romance/friendship and weekly shenanigans. Very cute show. Worth a watch for everyone.

(Note: Can’t recall if I saw the last episode, but I know the penultimate was basically the last anyway.)

Masou Gakuen HxH

Masou Gakuen HxH.jpg

I watched this with classy. To be honest, there are better shows, but I give HxH mad props for being an ecchi show that does not claim sex doesn’t happen.

I’m tempted to suggest you watch the censored version because the censorship was very creative. The special effects during combat were really good at times actually.

Qualidea Code

qualidea-code

SHE’S REALLY GOOD

I didn’t finish Qualidea Code, but got much further than most folk. The production collapse of Q.Code is one of the more tragic anime things to happen this year.

Q.Code was my jam. Like, put on all my sandwiches and eat for every meal jam. It had romance, some incest, a very likable cast and a very ambitious story line! God, I hope the characters married one another and lived happily ever after. I really do.

qualidea code 2.jpg

Fukigen na Mononokean

mononokean colors 1.jpg

This is not Mushishi or Natsuke, but Mononokean was a pleasant watch, I was more than up for it every week. It was easy to watch and over time, the characters (especially the Yokai) and the colorful backgrounds really won me over.

mononokean colors 2.jpg

Fall 2016

I barely watched anything this season. Oh well!

Drifters

drifters 1.jpg

Good high octane, easy to watch show! I’m looking forward to Season 2.

WWW.Working!!

www working.jpg

Started of slow and was not so well liked because of the mark its predecessor left behind, but it quickly won me over. I like some of the ships in WWW.Working!! far more than some of the ships in regular Working!!!.

This is a nice, at times very funny, show and it actually concludes well without asking you to pray for another season. Developments happened really fast and left me elated over seeing my ships realized. That said, I wish we’d had just one or two more episodes to really settle into the final relationships.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Happy New Year folks and I’m sorry 2016 has been such a dead year for this blog. I hope you continue to lend me your time this upcoming year and I hope I write stuff worthy of the attention.

Take care and thanks for reading.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Highway on January 8, 2017 - 11:39 pm

    I had the same impression of http://WWW.Working. It took a while to get moving, but the way they paired people up through the last half worked so much better than the other Working series. More believable, more interesting, more direct. Lots of fun to watch.

    • #2 by Reiseng on January 12, 2017 - 3:35 am

      Yup, absolutely! So much fun.

Leave a Reply

