Quick Impressions: Spring 2017

Jeebus, spring already. Well, I’ve sampled a fair bit of anime already, so I shall indulge myself and write a sentence or two.

Boku no Hero Academia 2

Such a good start. Season 1 ended well and season 2 has picked right back up. I love the tournament arc and the stuff that comes right after even more. AWESOME. Also that opening is just downright fantastic (and the ending is super cute too). DID YOU SEE HOW COOL DEKU LOOKS IN THE OPENING? MY SON MY BOY ASKLDHJASJKLdhsajlkdjaskl

Shingeki no Bahamut: VIRGIN SOUL

I just…

God, I loved the original Shingeki no Bahamut so much and to be back in the world feels so good to me. I miss Favaro, but for now, the pink hair girl is very cute and good. Gaah, so glad this is back.

Oh and the opening’s visuals are snazzy as heck and the ending is super cute. Good stuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Kinki Kyouten

I enjoyed the first episode way more than some of my peers. Oops. I’ve read a bit of the manga and the anime’s excellent visuals elevated this dumb story a lot. It was really cute.

I did have a few gripes with the second episode, mainly the standard ‘ah yes, assault the poor girl and have her saved’ bit. That’s just unnecessary really. I love seeing heroes make dramatic entrances, but no need to go down that route to increase the suspense. Just threatening to kill her because of her noble heritage or whatever would have been leagues better. You can show me all the fanservice you want, but please do so without the involvement of assault scenes. K, thanks.

Adorable

These uniforms are amazing. I will not dissent on this opinion.

CLOCKWORK PLANET

I love Halter

I liked the Clockwork Planet before it was cool to like it. (I started reading it shortly after it began its run…but the light novel fans have me one upped). I recently caught up to it and it is still a mostly fun read. The biggest selling point of the Clockwork Planet story though is well the Clockwork Planet. A PLANET FULL OF GEARS!!! HOW IS THAT NOT SO COOL. It is an amazing aesthetic in concept!!

…and I say concept because while the anime tries, it falls short. Like, I feel they could have really gone above and beyond here. The world with the gears is cool, but it feels disconnected from the characters who inhabit it. Gears should have been some kind of central visual theme joining the setting and the characters that live in it (maybe cute visuals like names in rotating gears) , but I suppose only a few anime can reach that level of visual finesse.

I’ll keep watching it though. It is an easy watch all things considered.

Also I just realized, but the original series author (Yuu Kamiya) made No Game No Life and was born in Brazil. Nifty!

eromanga sensei

That first episode…was a lot better than I was expecting. I think I’ve checked the manga, but the anime really did a good job on the adaptation. The second episode’s first half was pretty hard to watch. This show is almost too otaku for me lol. The second half of the episode was a very smooth watch though. I think I like this show best when it focuses on trying to improve their novels/art. The passion of MC-dude trying to be a writer good enough for his sister’s drawings is good, I think.

Best ship that I know won’t win. Life sucks

Also there is an amazing number of cute girls faces and moe charm present here….but…it feels just a bit artificial. I’d say it feels like pandering, but the show is very much upfront about that. I’m not sure how to feel about this ‘Lol we otaku and we make weeb stuff for you otakus’ storytelling though I’m not really the target audience I suppose.

I…what

On the one hand good to see it being acknowledged that girls can have sexuality on the other…I…what…

Oh and it is written by Tsukasa Fushimi (the OreImo guy). I didn’t watch OreImo properly but watched a fair few episodes with my classy buddies….that wedding sure was aggravating (I might enjoy stuff like this more now, who knows).

This show is moe concentrated at its most potent

GRANBLUE FANTASY The Animation

I watched the first two episodes back when they first premiered and enjoyed them. I’ve said it before, but the old fashioned, classic fantasy stories are my jam. I also sampled the game when they had the free daily 10 roll promotion going on…I made so many accounts…so many. Still, I haven’t kept up with the game (thank god), but I’ll try to hang around the anime at least. Also, what a visually fantastic opening. Based Ishihama.

One genuine complaint folk have with the anime is that it is not starring Djeeta, so the cute yuri between her and well most everyone else is non-existent. That’s a valid complaint, but hey, Gran is kind of cuter (at least in his first form)….unrelated, but I’m still mad at Type Moon for not using the female MC in the Fate/Extra anime and the FGO ova. So mad.

Renai Boukun

This has the cutest opening I’ve seen this season. It is fantastic. The anime itself has an assortment of unbelievably good faces. And the red hair girl is hot (big plus)….but she’s also too violent a yandere (a minus in my eyes). The 3 way harem is a bit unnecessary in my opinion, but really my biggest problem with it is that a girl with a crush on another girl was not only included in it, but that her feelings appear to be shifting as of the second episode. That’s…lame. Not to mention, the show doesn’t approve of boy-boy relationships being a legitimate thing. I mean I was sort of okay with cupid girl making boys kiss boys, but they suggested same sex relationships are as questionable as teacher-student ones and that’s just like nope.

Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism

Pompous, arrogant, confident leads are my jam so this show clearly has that going for it. Though I’d like it if he stopped asking silly things like the color of some poor girl’s underwear. I am not too fond of the ’emasculated man=wears makeup and acts girly’ thing the show has though. At least in the show’s favor the MC still treats the boys as human beings which is a step up compared to other stories at least. The facial expressions are also pretty good.

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka?

Well, that sure is a long title. This particular series was pretty hyped up on my TL by fans of the Visual Novel and the first episode was totally a hit with me. I liked it a heck of a lot and am looking forward to watching more!

SHIP

I like her

Also this is a sad show. I love this.

Seikaisuru Kado

Behold, a naked being that exceeds humanity

I am liking Kado a lot more than I expected. It is not so much the negotiator aspect of it (though Shindo is a pretty admirable MC), but just the mysteries and stuff about Yaha-kui and his magic cube. The show has managed to create a good sense of mystery. The ‘everything is cg’ thing can be a little distracting and off-putting, but sometimes the world meshes well because of it. It adds a certain ephereal feel to everything, so I suppose the creators opted to go full cg rather than 2D on top of CG. I am guessing anyway.

Behold, the Fate franchise’s greatest Mage: MERLIN

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho

S H I P

This is one of my favorite non-sequel premiers. A wolf man with a potential romance with a witch in a fantasy world? SIGN ME THE HECK UP. Oh and the ending is so cute!

Gin no Guardian

Flaming scarfs and cross laden coffins are a rad combat aesthetic imo

Chuuni stuff is always good in my opinion and this one is pretty charming thus far! I think the 2nd (out of 3 atm) episode was the best, but really liked the hint at the MC being an utter badass someday. I am desperate to find out more and well see some of the romance play out because I’m a sap.

SAGRADA RESET

I watched the first episode but haven’t really gotten around to watching the second. I don’t know if I wantto watch more per say either. Episode 01 wasn’t a bad episode per say, but it felt cold and almost to full of itself.

Re:CREATORS

Red haired, hot warrior? Sign me the heck up.

Re:Creators was also one of my favorite non-sequel premiers. I had a blast with the fictional characters invading the real world thing. This looks like a show that in some ways will comment on the notion of story creation (they are even called gods) so I look forward to more!

Okay I just watched the second episode AND THIS SHOW IS FUCKING GOOD. FUCKING GOOD I SAY. MOAAAR. There is a lot to unpack here. I really should make a post on it, but stuff like the importance of making stories, of heroes and other stuff is all here I think. IT IS GOOD.

As someone who is still procrastinating on my stories, but desperately wants to give life to my writing, you have no idea how much this scene hit me. So good.

Uchouten Kazoku 2

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Eccentric Family S1 is one of my favorite anime and I’m glad the first episode of season 2 was the good stuff. I am so happy to see this back. Also Yasaburou should forget about Benten and go marry Kaisei. WE ALL KNOW THAT IS BEST JUST DO IT YASABUROU.

I am so happy to see this show back again

Tsuki ga Kirei

ooooh, this is nice. It is a slow paced, straightforward coming of age, first love story. I’ve liked the two episodes that have been released thus far.

Alice to Zouroku

I really liked the first episode. Zouroku is rad. He is a badass old man, but not badass in the ‘beats everything up’ way but in the ‘I’ve lived through life and take no nonsense’ kind of way. He is amazing. I am totally in favor of him adopting a new grandchild and teaching her about life.

Unfortunately, a few personal preferences of mine have kept me from checking out the next few episodes. If this was a show about a girl learning what it means to be a human through a new granddad, I’d be all over it, but this is that plus them beating back research laboratory villains and that is not my jam. You see shows that try to mix and match the cruel side of humanity (research experiments and so on) and the kind side of it (nice old grandpa) generally end up feeling jarring as a result in my opinion. This is probably why I never finished Brynhildr, Elfen Lied and maybe even Neon Genesis (though NGE is maybe a bit different).

We’ll see if I get around to watching more. The character designs are great at least.

Tsugumomo

I’ve enjoyed the first two episodes and it is a mostly fun, simple watch! Kiriha is pretty hot, so it has that going for it and the sort of central theme of nostalgia and her looking out for him (despite also beating him up) is pretty good in my opinion. Still, the show isn’t anything so special I’d yell for people to watch it, but it is not bad. It is a bit of a throwback to 2008, it feels like, but a rare not bad throwback.

Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine

I watched one episode, chuckled on occasion, but it wasn’t really my jam. The cute red haired tutor is good at least, but yeah, not my show.

Kyoukai no RINNE 3

Rine is back!!!

The new season hasn’t hit the highs of previous seasons just yet, but I am confident it will eventually. It is just Rinne which means, a nice, easy watch that brings a smile to my face every week. ALSO RINNE AND MAMIYA SAKURA BETTER GET TOGETHER THIS SEASON OMG

This end card from episode 2 (or 52 in total) IS SO GOOD

Warau Salesman NEW

Well then. I am finding it hard to describe the Laughing Salesman. It is a nice episodic show that is pretty dark. A part of me wants more optimistic skits, but even without that, this is a pretty good (?) watch. I think. The opening is fantastic.

 

 

, ,

  1. #1 by Karandi on April 16, 2017 - 3:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    I’m also having trouble describing The Laughing Salesman. The opening is awesome but while the episodes are watchable and work, they aren’t very memorable after the face.

    • #2 by Reiseng on April 16, 2017 - 7:14 pm

      Yeah they are good episodic watches at least. Not a bad show to tune into now and then, but probably won’t stick in my memory for long.

Leave a Reply

