Shonen Catchup: Naruto 700+9-10 (end), Bleach 632-638, One Piece 790-796

Hello,

Where were these posts you ask? I dunno, I just really didn’t feel like making them. To be honest, I just got very lazy and didn’t feel like making them. I hope no one minds, but this catchup won’t really be all that detailed. I will just jot down some quick thoughts.

one piece summer

Naruto

I like how Naruto was considered a loser genin, but his is considered an elite. Oh, how things change.

I like how Naruto was considered a loser genin, but his is considered an elite. Oh, how things change.

Not bad! Not bad at all. The villain in this little sequel was boring, but so were almost all of the villains in the original series. What I liked in the gaiden:

  • Naruto was really cool and surprisingly mature. Older Naruto definitely came across as a reliable individual, fitting of the hokage title. He still retained some of his goofy side and that was lovely.
  • Sarada got some good development. It was nice to see! To be honest though her core almost Sakura like personality isn’t quite to my liking.
  • My love hate relationship with Sasuke continues, though this time around, there wasn’t much hate, but a fair bit of love (mostly because adult Sasuke is hot as hell). I did like the uber cheesy family related lines Sasuke spewed out.
  • Cho Cho is still hilarious. What a funny character.

Oh and the Boruto movie gaiden also came out. It was really funny seeing Himawari knock out Naruto like that.

Naruto himawari

Bleach

Say what you want about Bleach, but "Seething malice is the height of comedy" is one amazing, possibly ironic, chapter title.

Say what you want about Bleach, but “Seething malice is the height of comedy” is one amazing, possibly ironic, chapter title.

I will admit that the flashback with Bazz B and Jugram was pretty good. The Mayuri-Kenpachi fight has had its moments as well (some of the banter between the two were very funny). The rest of the stuff that has happened has not been so great. Or to be more exact, nothing much has happened. Bleach’es pacing has been so blegh. I really wish it would go faster especially because I honestly don’t care about these villains at all.

One Piece

Sengoku, you rad old dude.

Sengoku, you rad old dude.

Really good! I am so glad Doflamingo has finally been beaten. That fight was dragging on for much too long. Seeing his seemingly immortal glasses lie shattered was great.

The Sabo flashback was great. We no finally know that the poor kid had lost his memory, and that is why he didn’t try to save Ace. The fact that hearing the news about “Sakazuki” killing Ace reminded Sabo about drinking “Sake” with Ace and Luffy was well done.

ANGRY CHOPPER!

ANGRY CHOPPER!

We also learned a lot about what is going with everyone else. We got to see Sanji and the others! They appear to be on some island and have come into contact with evil pirates (Kaido’s crew, I think) and some mysterious little girl. We also got to see Kaido himself, in a totally surprise encounter with Kid and his alliance. Kaido is really funny. I was thinking he’d be some uptight, overly serious, slightly cruel guy, but he is a lot more colourful than I expected.

one piece hundred beast kaidou

Looks like Luffy and the others need to escape now that Fujitora has decided their luck run out. As expected of Luffy, he is not going to follow the plan…what kind of mischief is he going to cause this time around.

Oh and last but not least, Bartolomeo still cracks me up. I want to see his reaction after meeting all 9 of the Straw Hats.

 

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment